We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great for kids, bad for everyone else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Ranked #28 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great for kids, bad for everyone else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

ok, i could go on and on here
this place was truly great for kids
and the staff was 90% super nice
but.....
we had the aztec 2 step the whole time
they run the place like nazi school marms
the reservation restaurants and gym folks are mean and nasty
they fumigated by the kids pool clouds of toxic smoke in the middle of the day
we had light bulbs that never work
and you can drink the water, but they charge outrageous prices for bottled water
this list is too long for me to write it all
we were glad for our lad but will never return or recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for takeing the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Sandos Cancún Luxury Experience Resort.

We are very concerned about your comments due to in Sandos Cancún, bottled water is available with no charge at all of our bars, restaurants, room service and mini bar, we are very sorry if there was a misunderstanding regarding to this service.

Sandos Cancún is mostly known for its chill encironment and romantic atmosphere for couples and young families, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make you live a real Luxury Experience.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,468
    916
    354
    150
    123
See reviews for
857
1,995
87
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

After a rocky start, whether blame is Travelocity of Sandos we finally got a room.. Bring all confirmation!!! Room was OK, clean, stayed 4 days the refrigerator was only filled once, after I called. That was annoying. The food buffet in Zangos was amazing..everything and anything, and fresh!! The wait staff and bartenders are the nicest and most competent around. Ithiel should be very proud of them!! There were 12 of us and they did everything to accommodate us. Thank you to the bartenders and wait staff, you helped make our vacation terrific. Always Friends. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Sandos Cancún. We are very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

All of our guests truly enjoy our top notch buffet breakfast at Zango with fresh and delicious options like cold station, omelet station, fruits and cereals. We appreciate your kind words for our staff, is always regarding to know that our service contributes for you to have a Luxury Experience.

We will be really glad to welcome you back at the Resort for another terrific vacation at Sandos Cancún.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent Christmas 2012 at Sandos "luxury" with all our family flying in from across the world. Based on reviews we had read and the facilities described, we felt this was the perfect place for us to spend together as a family and treat ourselves to "all inclusive 5 star Luxury."

Sadly, the hotel did not live up to our expectations. Our prepaid airport transfer Had no signage and we spent an hour searching for our pick up team to get us to the hotel. We were due to arrive at the hotel for dinner at 9pm but it was gone 10 when we finally arrived.

Throughout the holiday, the wifi in the rooms and the hotspots did not work, which was extremely frustrating when trying to conduct work at home and coordinate with family their arrival times. The reason for the lack of functioning wifi was "apple products do not work so well here?!?" between us we had apple and android items none of which were able to connect to the wifi.

there was no swim up bar - as advertised.

The restaurants were completely understaffed, which was such a shame because those who were working, really we're trying their best to look after everybody but they just couldn't cope with the number of guests. The managers at each restaurant did not manage, we repeatedly had to ask for drinks, and resorted to venturing to the bar area and getting our own drinks to accompany our meal in the "a la carte" restaurant. There were only ever 3-4 waiting staff visible at the vey busy breakfast and evening services yet there were over 60 tables in both the a la carte restaurant and the buffet restaurant.

We had to ask three times during the week for our rooms to be cleaned which I appreciate on Christmas day is a hard task because no one wants to be working on Christmas day, but again, the response from reception when we ask why our rooms hadn't been cleaned was "we are busy, it's Christmas!!" which obviously we were all well aware of, and I'm presuming the directors of the hotel were when they put a premium cost on bookings for this high season time of year.... They just approved to forget to staff the hotel properly.

Sadly we found out on Christmas Day as we arrived to the a la carte restaurant, that the special Christmas dinner for Christmas Day we had reserved for our group, had indeed happened the night before, on Christmas Eve!!!!!! So no prior warning, no reminders, no apology, and to be quite honest no Christmas feeling at all for us on Christmas day night. We were all extremely disappointed especially given that my mother had treble checked with the booking staff throughout the days leading up to Christmas that we would be ok with our group of 7 people.

Adding to this, the Christmas show the hotel's entertainment team had put on, decided to change venues at the lasSt minute, again without any warning, and again we missed out on that.

Room service was notoriously slow, even by Caribbean standards. When it turned up....

The bar ran out of water a number of times and that was that. No attempt to get any more in until the next day.

On our final day the hotel transport service outdid themslves by forgetting to confirm our pick up time to return us to the hotel. Only by chance and a few stern words in Spanish to express our disappointment and concern to the reception did we manage to get on a Shuttle and get to the airport in time.

Generally there was a distinct lack of organisation throughout the hotel. Which was a real shame because the hotel is a nice size, the staff tried their best but you felt like they didn't quite know what they were doing.

I would like to confirm that the pools were lovely, the gym seemed nice and well equipped, the spa looked gorgeous if quite pricy for the services. Room, bar, and waiting service staff were very courteous, friendly and pleasant, and that the hotel tried to accommodate for people's needs with the entertainment team and scheduled activities but overall the managers were disorganised, inexperienced, and slow whilst it felt like the hotel was managing to do half a job and not quite seeing through to the end what they should have been doing.

I have stayed in lesser starred resorts at half board ratings, and had better quality food, superior service from the staff (as in, there were plenty of staff to cope with the number of guests and much slicker organisation) and generally run much more efficiently, so I'm not sure how Sandos luxury can claim to be a) luxury, b) 5 stars and justify how much it charges customers to stay there when it doesn't live up to it's promises.

Because something disappointing happened every day. By the end of the holiday it was just too much to bear after knowing we had paid more than we could really afford to be there. I would definitely NOT recommend this as a hotel to stay in over Christmas at least. Perhaps during other times of the year they are more "on It" But Not in December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank alexismday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and my parents stayed here end of October early November and had a very pleasant time. Having stayed a several resorts in the Cancun area, what I liked about this resort was that it was small and every thing was very accessible within a short walking distance. The hotel is very upscale in their furnishings as well as the overall appearance. The gym is first class and better than most gyms you would become a member of in your home town. We visited the spa two times for massages and enjoyed the experience immensely. Before we even received our massages we took advantage of the very plush facility using the whirlpool,sauna,steam room as well as the cold water tank. It was a true spa experience. At the time of our stay the hotel was not full to capacity due to to the change over from the Le Meridian Hotel as it was only about 10 to 20 percent full, so we were very spoiled by the staff. The young gentleman at the pool (Salamander--I think) made sure everyday that we had our chairs with towels on them by the ocean or on the swing chairs by the pool. They never waited around expecting tips but I am sure it was helpful that we remembered them. The back half of the pool does get shaded by mid afternoon due to the Secrets hotel but it's nice to have an area out of the sun. They did provide some entertainment a fire show and a band one night with an outdoor barbecue. The only negative that I would give this resort was that the food on one night was sub par (fish), but the rest of our stay the food was very good. When we told the waiter that we were unhappy with the overcooked fish, the management was on it stat with a replacement. I do know through talking with management that a new food and beverage person was hired so maybe the kinks will get out. The Japanese restaurant was really good so was the Italian night. The breakfast buffet is very close to a 5 star. I plan to return back to this resorts as it is now one of my favorites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenyb8b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate all of your feedback of your recent stay with your family at Sandos Cancún.

It is a pleasure to know that you could indulge at Spa del Mar, we take pride of the Spa being one of the greatest at Cancún. Top notch facilities with 14 treatment cabins, hydrotherapy circuit and professional therapists make this place special and unique for relaxation.

We are very honored to be considered as one of your favorite Resort, we will be more than glad to welcome you again at Sandos Cancún for another Luxury vacations.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

After several trips to Cancun and staying at various locations, I've finally found the one deserving of my intended repeat business. From the start, the staff was courteous, helpful, kind and welcoming. Besides being clean and luxurious, the rooms provided spectacular views of both the bay and the ocean. The beach attendants were thoughtful and reliable. Regular daily activities ranged from beach volleyball to water aerobics and the event staff was welcoming and friendly. Included in this "Land of Yes" was incredible food and drink service directly to your chair on the beach. The buffet service was incredible. Cuisine choices ranged from steak to sushi and the unlimited beverage choices had you scrambling to decide what to order. Sandos lets you want for nothing- the perfect situation for a traveler that wants everything.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be set up to have views of the water. If you can get a room with a balcony, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a great review about your Luxury Experience at Sandos Cancún.

It is a true pleasure to know that your stay at Sandos was beyond your expectations and previous experiences at Cancún. All of our rooms offer outstanding views to the Nichupté Lagoon and to the Caribbean Sea.

Our Total Gourmet Experience delights our guests with our Food & Beverages selection, is good to know that this lived uo to your standards.

Do not hesistate to come back to Sandos Cancun, where it will be our pleasure to attend you for another great saty with us.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a family Xmas vacation at this lovely little hotel. The faclities were high quality. Spacious, comfortable rooms. Gorgeous hallways. Great pools. Well-appointed restaurants. Terrific, 5-star spa. Good quality gym

The service was overall good. Staff was generally friendly, helpful and many had a good sense of humor. The entertainment staff was particularly good, especially Ricardo, Alfonso and Mauricio. Other standouts were the bartenders at the beach and in the lobby bar. Also terrific was Carlos, a concierge; and Victor, who helped with chairs and umbrellas on the beach; and Eric, a chef at the Japanese restaurant. .

Overall, we were consistently relaxed and comfortable, which is what a beach vacation should be.

That said, there were a few sour notes. First, the food was overall bad. Breakfast buffet was good, as was the food at the Japanese restaurant. But the rest ranged from bland to awful. This was a particular problem given that the hotel is relatively small and there was not much choicefor dining.

Second, check-in was a bit chaotic. I chalk this up to it being the high season, but the long wait was not conistent with a 'luxury' resoert.

Third, a concierge, Norma, very brazenly tried to "sell" us on some sort of time-share-like scheme involving sister resorts. It was a very hard sell and not at all consistent with a luxury experience.

Fourth, the lobby men's room smelled quite badly, which also did not reflect luxury status.

Bottom line is that we had a great time notwithstanding the negatives. But we probably won't return unless we had confidence that the negatives have been addressed. The hotel has tons of potential, but it's not quite "there" yet as a luxury property. .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, General Manager at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time of your precious time to share your feedback on this site. I am very glad to know that you could enjoy of a relaxing and comfortable Holidays in company of your family.

We are always happy knowing that our guests truly enjoy of the service from our staff and that this contributes to make you have a more pleasant experience at the Resort.

We appreciate your positive criticism about the food, we are working on it, adding new dished and menus to our culinary offer. We are sorry if the wait was long at the check in.

Hopefully, you may come back at Sandos Cancún, to prove our improvements and this time be delighted by our Total Gourmet Experience.

Best regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

we had one of our best christmases ever, great service and amazing team work, the facilities very clean and the food was excellent...
thanks to the staff and the managment i had the best birthday ever thank you all...i´ll be back for sure.
Johnny Zaki

Room Tip: you have to try the spa and a good facial...enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgia z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web Relations C, Director General at Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Johnny,

Please let me wish you once again a Happy Birthday, Happy Holdays and a Prosperous New Year.

We were delighted welcoming you at Sandos Cancún, it is a pleasure to know that you could enjoy of a great stay and the special celebrations were one of the bests for you.

Please do not hesitate to letting us know when you are coming to pamper you once more at your home in Cancún.

Warm regards!
Martina Rodríguez
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
3.4 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
The Westin Resort & Spa Cancun
1.7 mi away
Beach Palace
Beach Palace
#14 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Cancun Resort
0.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,742 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sun Palace
Sun Palace
#10 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort

Property: Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort
Address: Boulevard Kukulcan Km 14 Manzana 53 Lote 37 1 | Hotel Zone, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined and yet welcoming sense of personal service pervades Sandos Cancun Luxury Experience Resort. Our guests enjoy an intimate setting on the sands of Cancun, combining a great all inclusive Total Gourmet Experience with pleasure and relax in 187 rooms, 26 suites. The visitors may enjoy a world-class spa with fitness center, two fine-dining restaurants, three tiered pools, and the Caribbean beach with private cabanas and beachside attendants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandos Cancun Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing