We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June 15th-20th” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Ranked #27 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“June 15th-20th”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay with my husband June 15th-20th at Sandos Cancun resort, a great property on the beach. Check in went smoothly, thank you to Alferdo, we arrived early and he arranged to have our room ready. A big thank you to our bellman David. Our 1st room did not have a balcony, so not only did he arrange for a room with one, but gave us a choice of 2 different views. While Sandos Cancun is smaller that most of the mega properties further down the coast, it offers a wonderful contrast to the overcrowded, fast paced, loud and somewhat over the top multi-thousand room resorts spread over miles of property. It offers basically the same services as do the larger resorts however in a more compact atmosphere. Zangos food was good, but it is the employees that makes the service great. Thank you to Viveros for your excellant service during our stay.The beach is great, but again, it is the employees that makes it excellant. Thank you to Abdias, Simon, Oscar and Irving, and really the entire staff at Sandos, for making our 1st trip to Cancun an extermely enjoyable one. The entire staff at Sandos is what gives this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the Sandos Cancún staff, I would like to thank you for your preference.
Sandos Cancún is a boutique hotel featuring 214 elegant rooms with views to the Caribbean Sea and the Nichupte Lagoon.

It’s always a pleasure hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay making the difference turning your vacation into a Luxury Experience, all of your comments have been truly inspirational for us.

We hope to welcome you back at Sandos Cancún to pamper you with our service.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,413
    902
    351
    149
    120
See reviews for
841
1,955
86
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Bruno, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My trip to Cancun on May 24th was my first vacation in twelve years. Son just graduated from college so me and my wife decided to treat him to a vacation to Cancun. Well, let me tell you Sandos Cancun was awesome with four restaurants that serve outstanding food. Restaurant employees such as Erica and Carolina as hostess were awesome and always in a good mood. Food was great, drinks were great, rooms were great, I do not know what what else to tell but you will not regret it if you decide to stay in this place. HAVE FUN as I did.

Note: I plan to go back there before the end of this year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún. It has been a privilege to celebrate your son’s college graduation.

We are very glad to know that in addition that you could delight our Total Gourmet Experience you were always greeted at the Restaurants by our staff.

Do not hesitate to come back to Sandos Cancún and let us know before your arrival to set everything for you.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This intimate, all inclusive hotel, sits on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The Sandos Cancun offers a less crowded experience with a more tranquil atmosphere than the surrounding resorts. Its service and food, however, cannot be rivaled. We have been to the Cancun area before, but this place had it all. The staff, especially Irving, took care of our every need. The food was incredible at every restaurant, the service impeccable, the drinks terrific. They even had many local excursions to chose from. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Cress M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank you for staying at Sandos Cancún, your feedback is much appreciated.

We are pleased to know that you could enjoy of a real Luxury Experience. Here at Sandos Cancún, our gastronomy and personalized service distinguishes us from the rest.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome you back to your slice of heaven in the Caribbean.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our second family trip to Cancun but first time in the hotel district. We honestly preferred this hotel and area much more than our trip to Riviera Maya. From the the moment we entered Sandos Luxury Resort, the attention we received from the entire staff was incredible. We were greeted by Alfredo and Rene; entertained throughout the week by Ricardo, Alfonso & Mauricio poolside; and enjoyed the service we received at both Zango's and Season's by Mario & Roman. Although this is a smaller resort, the location and proximity to the beach is awesome. The 3 pools, St. Trop outdoor restaurant and the many cabanas surrounding the pools were amazing. Oscar was always there to make sure we had whatever we wanted by the pool. The entire staff was very accommodating. On the last night of our trip we attended the Champange Party on the Penthouse rooftop. What an amazing night! We had a chance to meet many of the members of the Sandos management team. Martina Rodriguez Marcano, the General Manager, was very hospitable and hosted a wonderful event. We would highly recommend this resort and plan on going back next year.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. The lagoon suite was great for our family since it has tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, it has been a true pleasure to provide you with a Luxury Experience.

Here at Sandos Cancún, we believe that first impressions do count, therefore, from the moment you step into the Resort, the Luxury begins while during your check in our staff pampers you with a hot towel, champagne and a rose for the women. As your stay goes on, our personalized service will make you feel like home.

I appreciate your kind words for me; I have a hard working team committed to ensure our guests total satisfaction.

We look forward to welcome you back at Sandos, your home in Cancún.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just came back from Cancun two days ago and still glowing!!! Thank you very much for the very special and unforgettable vacation I spent in Sandos! I have no words to describe how thankful and happy I am!
Me and my friend wanted to go somewhere we could get some rest and relax-and Sandos is just a perfect place for it!
I travelled quite a lot and here in Sandos I had my very best experience ever!
From the very first minute you will feel so special. Every minute spent in Sandos was very precious! Thank you for roses and Champagne at the first day we arrived:) This is very thoughtful of you guys! The service is just incredible-all employees are just great! Just excellent job on it! We ate A LOT. Because it’s impossible to resist eating this wonderful upscale food. Special thank to all the wonderful chefs! Thumbs up and you guys guys so make me to come back very soon! Me and my friend spent a lot of time in Zango restaurant . Dear employees of all restaurants-thank you for the very special experience we had there! Special thank to this wonderful,intelligent and professional people: both hostess- Carolina and Patricia-lovely and nice ladies! To the wonderful waitresses: Gilmer, Braulio,Raul,Francisco,Viveros,Mario and Daniel- guys I am sorry if I forgot to mention someone-they all rock! Special thank to Irving from St Trop restaurant! Thank you for the lovely entertainment-the evening with guys,singing national Mexican songs-was unforgetable ! And of course the guy who played violin (unfortunately I do not remember his name)-just made us cry <3
The beach is just amazingly beautiful! It is just a perfect place to relax and find your inner peace. Special and HUGE thank to yoga instructor Chris! He is just awesome guy and instructor who makes the difference and care about people who are participating in his classes! Please keep inviting him,really hope he will be there next time I am in Sandos! <3
Thank you for all activities on the beach-Alfonso ,Mauricio and the third guy-I do not remember his name unfortunately-but they are really nice and friendly!
Thank you very much guys! I am so sorry if I forgot to mention someone!
Thank you for the perfect room service!
One thing that I would tell to all guests : Dear guys,it might sound as a preach but please leave tips for the great service that you are getting in Sandos! This guys definitely deserve the best treatment back and appreciation!

Dear Managers! Thank you for the all love and you should be really proud of your employees!

Please keep it up! I am so looking forward to be back soon!
Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excelent hotel. Great food and service.
Beautiful beach, small and luxury hotel. No crowds. Just relax.
David and Roberto at the Gaijin Teppanjaki Restaurant made the best dinner experience awesome food and service the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yosueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Luxury Experience at Sandos Cancún. We are glad to know that you could spend a relaxing vacation with a culinary experience at our show cooking at Gaijin.

It will be our true pleasure to welcome back again and again at your new home in Cancún, Sandos.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

first time to cancun, might be last time... the scenary and everything was great! the view was great from the hotel, although you might not be able to swim at the beach as the water was quite rough. but the view was excellent!

the terribles:

so now to the details... first i would like to say i am VERY DISAPPOINTED with the concierge where they basically lied to us and cheated us on the first day. it was all about TIMESHARE AND MEMBERSHIP...i can't believe this would happen at the hotels too... the guy told told us it was just about an introductory session about our all-inclusive - while he also offered to refund us the money that we paid to go on a snorkeling tour cuz he says its a waste of time, and would be better if we stayed at the hotel to enjoy the facility...i asked them three times if it was about any sales things and he confirmed with a NO.. .it was just a tour of the hotel... so i trusted him cuz i thought hey, hotels should be fine?

so the next day we went for our appointment with him and were bought to the room and the lady started asking about a lot of privacy questions regarding income, etc. then we knew something was wrong... then talked about .. membership ... and at the end we didnt join so of course they did not refund our tour money... it was an unhappy ending .. wasted time and money...

and the rest of the days there, whenever this guy see us he don't even greet or anything... very disappointing.. i think he is called antonio or something ...

front desk service was only good on the first day... overall .. i don't think the services are 5 stars at ALL ... max 3 stars... only the staff at the restaurants are good .. extremely disappointed at the services..

i've been to many resorts - 5 stars.. and this is the worst


the restaurants:

so we stayed 5 nights, first night at the teppanyaki
- good show, food not so great.... service was good :)

2 nights at seasons
- very good food, very good service ! it was molecular cuisine and the food was excellent, the waiter was great and explained us into very detailed of what each courses was and what his recommendations were.
- the bad thing is that... they are not always open, for the week when we were there, they were closed for at least 2 nights.. once they are closed, basically we were only left with one choice - zangos..

2 nights at Zangos and breakfast everyday
- service at the restaurants were excellent - especially the waiter "Jesus" (his name). he was very nice and were helpful with what we wanted, quick to respond and clean up. he would go a mile more to make sure you are happy and having a good time
- food was so-so
- breakfast was here everyday - same food everyday ... was super bored of the food, on the last day i didn't even eat anything as it was the same old food for the whole week...
- the last night there - our a-la-carte meal took 2.5 hrs as the food took super long to be served... the fish was disgusting..my mom at first thought she was eating chicken....

st trop - pool side
- close way too early, the service was bad for this one...
- there is this young waiter that would hang around after giving you stuff and expecting tips, and kept on hanging around until you give it to him.. which was quite bad as it made us felt really uncomfortable and pressured...
- the staff don't like to work as at around 5:30pm they would start cleaning and look at their watches each time you order so they can close right at 6... i've been to luxury resorts, and staff will go out of the way to help you .. but this one ... no ... its just a hotel that does their job .. not more... a bit less...

overall, food was quite good - but had too little choices...service was overall good, except st trop .


room...
- not too clean ... old ... and air condition was not cold enough
the room that we had was 421, the washroom door cant even close because it is broken or something, we asked the front desk and someone tried to come fix it but using a hammer and nail to cut off some wood at the bottom... the funny part is... after they remove some wood, the whole washroom floor was left with wood pieces and he didn't clean it up ..i cleaned it up myself after he left... but after he fixed it .. the door still couldn't close
- this is NOT a new hotel, they just bought it off and changed names.. the rooms are old and not good maintained... there were invisible bugs that bite me, as i got bites on the first day from the hotel room already... always itchy...
- also... room service has dirty hands - as some of my stuff was stolen ... little things like accessories ... but still ... not happy when getting things stolen..
- not all of the electrical plugs work... so better bring those big adapters that allows you to utilize one plug to charge your phones, cameras, ipads, etc... as only the washroom one worked basicaly, the ones in the room area work for 10 minutes and lose power for a few hrs... i have no idea why that happens... we tried EVERY plug in the room..

overall... the food was great, but will not come back again, as the service was not good and the rooms were not good for the prices they charge...

Room Tip: balcony rooms are better to enjoy the view! one of the best part of cancun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sandos Cancún, we truly appreciate you to share with us your feedback of your recent stay at the Resort.

On behalf of all the staff of Sandos Cancún, I would like to extend my deepest apology if we could not live up to your expectations during your stay.

We are very ashamed with the misunderstanding regarding to the Royal Elite presentation, this is a successful program which offers our guests the opportunity to enjoy of additional benefits of Sandos Hotels & Resorts; however, we apologize for the behavior from our staff, Sandos Hotels & Resorts does not promote this actions as our guests are the most valuable in our Resort and should be treated respectfully in every occasion.

All of our guests truly enjoy our Total Gourmet Experience through Sandos’ culinary offerings, especially our breakfast buffet which offers more than forty food options daily like Mexican food station, egg station to make omelet’s and eggs to your taste, hot station, cold station, fresh fruit, bread, cereals and pastries. Due to our guests feedback we also have Juicetherapy, juices made with fresh fruit with different benefits for our health.

Please be sure that actions will be taken in order to avoid that this situations be repeated. We would be grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sandos Cancún and this time provide you our real Luxury Experience. I remain to your disposal for any assistance at the email: webrelations.cancun@sandos.com

Kind regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,566 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#13 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#17 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort

Property: Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing