We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown”
Review of Kin Mayab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kin Mayab
Ranked #72 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Downtown”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Gave it 4 stars as its right next to central bus station so its a handy location, its a little high in price if your on a budget, but you get to use the pool and in downtown thats pretty good when theres not a lot to do and your just passing though. The pool is pretty good. Place was clean and the staff helpful, better if you spoke Spanish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    113
    49
    15
    3
See reviews for
37
92
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I chose this place to spent my last night in Cancun after returning from Valladolid mainly for its location and the unbeatable rate which I booked with some struggles using Booking.com’s default Spanish version while in Yucatan. The effort paid off. I picked a standard room which is in the 2nd building tucked in the back, separated from the main building on the busy Av. Tulum. I stayed at room #38 which is on the 3rd floor with an open corridor and some nice panoramic view of the pool and the surrounding neighborhood. Room is very spacious and clean, albeit a bit old, with a big window, a big comfortable bed, cable TV and A/C. Wi-Fi was very weak in the room but since it's my last night in Cancun before flying home, I don't really need to get online much, but when I needed it, I just walked over to the hotel restaurant/lobby area and from there I had no troubles to use their free Wi-Fi. There are also free drinking water dispensers on the corridor which is great. The only downside was the A/C in the room was quite noisy. But by the time I was ready to sleep, I turned off A/C but left the fan on, which worked out perfectly. I also enjoyed using the pool to cool off in the late afternoon after settling down in the room. This is a great place for any bus travelers between Cancun and other parts of Yucatan.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are in the annex building in the back of the hotel lot. This is actually a better loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123kwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked this place based on the reviews and also to be close to the station as we were arriving late and leaving early. It was a great choice, its just a few minutes walk from the ado bus station. The room was large with a huge bed, cable and air con. There was also drinking water available in the halls. The only negative was the poor wifi which was non existent in the room and weak in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verde valley
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

this is a great place to stay if you are coming through Cancun via bus. its very close to the bus station. and there are loads of terrific restaurants nearby.

note: the place has a great pool. i have stayed here several times but never knew about the pool before!

Room Tip: eat at Labna and La Parrilla !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona-mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm so glad we stayed here. We took an ADO bus from the airport in a drenching rain through some flooded streets and waited a few minutes for the rain to subside . We were there early and were warmly welcomed before 10 am. Not only that but were allowed to choose a two bed room when we had reserved a single... at no extra cost! The room was A/C cooled very adequately and the TV and the room safe worked great. Taxis were plentiful and cheap [ 28 pesos] to el mercado 28 and to the ferry that goes to Isla Mujeres. The first couple of days we only went out the front door and only accidentally ran into the very unique Plaza de las Palapas with its treasure trove of food stands. Tacos , tortas ,pizza, quesadillas, gorditas, burgers, ice cream, corn on the cob,soft drinks,Marquesitas,and more. Plenty of benches made it easy to sit and relax and people watch as children drove around in battery powered little cars. There were even some remote controlled kiddie cars for children as young as a year. The plaza is about one long block from the hotel's back door. In between was a small plaza where hippie types sold necklaces, tie dye tee shirts ,incense and such. We have been to over twenty , maybe thirty Mexican cities and this plaza ranks way up there among the most interesting. Would I stay at the Kin Mayab again? Silly question. YES. Where was the pool? I almost hesitated to recommend this hotel fearing that the next time I tried to go there it would be full, but oh well. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. Even our room over the main drag was quiet at night despite the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamiah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for over 20 years. This hotel is our first stop landing in Mexico. Quite clean rooms. Happy helpful staff. Breakfast and lunch served only. Fresh yummy food and smoothies are excellent. Small pool to cool off in. We love this place.

Room Tip: All good. No spa or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veresegyhaz, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Convenient downtown location. Right across the street from the ADO Bus station. Reasonable rates. Friendly staff. Clean. Good restaurant (we ate breakfast, only). Free computer in the lobby. I found nothing to complain about. We got in late and wanted to leave by bus in the morning, so it was perfect for our needs. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 175 in Cancun
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.4 mi away
Suites Gaby Hotel
Suites Gaby Hotel
#102 of 175 in Cancun
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#94 of 175 in Cancun
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 175 in Cancun
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#104 of 175 in Cancun
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kin Mayab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kin Mayab

Property: Kin Mayab
Address: Avenida Tulum No 75 Sm 22 Mza | Centro, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kin Mayab 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kin Mayab, is located in downtown Cancun. Its architecture and traditional mexican style decoration, combined with the staff hospitality, offers the guest a friendly and comfortable ambiance. Pool. Restaurant. Air conditioning. Free WiFi internet. Cable TV. Safe deposit boxes. Private balconies. Travel Agency. Parking. Walking distance from bus station, supermarket, bank, ATM and money exchange. Located in the center of Cancun's main thoroughfare, Tulum Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kin Mayab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kin Mayab Cancun
Kin Mayab Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing