We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,776)
Filter reviews
2,776 results
Traveler rating
1,704
720
227
65
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,704
720
227
65
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restauranttime sharesports deskfull kitchenfree shuttlemurphy bedthomas moorehacienda sisalcaptain's covela trattoriacalm watersall inclusive packagemaster bedroomroom cardpersonal conciergetennis courtsbig waves
Filter
Updating list...
1,657 - 1,662 of 2,776 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights the first week of March 2014. Had booked a beach front room and arrived at 1pm, check-in was not until 4pm, they had a room cleaned and ready for us when we got there. This is a cashless resort, you provide a credit card at check-in and everything is then charged to your room. The food at the on site restaurant was good, the 2nd evening when we just wanted a sandwich instead of the evening buffet the service was not very good. The room was large and very clean, king bed in 1 room, 2 twin beds in the 2nd room with 1 full bath, living room-dining area combined, with a galley kitchen. The resort is right on the beach at the top of the seven that is the Cancun Hotel Zone, no waves and blue water, great location for playing in the ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill37611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Cancun continues to provide an incredible vacation experience for a very reasonable cost. The architecture and gardens are authentically Mexican, giving the guests a real feeling of old world charm. This is not your college spring break resort. None of the Royal Resorts are...but the others have a real 'mega- resort' feel to them. Not so at the Royal Cancun. The food is good. They're opening a new Italian restaurant sometime this year. That will be welcome. Even though the Palapa has good food, it can get tiresome eating there day-after-day. Some of these reviews were not written by time share vacationers. Of course you are expected to do a quick inventory of your kitchen supplies. The purpose is not only to make sure it doesn't disappear, but also to ensure you and your family have everything you need for the week. As for the air conditioning, that is certainly not a resort-wide issue. We've never had that problem, and EVERY time we have had a maintenance issue, it has been fixed on the spot within an hour. DOWNSIDE: The resort can feel a little remote from the rest of the Royal Resorts that are located in the hotel zone. The shuttle only runs every two hours and the shuttle from the Royal Sands to the Islander\Caribbean fills up fast. They need to figure this out. The ocean\beach is lovely, but it does not compare with the grand ocean views of the resorts in the hotel zone. Much more family-friendly with shallow water and relatively small waves.
Over all, the Royal Cancun vacation experience is unsurpassed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Overall, it was an OK place (barely). It's somewhere between low-buget vacation clubs and a 3/4 star hotel.

If you don't mind having to walk 100+ meters on burning tiles each time you want to change a beach towel, you'll find it pleasant, but we didn't because we travelled with a 8 month old, and this made life a lot more difficult. And they have a one towel per guest policy, so bring your own towels if you want to put one on the beach chairs and clean yourself with a clean one without sand.

They have a free bike rental service, but it's a JOKE, because it's only until 3 PM, so unless you're the type of person who wakes up a 6 AM to go biking while on vacation, or unless your skin is senseless to the burning mid-day sun, you'll not be able to use it, although it is technically there.

The air-conditioning makes terrible noise whenever it kicks in, and it woke up the baby each time in the middle of the night time, so we had to spent the entire 7 nights without A/C, and it was really hot.

Oh, did I forget to mention that they have a very smart way of sending you the salesperson for the membership thing? Yes, instead of putting the free soap and shampoo in the bathrooms like in other hotels, they made them delivered to the room by the so-called "Concierge", immediately after we arrived, even before we had the time to open our bags, and she tried everything possible for us to accept an appointment with a marketing person, which we refused, because we had a very bad experience in the past in another hotel where we had wasted 3 hours trying to refuse to buy the pacakges they were offering. The 90 minutes that they say is only true if you accept to buy at the end, if not, it can go on for hours.

Apart from that, the place was OK, and it was quite conveniently placed, being close from the city centre and the bus stop. The parking was also OK, except that there was no shade whatsover, so good luck of you try to take the car in the middle of the day.

The beach was quite OK, not the best I've been to in Cancun, but it was pleasant, and quite clean, a lot of seaweeds though.

The food was quite OK, and not expensive for the quality. The convenience store is a plus, because you can find all basic necessities.

Room Tip: The A/C units are very noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thuta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have never been to Cancun so this was my first trip. I came early and so had the need to find a place to stay for 2 days, chose the RIU Cancun. Later on that one.
Not knowing what to expect my sister and I arrived at the Royal Cancun and were greeted by nothing less then friendly people, everyone went out of their way to make the check-in process quick and easy. The rooms were great, clean and comfortable, nice full kitchen, clean bath, clean well made beds.
The concierge was very helpful as we were not so sure what we were going to do (not all our activities were through their agency).
We went many places and were VERY HAPPY to go back to our rooms to rest and re-energize for the next day.
The food at the open air restaurant was quite good but a little spendy so we ate other places as well, some of the specials were really fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyDragonQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our second stay at The Royal Cancun. It is one of the first resorts built in Cancun but you would never guess it. The villas are like new, the amenities are a-one, and the staff is the best. We have stayed in Riviera Maya also. The Royal Cancun wins hands down. We felt so comfortable there we bought into the resort. Every other year for now, but looking forward to the next time already.

Room Tip: B Villas very comfortable for 4....C Villas are 2 floors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews