We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Nearby Hotels
$289
$279
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$354
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$595
$495
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$579
$371
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Palace(Cancun)
$616
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Le Blanc Spa Resort(Cancun)
$886
$800
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$290
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$150
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,578)
Filter reviews
2,578 results
Traveler rating
1,580
669
212
61
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,580
669
212
61
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalapa restaurantsports desktime sharefull kitchenmurphy bedfree shuttlethomas moorecaptain's covehacienda sisalcalm watersla trattoriaall inclusive packageroom cardpersonal conciergemaster bedroomtennis courtsbig waves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,500 - 1,505 of 2,578 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Overall, it was an OK place (barely). It's somewhere between low-buget vacation clubs and a 3/4 star hotel.

If you don't mind having to walk 100+ meters on burning tiles each time you want to change a beach towel, you'll find it pleasant, but we didn't because we travelled with a 8 month old, and this made life a lot more difficult. And they have a one towel per guest policy, so bring your own towels if you want to put one on the beach chairs and clean yourself with a clean one without sand.

They have a free bike rental service, but it's a JOKE, because it's only until 3 PM, so unless you're the type of person who wakes up a 6 AM to go biking while on vacation, or unless your skin is senseless to the burning mid-day sun, you'll not be able to use it, although it is technically there.

The air-conditioning makes terrible noise whenever it kicks in, and it woke up the baby each time in the middle of the night time, so we had to spent the entire 7 nights without A/C, and it was really hot.

Oh, did I forget to mention that they have a very smart way of sending you the salesperson for the membership thing? Yes, instead of putting the free soap and shampoo in the bathrooms like in other hotels, they made them delivered to the room by the so-called "Concierge", immediately after we arrived, even before we had the time to open our bags, and she tried everything possible for us to accept an appointment with a marketing person, which we refused, because we had a very bad experience in the past in another hotel where we had wasted 3 hours trying to refuse to buy the pacakges they were offering. The 90 minutes that they say is only true if you accept to buy at the end, if not, it can go on for hours.

Apart from that, the place was OK, and it was quite conveniently placed, being close from the city centre and the bus stop. The parking was also OK, except that there was no shade whatsover, so good luck of you try to take the car in the middle of the day.

The beach was quite OK, not the best I've been to in Cancun, but it was pleasant, and quite clean, a lot of seaweeds though.

The food was quite OK, and not expensive for the quality. The convenience store is a plus, because you can find all basic necessities.

Room Tip: The A/C units are very noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thuta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have never been to Cancun so this was my first trip. I came early and so had the need to find a place to stay for 2 days, chose the RIU Cancun. Later on that one.
Not knowing what to expect my sister and I arrived at the Royal Cancun and were greeted by nothing less then friendly people, everyone went out of their way to make the check-in process quick and easy. The rooms were great, clean and comfortable, nice full kitchen, clean bath, clean well made beds.
The concierge was very helpful as we were not so sure what we were going to do (not all our activities were through their agency).
We went many places and were VERY HAPPY to go back to our rooms to rest and re-energize for the next day.
The food at the open air restaurant was quite good but a little spendy so we ate other places as well, some of the specials were really fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyDragonQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our second stay at The Royal Cancun. It is one of the first resorts built in Cancun but you would never guess it. The villas are like new, the amenities are a-one, and the staff is the best. We have stayed in Riviera Maya also. The Royal Cancun wins hands down. We felt so comfortable there we bought into the resort. Every other year for now, but looking forward to the next time already.

Room Tip: B Villas very comfortable for 4....C Villas are 2 floors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

What makes the Royal Canun special is the fact that it is not an all-inclusive, is comprised of 2 bedroom suites with full kitchens and the best beach in Cancun. Located on the north shore of Cancun, ther is minimal waves from the Atlantic. The resort is currently building another onsite restaurant...eating at the only restaurant onsite was becoming tiring. They do have shuttles that take you to other Royal resorts in Cancun and the fact you could just use your room key to pay was an added bonus. Unfortunately, this resort is scheduled to become an all-inclusive at the end of April. Our restaurant/bar bill for the week was under $1000.US for 2 people. It will be interesting to see how much the all inclusive fees are.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globehoppersdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Royal Cancun is one of the older resorts on the Island consequently it has more of the Mexican look and feel than so many of the other resorts that are high rise crowded and noisey! The maintenance of the facility and grounds is fanatastic! Lush gardens, mature palms and beautiful pools! The guys at the pool bars are the greatest. The food in the Palapa restaurant is good, but over priced, however it is open air and next to the beach, how cool is that?! The entire staff is great, just becareful of the sales people their one hour meeting takes five hours and they don't understand the english version of NO! All in all the place is fantastic and you will be sorry if you are only there for a week!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, however the closer you can get to the beach the better the view and the quicker you can be in a lounge chair getting a tan and the rest you went down for!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Butch050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews