We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,775)
Filter reviews
2,775 results
Traveler rating
1,703
720
227
65
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,703
720
227
65
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restauranttime sharesports deskfull kitchenfree shuttlemurphy bedthomas moorehacienda sisalcaptain's covela trattoriacalm watersall inclusive packagemaster bedroomroom cardpersonal conciergetennis courtsbig waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,644 - 1,649 of 2,775 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great resort with beautiful landscaping everywhere - the tropical plants,trees and attention to detail make it a pleasure to wander around the grounds. On a calm beach which they are now cleaning up a lot better - getting rid of the sea grass so it is nice to go in the water on the beach. Do check to make sure you have a beach view if that's what you want. Other units are nice though. Not sure how this will work as an all inclusive which will be mandatory at the end of the month. They are adding a sports bar and restaurant but does not look like they will be done for a long time. Outdoor restaurant now is good but not great. The staff is very nice and accomadating. Time share sales invitations are low key.

Room Tip: All are good with nice patios or balconies but make sure to ask if you want beach view because many are not.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaca21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.
We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you. We will make our best to insure on your next visit we get a 5 out of 5 stars review.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed with our family of four for one night. We purchased our room on Orbitz and got a ocean front room at a very competitive price. I was concerned that they would try to put us in a non-ocean front room based on the price we paid but I was able to email chat with someone from the resort before we went to confirm that we were on the beach side. The level of communication was very nice and comforting.

When we arrived they assigned us to a room on the second floor. We asked for a room higher up to enjoy the views and they were able to switch us to a room on the fourth floor. The lady at the desk was very nice and accommodating. Since we were just staying for the night we opted out of using the bellboy service and we didn't bring up all of our luggage from the rental car. The lady at the front desk gave us a map to our room and we are reasonably savvy people but we got lost multiple times trying to find our room. It is a maze and the passages to the back buildings are not well identified.

The room was beautiful. The marble floors and furnishings are all very modern. My kids loved having their own twin beds. The view was beautiful but as others have mentioned the pirate ships do pass in front. They didn't bother us and the kids enjoyed watching them. We even heard fireworks at one point. It isn't a spring break place but it is definitely more lively than where we usually stay in quiet Akumal.

We stayed for the night because we arrived in the afternoon and were headed to Chichen Itza the next day. It was perfect for that purpose and we wished we had a couple more nights there although I'm not sure I would want to spend a whole week there. It was nothing against the resort, we just prefer smaller towns over the big bustling city of Cancun. Driving in Cancun is no joke!

The restaurant on the beach was nice but overpriced and had a limited selection but we pretty much expected that based on prior reviews. The next day we were able to enjoy the pools and beach even though we had already checked out. Check out is very early FYI, 10 am I think. But they had nice showers in the towel checkout room so it was not a problem. The pools were nice and warm.

Room Tip: Get a beach front unit.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This resort was part of a trade in Interval (now they are going RCI and all inclusive). If you trade into this resort you will be set up in a "trade only" unit (often with no beach view). Vincent was professional, caring and concerned about the logic with this and did his best to follow through with a decent view and great clean place to stay (he even followed up on check out by phone). Soleadad was our maid and extremely kind and considerate also. Raphael on check out at front desk was shaming and quite dismissive about concerns of over charges on my bill. He embarrassed not only himself but the resort when I asked about the charge I was to pay even though I signed a different amount.

This is as lovely resort and location (although the booming air conditioning going on and off unless you set in to freezing is not good) and the pirate ship leaving and coming every evening. There are also "guidelines" that you must follow and you will need to pay extra for the workout facilities (nicely maintained).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you. Our management is informed of this situation and countermeasures are being taken in order to insure none of this will be experienced again by any of our visitors.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

In 1985 we went to Vacation Club International ( VCI) for a week on the recommendation of our Travel Agent, never to return again. We were so happy there that we became members and have returned every year since. It is maintained to a better than new condition with beautiful grounds and updated Villas. The staff has become friends that we look forward to seeing every year. Though the name has changed a few times, it is still VCI to older owners, the taxi drivers and store keepers. We have signed up to be owners for the next 30 years and plan to be there for all of them. Our only concern is that the move toward "all inclussive" and opening it up to the open market could lead to destructive behavior with occupants who have no personal feelings for the care and upkeep. We just returned from 3 weeks at VCI and are making plans for next year already. There is no nicer Resort on the Island.

Room Tip: all rooms are good , facing one of the pools or the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CozumelBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Celebrated our honeymoon here in August 2013. The whole place is fantastic. Staff are attentive and freindly, The place is clean and well kept. Our room was perfect. The food is amazing, with so much choice.

Night time entertainment was also very enjoyable.

My one gripe, is that although you are made to feel special. Virtually everyone else there is on their honeymoon. More than likely a testament to the perfection that is the Royal Cancun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiffstiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews