We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #26 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My husband and I and our 11-year-old son traded with Interval and received an ocean front first floor room (1014B). Here is the good and the not so good:

Good:
Beautiful grounds and pool areas. Beach is fabulous in my opinion, lots of it and very clear, calm water. Large villas are well stocked with all the ammenities one would need. This resort doesn't play towel nazi and doesn't hound you to death about buying a timeshare. Service is top notch in all areas, especially the bar service at the pool and beach (you will love Jesus, Manuel and Ariceli). Food is better than normal (escecially the Sands). Security maintains tight control of the place and the beach areas also (as to not be hassled by vendors). Housekeeping is excellent (special thanks to Candelario!!). The Sport Center was great and you could get all your snorkel gear here for free!! Location is further south in the island and much quieter than the hotel zone. If you want to in the middle of the partying action, this place may be a little out of the way and not for you. Drink and food prices were very reasonable compared to the sister resorts and others I've stayed at (happy hour is great also).

Bad:
Villas are dated and need to be renovated. However, they are renovating 40 villas per year with excellent upgrades such as flat screen TV's and wireless internet, mohaganny furniture, etc. In a few years, this place could be a gem! The linens and towels are of very poor quality in the villas. Both were cheap and scratchy. Beds are hard but most are in Mexico. The pool towels were of better quality that the bath towels. Security doesn't enforce the rules fairly and certainly doesn't read the posted pool rules. Some guests got away with taking loud music to the pool for all the children to hear the bad language. Even after complaining two times, they still didn't ask the obnoxious American teenagers to turn in off or down (please take your teenagers to the Royal Sands next time, they will enjoy it much better!!). Security at the pool seemed more like babysitters of misbeaving children than security enforcement.

All in all it was a very nice stay and we would certainly trade again (you may want to bring your own sheets if you're spoiled like me). I recommend this resort to those who do not like to be herded around like cattle (such as the Royal Sands), enjoy a high level of service, and desire an intimate family-friendly environment.
Note: Majority of the owners ot this "Private Club" appeared to be very wealthy Mexican nationals. They bring lots of children with them and sometimes let them just run wild. However, it wasn't that bad because there resort is laid out well and not everyone is forced to congregate in small areas. We never felt overcrowded.
Ocean in not suitable for boarding but great for floating and snorkeling. Hope to trade again in 2011.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SPERRY8302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,340
    602
    176
    56
    40
See reviews for
1,252
456
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We traded through Interval for CIC. The gardens and pools are quite nice. Our two bedroom villa was large but had wicker furniture (very 80's) and an enormous 13 inch TV (80's also?). The beds were hard with no pillow top which was uncomfortable for some of us. The linens are definitely NOT 5 star! They had low tread count, scratchy sheets with those polyester bedspreads that slide off. Bath towels were thin and scratchy too although pool towels were somewhat better. We usually stay at Marriott properties which have luxurious linens and down comforters and pillows so our expectations are high. I say beware if you trade into here because we got one of the worst rooms in the place. We had a nice view of the lagoon but also a view of the parking lot and the main road. The 30-year-old windows did nothing to abate the traffic noise that continued round the clock. It was difficult to sleep with the noise. One of the things we enjoy most on vacation is having our morning coffee on the balcony which wasn't possible unless you wanted to feel like you were in Manhattan. We tried to get into another room but were told there were no others available. A few days later we were told we could move to an ocean view room for an extra $285 per night. Only a small minority of the rooms have ocean views with most having pool or garden views which are probably fine. There were a lot of families, and some rather large groups of unruly kids. We witnessed one altercation between Mexican and American kids which was unfortunate. The place was very clean and the staff were very friendly. The guacamole was excellent and we had it every day. You can get it at the Market along with chips that are better than the homemade ones at the restaurant/bar. The fish tacos at the restaurant are good. I'd recommend to anyone trading through Interval that you get the room number on the confirmation certificate and check it out in advance or decline the trade. We had no room number on ours but thought that we were more likely to get something good than bad and ended up with the short straw.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hollanderc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We were very pleased with everything about our condo and the resort. We knew from other reviews that the beach was like a lake at this area with no waves but when we wanted the surf we just hopped on the free shuttle and went over to the sister resort (the Royal Sands) and rode the waves there. Although we have 2 kids, 11and 16 we still all preferred the Club International's quiet, homey feel over the other large busy Royal resorts. We took advantage of all the free perks and played tennis, used the sailboats,borrowed their snorkel gear and played the games. We were always greeted by the staff as if we were important friends and we all felt very safe and well tended to. We would recommend the Caribean night at the restaurant, it doesn't get any better than a table on the beach, a band, a sunset and wonderful grilled meal for 4 for $55 USD!
We also did the Selvectica zip line tour but we hired a van with a great driver (ask for Raymundo through Thomas Moore) and did Tulum and the zipline with just our family instead of a whole bus load of people. We also did a side trip with the same driver to the Rivera Maya section to snorkel at Acumal and Ya Kum. We have never seen such a variety of fish as in that lagoon and we practically had it all to ourselves! We had never been to Mexico and the only mistake that we did was we had read that it was good to go over to WalMart for grocerys so we took the bus for $3- tried to shop( without knowing Spanish) at WalMart and it was crazy- they carry mostly all Mexican brands and foods and we were just wasting our time thinking we were saving money. We spent $10 cab fare to get back and the little grocery store right at the resort had what we wanted with more Ameircan brands and THE SAME PRICE as Walmart. I never would recommend that silly trip to Walmart to anyone. Except we can look back and laugh at us trying to translate without knowing much Spanish. We really had one of the best trips we have ever had and we have been to some great places. I forgot to mention the gardens at the resort- just a beautiful place!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsboro, TX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This is a timeshare resort that is the cleanest place I have ever stayed. These people take it to the top. I have been to Mexico several times and I would highly recommend it. It has sailing, tennis, and scuba training on site. Beach was very nice with no surf. Eight Pesos will take you all over town. Where else can you get that kind of deal. Italian restaurant at La Isla was very nice. You must try Selva'tica's zip line. What a blast.

We need to give Mexico a break. I saw no one that was ill. Hotels are only one third full so there are a lot of good deals. Don't let our Media scare you off.

Texas Eunice - Pottsboro, TX

Helpful?
2 Thank TexasEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Went June 2008 with friends and will go again later this year. Super hotel, rooms are spacious and clean, service is very good and the beach is perfect - especially for non-swimmers like me and people with young children as waves are very gentle compared to the other side of the hotel strip.

Hotel staff are really friendly. Food choice is good. Plenty of taxis available outside but also bus stop across the road and buses are cheap and regular.

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donyafs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This timeshare is amazing! It was very clean, friendly, quiet, relaxing, beautiful and helpful. The Club International checked in for us while we relaxed and enjoyed complimentary bottled water. We were promptly greeted by our personal concierge Adrian. He helped every detail of our trip and we really enjoyed getting a locals perspective. The restaurant at the club "La Palapa" was delicious and reasonably priced. They had different theme nights and one night we even ate our dinner on the beach with our feet in the sand watching the sunset. I strongly recommend trying the fish tacos, fried shrimp, margaritas and the shrimp kabobs.

We arrived by Thomas Moore Travel and they promptly picked us up from and to the airport. It cost about forty dollars for two people both ways which was reasonable. A taxi can not pick you up from the airport.

We took the Selvatica Zip Line tour and that was amazing 5 stars. Well worth the money and your time. I would do it again and again. We also did the BOB scooters and that was also 5 stars. Although I think the Selvatica Zip Lines was much more adventurous. We can’t wait to go back to Cancun and even though they called for rain every day it only rained at night and our days were perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donyafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Got a great view of the parking lot, no tv in bedroom downstairs, lights upstairs didn't work, had 2 extra people in our party and was not informed that it was an extra $25 per person per night. Kitchen was too small and cupboards way too low. I did a pre-check in on line the night before and they screwed it up when we arrived. food selection was poor, bartenders were rude and the guy that we bought the timeshare from lied about the cost of beverages.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabernet69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#36 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing