We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thieves, stole my passport and money from my room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“thieves, stole my passport and money from my room”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel on 25th and 26th march, 2011. on the 26th march around 8 pm i went to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and when i came back all my stuff was stolen from the room including my passport, camera, phone and all the money. Some one broke into my room through the kitchen window which is next to the entrance room ( how convinient) and stole everything. my room was 1141 and its on the 4th floor and i locked the room before going out for dinner. The hotel staff was very bad and did not beleive me after telling them numerous time and told me that no one can enter their rooms blah blah..then i asked them for help to take me to police station but they declined..my flight was about to leave in 2 hrs but they declined to take me to the airport even..they wrote a report on a blank paper and thats all...so please if you read this review dont stay in this hotel...its full of thieves and pls dont leave anything in ur room no matter which floor it is and no matter if its a 5 star hotel or resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank rock_dude_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
UPDATE:

The Royal Cancun is sorry that such an unfortunate incident occurred during this guest’s stay in Cancun. Security is of the utmost importance at the resort and guards patrol the premises and beach area 24 hours a day. Furthermore, external visitors are only admitted if they are friends or relatives of guests and even then they must also register at the Front Desk. Incidents are extremely rare and in the event that a guest reports the loss of an item, Management and Security investigate the situation immediately and thoroughly.

When this particular incident was reported, a careful search of the villa and surrounding area was carried out and members of staff were questioned. It is worth noting that the majority of the resort employees have been with the company for more than 10 years and some for more than 20 and all have a reputation for honesty, regardless of the length of their tenure.

At check in, guests are issued with an electronic keycard that they use to open the front door to their villa. When they leave the villa they should always make sure that all the windows and terrace doors are closed.

The guest asked about calling the police and the Duty Manager explained to him that formal reports of theft must be lodged at the police station in Downtown Cancun; they cannot be done at the resort. Staff offered to accompany him but he declined due to the fact that he was due to depart that evening.

For the convenience of guests, all the villas at the resort are equipped with an electronic in-room safe for the storage of valuables, money and travel documents. Resort regulations recommend that visitors use them and state that Royal Resorts cannot be held responsible for the loss of personal belongings that were not kept in the safe. The guest acknowledged that he had not used the safe during his stay.

Royal Resorts would like to thank this recent guest for sending additional information. It was noted that the items that the guest initially reported as missing to security guards and the Duty Manager do not match those he listed in his review.

Once again, Royal Resorts regrets that this guest had an experience that caused him considerable annoyance and inconvenience during his vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,364
    610
    182
    59
    40
See reviews for
1,280
461
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The check-in process was friendly and the lobby area smelled so nice. I couldn't pinpoint what the smell was...but it was so relaxing and fresh. Our room was a nice two bedroom and perfect. The floor was marble and the decor was contemporary and clean...not tacky at all. The staff here are fantastic, making sure we felt welcome and even helped us out with our Spanish. The market on the grounds is convenient and the option to bill separate accounts on separate cards made it very convenient at the end of our trip. The shuttle that takes you to the Royal Sands, which is a sister club, is a must-see! Our villa was quaint and quiet, while the Royal Sands boasted a wider scenery of the crystal blue beach with a bigger pool and two swim-up bars. I love how the shuttles are free between resorts. We all agreed we had an amazing experience!

Tip: Run the dishwasher before you leave for the day...our maid accidentally put away all our dirty dishes thinking they were clean. Yuck!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToastyHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2011

When they say, "Welcome home" they mean it. Quiet, clean and the most wonderful wait staff. I mean these people treat you like "Royalty". This is the 5th time we have stayed here and everytime I remember why we come back. I am looking forward to next March to spend more time with our friends and family at Club International. You can't miss by staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed at Royal Cancun, part of the Royal Resorts and it was fantastic. The resort was not only beautiful, it was perfect. The beach is private, clean and picture perfect. The staff were friendly, helpful and caring. You do not have to ask, you will be taken care of! Spotless, safe, secure and full of class! The Villas are spacious, with all the emenities you could need. If you do have a need, the on site market will have it. Anyone who picks the Royal Resorts will be very pleased, but I have a special place in my heart for Royal Cancun .... Welcome Home!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahM2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We have been going to Cancun off and on for 20years and always at the Royal Cancun. Not as exciting as further down the coast, but peace on earth. A couple of years ago, we had an opportunity to buy an interval (1 Week) which was for 30 years. We have also rented a second week. It is like coming home each year. Relaxation at it's best.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter55904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We loved our stay here. I mentioned a few preferences when booking and the villa location they gave us was beyond what I had hoped for. This has got to be one of the best managed resorts we've encountered - exceptional customer service, what seemed like an army of maintenance and cleaning personnel, plenty of friendly security staff, and beautiful grounds. The villas were big. Having a kitchen and two bedrooms was great.

I would recommend this resort for families, older people and others that are not into the drinking party thing. I never saw anyone drink excessively and it was extremely quiet after dark, which was fine with us because were were tired after playing in the sun all day.

Being a smaller resort was a huge bonus. We met some of the same people by the pool or beach each day and our son met some great buddies to hang out with. Our son loved the kids activities. The beach is beautiful, spaceous compared to alot of the other resorts and usually had no problems finding chairs. The water was not the best for swimming. It is very shallow and tons of areas of seaweed. But the pools were wonderful. We did take the free shuttle to The Royal Sands and spent an afternoon on their beach where we enjoyed the beautiful turquoise water and large waves. Our son found the most treasures (shells) here.

La Palapa restaurant was very good - loved the guacamole, fish tacos and coconut shrimp. Happy hour at the pool bars (1/2 price drinks from 3-6) was a lot of fun. My husband and son even looked forward to trying several different fruity non-alcoholic concoctions that Angel came up with. I personally liked his Banana Monkey drink. Yum!

We had originally researched several excursions to try while here but were very happy we didn't buy any ahead of time. Because somehow XCaret, Xel-ha and the others lost their appeal once we experienced the ambiance, relaxation and fun at this great resort. We were completely happy to just hang out here. We did go to Dolphin Discovery and made a day of it by visiting the town in Isle Mujeres after. We highly recommend scheduling the earliest time for a Dolphin experience and then take a taxi into the town and walk around, wonderful people and place. Restaurants and vendors are less expensive and more laid back than in the hotel zone of Cancun.

Tips:
Tell the concierge by the entrance where you'd like to go. They can tell you which bus to take until you get familiar with them yourself. It will save you a lot of uncertainty if you're new to Cancun.

We found the best exchange rate right at the resort, the worst at the airport.

The market is convenient but overpriced, depending on what you are looking for. We took the bus to Walmart and stocked up on bottled water, fresh produce, bakery items, snacks, yogurt, etc. The prices definitely made up for the addt'l time and taxi fare back to the resort.

Take the bus into downtown and visit La Pasteleria restaurant for breakfast (or lunch and dinner). The bakery case when you walk in the door is enough to write home about. The food is great and reasonably priced, one of our favorites!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanB124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Have been to Cancun over 25 times first was 1976 watched them building this place.
Five of us stayed here in 2000 but in 2005 Wilma wiped this place out they have out done them selves in making this the best spot on the island super clean and super service and super food will never stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumper9j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.8 mi away
The Westin Lagunamar Ocean Resort Villas & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Royal Sands Resort & Spa All Inclusive
2.5 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Caribbean
The Royal Caribbean
#34 of 175 in Cancun
1,996 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Condesa Cancun All Inclusive
2.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#29 of 175 in Cancun
8,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort

Property: The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort
Address: Kukulcan Boulevard Km 4.5 Hotel Zone | Lotes C2 & C2A, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cancun
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#25 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Cancun(R) All-Suites Resort has breathtaking views, friendly staff and a beautiful beach surrounded by palm trees make this a perfect place for a getaway with the family. The Royal Cancun(R) is located on a privileged beach surrounded by beauty, turquoise colors and a relaxing atmosphere. Mellow down with the sound of palm trees moving with the ocean breeze and have a taste of the Old Mexico and our revered family traditions. Enjoy our fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the All-Inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Vacatia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Cancun All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Cancun Hotel Cancun
International Hotel Cancun
Club International Cancun
International Resort Cancun
International Club Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing