We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient stopover”
Review of Kin Mayab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kin Mayab
Ranked #72 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at the Kin Mayab as a stopover on our way to Isla Mujeres. It was very convenient - about a 3 minute walk from the ADO bus stop. The ADO bus from the airport to downtown Cancun is by far the most economical and convenient way especially if you book a hotel very close to the ADO bus station. We had a spacious room on the third floor at the back (far from the road) of the hotel. This meant a quiet and peaceful night. The hotel offered breakfast for an additional cost (cosy lobby area) but we opted for a McDonalds breakfast (about a 10 minute walk). There are a number of excellent Mexican restaurants a few blocks to the left of the hotel as you are looking at it from the street. These restaurants are close to a park area which attracts many locals at night. If you need to exchange US dollars for pesos, the Banorte bank next to the hotel offers the best rate we could find. If you need a taxi, don't take it from the ADO bus station - just walk a block away and you will get a better rate.
The Kin Mayab is not a modern hotel and not in a tourist area but it is clean, inexpensive and convenient. I would go back.

Room Tip: Try to find a room away from the road - one of the buildings at the back
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12Brian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Kin Mayab
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 241 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The location is perfect when you need to spend a night close to the bus station. Lots of nice restaurants and a nice square a block or two behind the hotel. Our room was clean and quiet on the backside of the hotel, but was a bit worn. The major problem was a very strong smell of sewage in the room! Almost unbearable! Avoid room nr 16! But I am afraid that the other similar rooms have the same problem!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the bottom floor af the annex.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EOEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our second stay at the Kin Mayab, once last March and again this last week. We chose it because of location as we often travel by bus and it is about a half block from the ADO bus terminal in downtown Cancun. This area is quite far from Zona Hotelera, but for 9.5 pesos the Route 1 bus will take you there or to Peurto Juarez where you can board the ferry for isla Mujeres. Cuidad Cancun is your typical older Mexican area, kind of grundgy with broken up sidewalks and busy streets although the whole sidewalk past the hotel is currently torn up and being redone.
We rate the hotel quite high based on not only location but cleanliness and upkeep: appears that things are continually maintained and we noticed freshly painted areas. Our room was very clean and the pool looks well maintained and is a quiet oasis behind the busy street. Our room during both our stays has been in the building behind the main one facing Av Tulum, necessitating a walk outside by a car park to a second building. The restaurant serves a good breakfast. And the reception staff have been very helpful during both our stays. Their English is excellent and they are very accommodating.We booked online for a good price, about half the posted price of 1100 pesos.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great location, right across the street from the ADO Bus Terminal. Clean rooms. Quiet. Hot water. Pool. Air conditioning. Near a cool little shopping/dining area. Pleasant staff.

We weren't able to get wifi in the room itself, so we had to go sit in the lobby to use the internet, but there was plenty of seating and it wasn't a big deal.

Overall, great value. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had to spend a night in Cancun before going on to Progreso. This hotel is downtown, right across from the ADO bus station, which is exactly what we needed. Lots of restaurants close by. Good service at reception. Everything was as advertised with no surprises. They served a good breakfast for a very reasonable price. If you are off to Merida or Progreso the next day, this is a good inexpensive alternative..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

+ location is excellent, basically at the ADO bus terminal, public bus #1 brings you to the beaches
+ shopping and dining opportunities nearby
+ refreshing pool
= bathroom has seen better times
- slight chaos at breakfast
- very loud due to road construction works

Room Tip: away from the street!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoni111121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

In the first two days of my stay, i don't have wifi in the room(#22). I talked with the staff and finally got changed to another room with wifi access. The staff answers questions in a way making you feel that you are not welcomed. The first room is very small and the second room is better. The pool is small. The location is convenient to catch a bus. The price is cheap so I think overall value is OK if you just need a place to spend the night like us. We did not spend much time in the hotel.

Room Tip: no room 22
Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank wodedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#99 of 176 in Cancun
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#88 of 176 in Cancun
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 176 in Cancun
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#83 of 176 in Cancun
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Caribe
Hotel Plaza Caribe
#92 of 176 in Cancun
331 reviews
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#49 of 176 in Cancun
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kin Mayab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kin Mayab

Address: Avenida Tulum No 75 Sm 22 Mza | Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $28 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kin Mayab 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kin Mayab, is located in downtown Cancun. Its architecture and traditional mexican style decoration, combined with the staff hospitality, offers the guest a friendly and comfortable ambiance. Pool. Restaurant. Air conditioning. Free WiFi internet. Cable TV. Safe deposit boxes. Private balconies. Travel Agency. Parking. Walking distance from bus station, supermarket, bank, ATM and money exchange. Located in the center of Cancun's main thoroughfare, Tulum Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kin Mayab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kin Mayab Cancun
Kin Mayab Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing