We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,774)
Filter reviews
2,774 results
Traveler rating
1,702
720
227
65
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,702
720
227
65
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restauranttime sharesports deskfull kitchenfree shuttlemurphy bedthomas moorehacienda sisalcaptain's covela trattoriacalm watersall inclusive packagemaster bedroomroom cardpersonal conciergetennis courtsbig waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,645 - 1,650 of 2,774 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This resort was part of a trade in Interval (now they are going RCI and all inclusive). If you trade into this resort you will be set up in a "trade only" unit (often with no beach view). Vincent was professional, caring and concerned about the logic with this and did his best to follow through with a decent view and great clean place to stay (he even followed up on check out by phone). Soleadad was our maid and extremely kind and considerate also. Raphael on check out at front desk was shaming and quite dismissive about concerns of over charges on my bill. He embarrassed not only himself but the resort when I asked about the charge I was to pay even though I signed a different amount.

This is as lovely resort and location (although the booming air conditioning going on and off unless you set in to freezing is not good) and the pirate ship leaving and coming every evening. There are also "guidelines" that you must follow and you will need to pay extra for the workout facilities (nicely maintained).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for taking time to post about our resort.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and we regret not achieving this goal with you. Our management is informed of this situation and countermeasures are being taken in order to insure none of this will be experienced again by any of our visitors.

We hope to see you again soon during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

In 1985 we went to Vacation Club International ( VCI) for a week on the recommendation of our Travel Agent, never to return again. We were so happy there that we became members and have returned every year since. It is maintained to a better than new condition with beautiful grounds and updated Villas. The staff has become friends that we look forward to seeing every year. Though the name has changed a few times, it is still VCI to older owners, the taxi drivers and store keepers. We have signed up to be owners for the next 30 years and plan to be there for all of them. Our only concern is that the move toward "all inclussive" and opening it up to the open market could lead to destructive behavior with occupants who have no personal feelings for the care and upkeep. We just returned from 3 weeks at VCI and are making plans for next year already. There is no nicer Resort on the Island.

Room Tip: all rooms are good , facing one of the pools or the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CozumelBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Celebrated our honeymoon here in August 2013. The whole place is fantastic. Staff are attentive and freindly, The place is clean and well kept. Our room was perfect. The food is amazing, with so much choice.

Night time entertainment was also very enjoyable.

My one gripe, is that although you are made to feel special. Virtually everyone else there is on their honeymoon. More than likely a testament to the perfection that is the Royal Cancun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiffstiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I am a member of the Royal Resorts family. Have been at other resorts and found the Royal Cancun to be head and shoulders above the rest. Friendly staff and very attentive. The prices on food at the restaurant can be a little pricey, but then again it is a resort ($27+- for a steak dinner for example). The on-site grocery store is well stocked if you want to cook at your unit rather than going out. Specialty drinks can run around $10 each, but are generous. Happy hour is from 3-6pm each day and drinks are than 2 for 1. The beach area is white sand and clean. The surf is very gentle as this stretch of the beach is protected by the long island (La Isla Mujaris) which acts as a protective barrier reaf. You wont struggle against large waves as you would at the other resorts down the shoreline.

Cancun Island has water treatment facilities, however each Royal resort has their own industrial sized water treatment/filtration systems on site and so the water is generally safe to drink (I still drink bottled water as a habit though).

Most units are 2 bedrooms and one bath. All flooring is mable tile and are very clean. All units have full kitchens with a full sized oven, frig, microwave, toaster, dishwasher and all of your utensils, plates and glassware. They were in the process of building a play center for younger kids in April of 2014. Close proximity to the city of Cancun and transportation is readily available either through the shuttle which goes from the Royal Cancun to other Royal resorts (Sands, Islander, Carribean and Captains Cove restaurant) or through the city bus which runs contantly and is really inexpensive 10 pesos or about $1 US. I recommend not renting a car. Cancun Isand is a string bean of an island with only one road.

Room Tip: Rooms with a B are at beach level which is convenient. Pool units are nice as there are service walks which traverse directly from the unit's back door to the pool apron and lounge chairs. You want an ocean facing unit. Lagoon facing units also face the busy street (can get loud).
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregheinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hola!

We made a last minute reservation for to stay at the Royal Cancun over spring break. We are just returned yesterday so I wanted to publish a review while it was fresh in our mind. All of the units have 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen, dining area and patios. The C units accommodate up 6 people and have 2 bathrooms and an additional murphy bed in the living room. The B units accommodate 4 people and have 1 bathroom. We rented a C unit so if you inquire about a B unit make sure you ask about the differences.

This is a four story older resort but the rooms, gardens, pools, beaches and all other facilities were immaculate. This place is spotless and thoroughly maintained daily. In addition is located on the northern part of the hotel zone so the ocean is very calm. My wife commented I lay on her floaty in the ocean all day and never had to worry about the waves.

The grandparent that accompanied us cannot physically participate in all of our sports activities but does like small stakes gambling. The Royal Cancun, is approximately 2-3 blocks from the Playboy casino, which was not offensive inside at all.

If your looking for the thumping music and college spring break crowd, this is NOT it. They serve the family and younger retiree demographic. We traveled with our two teenage kids and one grandparent and it was perfect for the five of us. It is peaceful and yet we had a lot of active fun. They are also not trying to constantly sell you timeshares or tours but are very helpful if you interested in either.

If you want to join in on the party atmosphere or swim in big ocean waves you can go to any of the other Royal properties in the hotel zone and use 100% of their facilities free as well. The best part is you can also leave the party. We had several groups from the other Royal properties come to Royal Cancun so they could get a break from the chaos.

The other thing that was highly impressive was that your lodging fee included free use of pools, chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, snorkel gear, tennis courts, sail boats, fishing equipment for their pier, board games, bicycles, etc.. There is enough to keep anyone busy.

The bus stop is right outside the entrance to the Royal Cancun and cost 9.5 pesos ($0.80) per trip. Don't take a cab you get anywhere on the bus. It is clean and fast and efficient. We went to Wal-Mart (R2 Bus) on first day with a couple of roller bags and picked up groceries and beverages. We also took the bus into Market 28 (giant flee market) which is less expensive then the hotel zone for souvenirs. We took the bus to Puerto Juarez to catch a ferry to Isle Mohair (best deal on ferries to the island) for snorkeling. My only advice for the bus is tell the driver your destination and they will accommodate your request and remind you that this is your stop. Conversely they will pass the stop if doesn't appear anyone needs to stop.

Our favorite restaurant was Surfen Burrito. If you like a clean and safe hole in the wall for a beverage and the best burrito of your life, this is it. There are many great 4-5 star places to eat but there is plenty of information on them in Trip Advisor. Surfen Burrito is across the street from the old Senior Frogs.

The exchange rate at the Royal Cancun was very competitive at 12.35 pesos per U.S. dollar. As a point of reference the published currency market exchange rate in the wall street journal was 13.10 per U.S. dollar before any trading fees.

Here is the last best tip. Most of the units in the Royal Cancun are owned through time shares. We learned you can go to this website http://www.omcancun.com/ and rent a unit directly for much less then through travel agency site.

enjoy

Room Tip: The have rooms that the balcony faces the road. Choose one that faces the beach, pools or gardens.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews