We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected ... and MORE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Ranked #28 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything we expected ... and MORE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my first time in Cancun and suffice to say, I will be going back soon. 4 nights were not enough!

Resort: 10/10 - Great location and the Sandos beach section didnt seem to have as strong waves as other hotels and the grounds were immaculate. Oh yeah, the 3 inifinity pools overlooking each other with the last one steps away from the beach and maybe 50 meters from the ocean wasn't too shabby either. The gym is extremely new and is what you would expect at an elite $80-$100/month gym in North America.

Rooms: 10/10 - We had the Deluxe room with a partial ocean view and it was stunning. Room 418 gave us a great view of the ocean on the right side and a good view of the lagoon on the left. The cleaning staff came twice a day and our fridge was always stocked. There was a cleaning lady (Lorreinna was her name maybe?) that went the extra mile and hung up all of our dry clothes in the washroom for us. that was a great touch

Food: 8/10 - Breakfast was always fantastic and had a lot of choices (including an omelette station). Zango was great and Jesus did a great job always attentitively serving us. The Japanese steakhouse and Seasons were great at their presentation, but the actual food were better at Zango in my opinion. The drinks were a bit watered down, but if you asked for a double or a triple, it came out proper.

Staff: 9/10 - There were few staff members that stood out, 2 of which I mentioned before and the third being Lulu at concierge. She always had a big smile on her face and always would go out of her way to ensure your needs are met. Two knocks around the staff would be 1) the staff working the pool area could be more friendly and 2) more attentive. My girlfriend got the stomach flu in the middle of the night and when I called front desk to see if there is a doctor on the resort and we were told they could get one for $100 a visit. She refused to go see the doctor, so we just waited it out. I did not get offered any medicine (perhaps they didnt have any) or a follow up to see how she was doing. I'm not saying it was wrong of them, but from the service I had gotten up to that point, I thought they would have helped us in some way. Apart from these minor blemishes, the staff really tried to ensure that you had a great time.

Tips: 1) get a deluxe room above the 3rd floor so you have a great view of the ocean.
2) ask room service to bring you Sandos tequila (it is hands-down the best tequila I have ever had and I am a self-proclaimed tequila connoisseur.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobbieZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,474
    916
    355
    150
    123
See reviews for
857
2,000
87
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I decided on staying 10 days in late July 2013 in this smaller Cancun Hotel after reading many good Hotel reviews. We were very glad we did. Several good restaurants to choose from and the food was good to very good in all. All staff went out of their way to take care of us and their many other guests from what we observed. From the time we arrived until we left it was a special experience.

The good, all the food choices and daily variety, the restaurants Gaijin, St Trop and Zangos, the staff, our room/suite, the beach, did I say "the beach" and the variety of different exotic drinks to try, some with and some without alcohol.

Some things need some work or improving, more restaurant staff required in the evenings in Zango's restaurant. If this is going to be a luxury experience as advertised more staff are needed, and also more servers required and earlier in the day at the beach, 11:30 AM to order anything on the beach is not very good. For what guests pay the staffing is not an area to be cutting costs in to improve Hotel bottom line costs.

More staff supervision and direction is needed at times at St Trop, Zango's and in Seasons restaurant. One night in Seasons my wife and I received our dinner but had no cutlery to eat with and the waiter's forgot about our wine and in general seemed to have forgotten about us. Not very good for what was billed as a high end restaurant in the Hotel. We did not go back. Imagine going there and celebrating a special occasion and then being pretty much ignored after that first hello and greeting and order taking.

More Mexican food choices would be a plus. I was a little disapointed at the very limited food choices available on mexican night/day in Zangos.' We have been to Mexico several times in the past and this was the most limited Mexican food we had experienced.

St Trop restaurant had some very good food for an outdoor/beach eating venue.

A change of decor in Zango's and in Bar One would go along way in helping to make this hotel look first class. Mismatched decor and colors abound.

As a suggestion Bar One might have a variety of recorded music being played at different times in each day. Their Tv shows video and musicians/singers but no sound, might be better with the sound on.Or for example, an hour of 60's music, an hour of international music, etc. Not a very upbeat place to go to for an hour or two with someone in the day time.The night time recorded music was pretty good though.

If you are going to note special things/events as part of your daily schedules please make sure that they actually occur. My wife and I attended a couple of these and nothing indicating they were not going to be held or were cancelled but they simply did not take place.

Special thanks to all the very hard working professional and dedicated workers and in particular, Alfredo - Door Man/Bell Man, Norma in Concierge who went the extra mile for us, and to Carmen in activities, Lulu in sales/promotion, Zango's great waiters who were all very professional - Jesus, Arturo, Alexsandry, and a very excellent and patient waitress Lucia. Also, thank you to Marcos in house keeping who took great care of our room/suite and thanks to Alejandro on front desk and Alejandro who looked after pool and beach cabana's daily for us. There are many other super dedicated workers there who I have not noted here as I could not remember all of their names. Each person I have noted and the others not named all made our holiday and 37th aniversary a very positive experience. We had a great time and came home very relaxed.

Although I have some limited concerns or suggestions I would highly recommend this Hotel for your stay in Cancun if you are looking to be spoiled and want to enjoy good food, great customer service overall and a smaller more intimate quieter Cancun experience. Thank you, John H.- Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool side of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved coming here and seeing the beautiful beaches. We enjoyed the Japanese steakhouse, Seasons, Zango, St Trop, Bar One. The only thing I have to complain about is their should have been more umbrellas for the beach and pool areas. That and the hamburgers could be cooked better but other than that it was a great week. We really loved the Lobster night and the Champagne party in the Penthouse!! It was really great time and we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dholeman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We just came from a fabulous vacation in Cancun, we stayed at Sandos, and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was very attentive and nice. The food and drinks were delicious, the breakfast buffet and the japanese restaurant are a gourmet experience. The spa and gym are nice, the pool area is good, and the most beautiful beach we have ever seen. We want to say thank you to Nancy, the hair stylist, who did a amazing job, Salvador, by the pool, because of his friendly personality making us feel comfortable, and Carolina, at the Zango restaurant, Thanks to all of you for a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakemoor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our first trip to Cancun was the best experience EVER at SANDOS. We were treated like kings and queens. We personally want to thank NORMA &CARLOS for the help in retrieving our luggage from the airport. All of the staff were excellent. Thank you to: Clare, Roman, Irving, Salvador, Patricia. The food and service was outstanding, the room was outstanding and spotless. Senior Don and Senorita Patricia thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a wonderful great vacation and memories.

Room Tip: View of the pools and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I did a lot of research on online and tripadvisor and I booked the reservation for the Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Premium for may 25th through may 29th . Our stay was amazing. We stayed in the Laguna suite and it had a great view of both the lagoon and the ocean. We have stayed at other all inclusives in the past but the food here was one of the best. There is a teppenyaki restaurant, buffet and a variety of different other food types...basically something for everyone. The staff at the hotel was very attentive and tried their best at all times to accommodate. We only discovered the kids club area on the 2nd day....our son loved it and was well taken care of by the staff there. Overall, this was a wonderful vacation and we will be returning to Sandos Cancun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

On our 10th trip to Cancun/Riveria Maya, we've definitely found our favorite thus far in the Cancun HZ. This property was perfect for us... boutique feel, quality furnishings, excellent food, great pools, huge gym, comfy beach beds, and amazing service. Family friendly, but not overrun with kids. Quiet, but not boring. Perfect.

We found some real gems on the property. Seasons was outstanding for dinner. So much so, we canceled our reservation at Gaijin and ate at Seasons every night. Alberto was our fantastic waiter every night, and he was awesome! He went above and beyond. Patricia the hostess was always smiling and was so friendly. Alberto's assistant waiter (Juan or Jose, I don't recall) was great too! We were treated to a very special dinner on our last night, thanks to Chef Sixto, who came out of the kitchen to greet us and describe his amazing dishes. Incredible creativity and flavor. Wow! Meals to remember.

The veranda outside of Bar One was our favorite spot on the property. We enjoyed sitting in these crazy looking (but very comfy) red hammock chairs overlooking the pools and the beach. Very relaxing!

We had a morning routine which included visiting the "jugos naturales" bar (juice bar). This was no regular smoothie bar. They had natural ingredients including fresh fruits and vegetables. Jesus ("Chuy") would mix them up made to order. Awesome! Breakfast at Zango was always great. Sure appreciated the made to order omelets by Carla in the kitchen. Lunch at St Trop was great too, especially the chicken quesadillas, and the ceviche was perfect. Simon at the beach was Johnny-on-the-spot with drinks.

Only drawback was our first room. The hotel was full, and they could not accommodate our request for a King room. The doubles were pretty small, and our room overlooked the A/C chillers for the property with no balcony. However, Jonathan the supervisor, Carlos the concierge, and Alejandro at the front desk did their best and were eventually able to accommodate us in a very nice room.

We can't wait to go back to Sandos Luxury. We understand the new owners are planning some upgrades to the property, which is hard to imagine because the place is already awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room above the 20's on a higher floor. Ask for a balcony and a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
1.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,764 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#10 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort

Property: Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing