We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 30th Anniversary!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #25 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nantucket
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great 30th Anniversary!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I spent 9 days at The Royal Cancun for our 30th anniversary (10/13-10/22). As previously mentioned by many others, the entire property is extremely "well kept". All of the gardens are gorgeous and the staff could not be any more accomodating and helpful. We did spend an afternoon at the Royal Sands (stunning property as well) and enjoyed the surf and turquoise waters but definitely preferred the "laid back" atmosphere at the Royal Cancun.

Our room was spacious and well appointed. However, if we were traveling with another couple we would definitely want two full bathrooms but our unit worked very well for the two of us.

The beach at RC, although shallow, did provide some excellent snorkeling near the pier. I also learned to sail (thanks to Juan) and must say it was the best $5 I have ever spent (for a sailing lesson) prior to taking the sunfish out on my own.

We had dinner in the restaurant 3 nights and I would have to categorize the food as good...not great. However, the views and beach setting were idyllic.

The Royal offered a discount snorkeling trip (Mondays) to Los Merellos and it was so enjoyable. The reef was teeming with sea life and our guide did a great job finding morey eels, trumpet fish, angel fish, barracuda, etc. The waters were clear and warm and the half day excursion was the perfect amount of time to invest. The lunch spot on the beach had incredible sandwiches...don't miss out!

Another day was spent taking the ferry over to Isla Mujeres. We rented a golf cart for the day ($40) and explorered the entire island. One of the highlights was seeing the many iguanas at the southern tip of the island and the gorgeous beach at the northern end near the Fenix restaurant.

A special thanks to Vicenti (at the front desk), Lloyd (our very capable concierge), Maurilia (sp?? our maid), Elizabeth (another concierge), Sharon (our beach server), and Jason (timeshare rep)...all had great attitudes, warm smiles and always made us feel welcome.

We did have great meals at the Captain's Cove and Lemonciello on two occasions and used the public buses (could not have been easier) to get around whenever we ventured out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1221 which had a great view of the pool, gardens, and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickNRona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    575
    166
    54
    38
See reviews for
1,183
442
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have been coming to the Royal Cancun for many years. We brought friends with us this time who own several other timeshares. We asked them to rate the "Royals" since we have never known anything else. They said hands down it rates as well or better than "anywhere" they have ever stayed! As usual, staff was very attentive and grounds are kept immaculate. This is by far the best place to stay in Cancun!! We do miss the morning orientation though and Welcome Party on the beach. We have been coming for many years so do not necessarily need the information, but for first timers the information is very helpful!! It is also a fun way to meet new people when you first arrive. We vote for bringing the morning orientation back!!

Room Tip: Our favorite rooms are the Pool or Ocean View rather than the Lagoon or Garden views but every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyCrowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at the Royal Resorts Royal Cancun. The hotel/timeshare is exceptionally clean, updated and staffed by extraordinary people. I felt very much at home in the lovely surroundings. Everyone was pleasant, helpful and got to know who I was immediately so our meetings were always like meeting an old friend. Our room was located on the third floor overlooking the pool near the restaurant. It was perfect because besides the pool I could also see the Caribbean from my bedroom window. The villa was on two levels with a bedroom and bath on the top floor.
Because Royal Resorts owns other resorts we were able to shuttle to the other resorts on the bus that was provided with no charge. We swam and dined at the other resorts as well as at our resort. Other possibilities for travel are arranged by your concierge if you so desire. We spent most of our time at the resorts relaxing except for a day trip to Isla Mujeres and Market 28. Be ready to bargain and to be approached by every merchant if you choose to shop at Market 28.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool or the Caribbean are the best spots. Overlooking the parking lot and road, fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySaratogaSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We (my husband & I) were guest of the timeshare owners (our friends) and this was a very clean, nice, fantastic resort hotel. The unit was near the pool and a few step access to the beach. We had access to the other "Royal" resorts and the Royal Sands was to die for. Both Resorts at the beach were beautiful blue water, clean area for relaxing and enjoying the sun. The food at the resort was very good.

The personnel, (from the front desk, concierge, restaurant wait staff, Lloyd & Jason and even Theresa, maid) were personable, friendly, courteous and very attentive to our needs.

Thanks to all of them, they made this trip very fun, relaxing and enjoyable.

Trudy & Darrel (Friends of Karla & Will)

Room Tip: 2 bedroom/2 bath, 1st floor walk out to the beach would have been even better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our second trip to Mexico this year on recommendation form TripGuy.com
This one without the kids. The service was exceptional. The rooms were cleaned twice per day. They gave us a choice of pillows, clean-up times, etc. Courteous staff. Food was good. There are several ala cart restaurants. Presentation of food was top-notch. For a gourmet junky, there is a choice of ecletic molecular gastronomy cuisine, which I've only seen before in NYC and Las Vegas. The pools are great. Lots of cabanas with shade by the pools and the beach. Free access to the SPA wtih sauna, steam room, whirlpools and cold pool. A huge plus. Other places I've been to charged for the SPA access separately.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuba_Do_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Royal Cancun, not to be confused with 'The Royal, Cancun' (Which we did by the way - one is on KM17 and the one in this review is on KM4.5) Is a nice apartment hotel, friendly staff and a private beach.
I suppose you could say that about most of the hotels on the strip in Cancun, but this one offered a discount for staying during the low season (May-October).

Location - The Royal Cancun isn't a walking distance from nearly anywhere - most of all the 'Party Center' (km9.5), though it's only a short bus ride away, and buses run all night. Buses are preferable to Taxis, as one costs 8.5 Peso, and the other starts at 50 Peso.

The Hotel is quite big in size, we had to walk like 5-7 minutes from the lobby to our room.
We booked an apartment that could house 6 people with ease. (It was the smallest one we could find). Oh, and by we - I mean me and the missus. Just the two of us.

The apartment had a master bedroom, a second bedroom with two separate beds, a living room with a 'wall bed', that would open by pulling it down, a kitchen and a balcony overlooking the pool area.
It had two TVs, a safe, a dishwasher, a fridge and other stuff you could want for a long stay in an apartment.

On the day of our arrival, we had a visit from one of the staff (Teri), a very nice lady who explained to us how to get around town, where we could get food, what's there to do and more. She also had to do her job and try to sell us a timeshare for the place, but we weren't interested.

The Hotel also had a transport service to the three other affiliate Hotels, though 'The Sands' (km14.5), which was the one closest to the center (km9), was closed for cleaning that week, and the bus driver wouldn't stop there for us, and instead took us to the furthest hotel (km18).

On the less positive side - Nothing except for the room itself was included in the price we paid. The Breakfast cost like 120-180P per person, the Gym was like 8$ USD a DAY, Internet Service - as in Computer room cost money (Though wireless was free), and those are just the things we had time to check.

I guess for families and Spring Breakers this is one of the best options around, as the cost of the room is on the low side compared to the rest of the strip, but comparing cost against value for two persons is not the best you can get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been coming to The Royal Cancun (Vacation Club International) since 1988. I first rented the unit thru a travel agent, and after our first visit we bought the time share. We just re-bought for another 30 years. We absolutely LOVE it here! My kids were 3 & 6 on our first trip & now they come with their spouses & kids. We see the same servers, housecleaners & staff. They treat us like family & recognize us as guests. The food is always good, the grounds are gorgeous, the units spotless. The kitchen is fully stocked, the linens are clean. We enjoy the pool & beach. But mostly we enjoy the quiet pace, a perfect place to relax. We enjoy the beach service for cocktails & meals. They even set up a dinner table on the beach for us complete with cloth linens because we didn't feel like cleaning up to go into the restaurant :)
HIGHLY recommend this vacation location!

Room Tip: Beach front ground floor units are the absolute best! (unless you are a pool person, then I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
2.7 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#35 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Vacatia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing