We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Relaxing Place....Exceeds Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #27 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This was truly a home away from home. If you are expecting the Westins and Ritz Carltons of the world this is not but the service meets or exceeds any of those chains. From the initial check in to the final goodbyes the staff goes all out to make sure you have a relaxing week. The resort itself is smaller than most....the rooms were quite big two bedrooms a large kitchen nice living area with an added Murphy bed if needed. We had a fourth floor unit that looked out over the bay and pool # 2 area. One could see the ships coming in and out of port each am/pm.
The staff was wonderful, the activities were fun. The resort had a free sailing cruise w/drink on the bay the second day we were there...no strings attached no time share pitches. Just relaxing fun!!! It was a good way to meet many of the activities staff. Believe me when I tell you they knew your names all week. Always a smile and a hello.
The layout was also nice....many hand manicured gardens, two pools one with swim up bar (tended to stay away from) the other pool#2 had bar in the area.Great bar,awesome happy hour ask for Lorenzo who makes an awesome Margarita and Bushwacker!!! It was nice after a day of excursion and activities to swim and hang out in this area.
The resort also has a free shuttle to the other 4 Royal Resorts in Cancun to use the beaches/amenities. Because our resort had an average beach we took the shuttle to the Royal Sands which had an awesome beach with deep waters,crashing blue waves truly alot of fun. Since we were staying at a Royal Resort we had charge privileges there as well, good for lunch,drinks the Royal Coffee Shop for some Mocha Smoothies.
The Royal Cancun Resort has a restaurant....La Palapa which we ate at twice. It was ok at best.(We tended to eat out at dinner in town, breakfast in our room) There is also a take out CIC Express which was good..they will also deliver to your room. The Royal market is there to do all of your grocery shopping and yes their prices are competitive with shops in town.
People make memories and the staff certainly created them for us. If you go here make sure you you meet Pamela (AquaAerobics/Stretching Class), Lorenzo (Pool Bar #2), Virginia and Jose (Front desk), Luis (Royal Market), Fayo and Tarik (Concierges), Angel (Excursions). These people and countless others made our week relaxing, enjoyable and fun. Yes we would definitley recommend and stay at The Royal Cancun again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PalmCoastPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,341)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed at Sands in 2009, CIC was a disappointment by comparison. No ocean sounds on North side of Hotel zone, only 1 restaurant (outside) with mediocre food. Shuttle between sister resorts runs only every 2 hours as opposed to 1/2 hr at the others, which leaves public buses which aren't bad depending on time of day.

If you receive offers at the airport for Cancun Palace, don't let the folks at the front stop you from going by saying they can offer the same or equivalent amenities - it's a bold face lie! I could go into the daily specific differences with pictures, but that might be abusive. Just come straight out, ask which bus to take for Wal-mart then go catch a cab.

Security was a bit hawkish regarding children and their fear they might splash a patron in the pool with a drink - it's a pool! After my kids were twice called down by security for jumping in the pool and tossing a soft water ball back and forth - the girls thought they were mad at them and that they might do something to them - ah the mind of a 10 yr old! But still the kids were not out of control and splashing everyone - just trying to enjoy the small pools that were really only good for standing in to stay cool.

The remodeled rooms include two flat screen TV's and nice decor. I was able to get a limited wireless connection in the room, but it dropped a lot and was very low speed. The location on the north side of Cancun allows for calm waters and many boats to watch, including all the late night party ships with their music and DJ's. This was mildly annoying as I hate trying to sleep with the non-stop thump & bump of the base bouncing off the walls, usually between 11 pm& 12 am. Take me back to pre-kids and I'd probably be out there with them, but not with pre-teens who get cranky with limited sleep.

They have a fitness center that they charge $9/day per person to access, didn't see the need to pay their fees for something I think they should offer, just my personal opinion, so I can't speak to the quality of the equipment.

On your return home day, don't bother booking a late afternoon flight because the lobby is small and gets crowded quickly with people checking in and waiting on their room. You must vacate the room by 11 am or be charged $100/hr and there really isn't anything do while you wait for your ride. At least the Sands has a indoor sports bar with games so you can play and eat while you wait.

Suffice it to say, the Royal Cancun-CIC is a nice resort targeting the over 50 crowd with two small pools, OK drinks, less transportation options and very limited food choices. Not what I'd describe as a family vacation spot if you have kids or still are one at heart! Or if you go the beach to hear the ocean's waves crashing on the beach - won't get that here. Bottom line for me, my great experience at the Sands in 2009 was squashed by the pain in the butt hassles created by the lies told at CIC. We went from thinking we might buy with Royal Resorts to thinking we'll probably never stay with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

First, make sure that you have a couple people around you and have them write down the price of drinks at the bar. Tried to charge me $20 a shot for cheap tequila when the bill came, but told me $4 a shot. Never really fixed the proplem but got a couple shots free.
Second, The Royal Cancun is not a party spot and the security can feel like they are wathcing/following you if you try to have even a little fun at the pool. Like a father geting into trouble for gently tossing his daughter into the pool. Maily it depends on if you are an owner there, many people are older and are pretty cool. A lot of people come down to the pool for happy hour from 3p-7p.
I went with 3 friends 25-34yo and we traded our time share for the Royal Cancun.
Although the place is older, it was impeccably clean and spotless. We had a two bedroom/one bath apartment. Well appointed, comfortable beds, flat screen TV's/stereo, full size kitchen with dishwasher/mixer/stove/microwave/utensils and most of a good blender to make margs.
The resort has a small store with about everything in it you can think of for last minute supplies. Took the bus, 75 peso's one way, to Wal Mart to stock up on supplies for the week. It was easy enough to get around, taxi's or the bus. The resort has bikes you can use for an hour a day, which was fun. Listen to your concierge the first day about free stuff we missed out on. Plus there are FREE shuttles to the other Royal resorts, dont miss the Sands, thats the place I want to stay at next if I am in a more party mood.
Overall I was very impressed. I would certainly stay here again now that I know how everything works. I want to return the same time so I can see the same people I got to know, which is how it works when you are an owner.
Going Out: We took our partying down town to Senior Frogs and Coco Bongo, both were great and you cannot miss COCO BONGO(went on Thursday). The show was fabulous. Although it cost $60 for the night all drinks and shots were included. Everyone there was having fun/dancing and just having a good time with each other. Met people from all over, most from USA.
Getting to know people from around the Royal was really cool. Many were families that had been coming for 20+ years and were all friendly and down for sand volleyball. Though there were a lot of kids but most stayed at one pool and the adults by the pool with the swim up bar. Although we felt a little out of place at first we did see a few groups of younger people around and once we got to know people it was like a vacation with a big group of friends. I would recommend to come here if you are wanting some quiet time at home and then go out and party . I hope everyone has a great experience like ours.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gotyaboy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

If you are looking for a beautifully landscaped property with white sand beach and crystal blue water, just a couple feet from your Condo door...This is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CudahyLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Hotel Relationship Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

<br/>Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better<br/>Warm regards from Cancun,<br/>Camilo Olea<br/>Community Manager<br/>Royal Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

37yr old female travled with a female friend. We are not party girls, but still like to enjoy our vacation. This place is super sleepy. Everything closes at 10pm and there is no where to go close by. The staff watches the property like the mafia and interrogates you when you walk onto the property at night. It's ridiculous! We tried to bring a friend back and were told he could only stay until 10pm, I felt like I was back in highschool. Give me a break. In addition, do not get a room with a pool view unless you want screaming kids waking you up in the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalResortsManager, Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

We are sorry that this valued guest did not enjoy her recent stay at The Royal Cancun-Club Internacional de Cancun. We want all our guests to feel at home and have a wonderful vacation. However, the resort does operate as a private club and one of the resort policies is that external visitors are only permitted until 10 p.m.
La Palapa, the restaurant-bar at The Royal Cancun-Club Internacional de Cancun does close at 10:30 p.m., yet there is a complimentary shuttle bus service from the resort linking it with the other Royal Resorts where there are more restaurants and bars, and Hacienda Sisal, Captain's Cove and Pancho & Willy's Bar, which is open until later.
With regards to the comment about excessive noise from children playing in the pool area, security staff patrol the resort premises and if they feel that the noise is too loud for an early hour and notice that children are playing in areas where they shouldn't be, they will tell them to play quietly and move them to the children's pool.
The Royal Cancun-Club Internacional de Cancun is popular with families because of its sheltered beach location and peaceful ambiance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The wife and I spent a week at the the royal Cancun.
It was great, We had the best holiday ever and would return time and time again.
The room was beautiful, The view was incredible, the food was very good and the stuff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eran_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Hotel Relationship Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you betterWarm regards from Cancun,Camilo OleaCommunity ManagerRoyal Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Been going here for 15 years at least... am an owner... this was busiest I've ever seen the place.. with a new name change, and now due to the rotten economy and the H1N1 scares by the media of last year... they've had to work hard at getting the place up to a profitable occupancy level.
Many of the new people this year... were part of easter holidayers,.. and special week-end rates to attract a new demographic for the resort.. met a group of six young guys from south LA... who came for the usual Cancun experience..... partying but where the nicest guys you would want to meet. Very sociable and friendly.. no partying in the resort... went downtown to live it up.
Time share sales promotion in short supply.. but can't believe the prices they are trying to sell the units for... a little investigating found the prices they used way out of line... and now makes the whole experience no better than the other time share baloney... what ever happened to their original quality of presentation and integrity.. ?
Will continue as owner forever.. sure hope they hurry up and sell out their inventory, so we can get back to the usual living style that this resort once enjoyed...
The new looks in the renovations is great... keep it up and get them all done as soon as possible.. staff A-1 as always.. good food... can't beat this place for a relaxing holiday.
P

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aikidokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Relationship Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

<TEXTFORMAT LEADING="2"><P ALIGN="LEFT"><FONT FACE="Verdana" SIZE="10" COLOR="#0B333C" LETTERSPACING="0" KERNING="0">Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to write your review. Your comments are very important and help us serve you better.</FONT></P></TEXTFORMAT>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa, Cancun
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#37 of 176 in Cancun
2,101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.1 mi away
Marriott Cancun Resort
Marriott Cancun Resort
#14 of 176 in Cancun
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $166 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing