We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort, outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great resort, outstanding staff”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great beach front. Everything is very clean and well maintained. Would definitely recommend this resort. Heidy & Sahllra the waitress at the pool bar were our favorites as they were very kind
We would rate this as one of our best vacations and will more than likely go again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    937
    369
    160
    227
See reviews for
1,111
845
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I just got back home from my vacation in Cancun, Mexico staying in your Resort for a total 8 days. It was an unforgetable experienced because I enjoyed every minute of vacation at your resort. The food was great and most of all the service was great especially your waiters and your hostess were fiendly. I took care of them because I was treated and served well.
I highly recommend to the management or the owner to give credit to every employee who made our stay very happy and satisfied and they are follows; First the people who is running the shows are Arturo, Marisol, Trisha, Dani and Esteban and lastly the people the fed me and served us well are as follows; Arsenio Acuario, Alberto Aguilar,Roberto Soriano, Guadalupe, Gerardo, Carlos, and Hector in the Bar. I don't mind coming back and stay at your resort.
Thank you and I am Mr and Mrs. J. Galang

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Time of our lives! Very close to Cancun action, great beach, outstanding service throughout our stay! Room was more modern than we expected from the pictures and very clean. The grounds were well maintained. Evening dinner shows were surprisingly good. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EkRk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel itself was good, lobby was clean, flower arrangements were nice & the staff in Aquario each morning were very friendly. However, the conceirges were disorganized & handed me off to multiple people when I requested not to have to sit in the shuttle for a 30min drive to Tres Rios & chat with a timeshare salesman. Once I gave in to the pressure of sitting with someone on the property instead, our dinner reservations were not established as I requested two nights in a row. Also she threatened to not reserve a spot for us to take the ferry for the excursion to Isle Mujeres so we could go snorkeling. Ended up going out for dinner off property & paying another resort for a water excursion elsewhere. Beach was great but service was lacking.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms have 18 inch balcony only, street side has full balcony with outdoor furniture, a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Crystal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at the Sunset Royal in a RCI exchange, the room we had was nice ,beautiful ocean view, food was buffet and pricey but good. It would be GREAT if they added an A La Carte restaurant .As a timeshare exchange, I would rate it a four star, but as a hotel only three. Beach is beautiful, but you need to get up early to be able to reserve a shaded area.The Concierge staff that served us was Sandra and, although trying to sell us on a timeshare (we didn't buy), she was very helpful and friendly. All the staff members that we had contact with were very courteous, helpful, and friendly. Eduardo, serving food and drinks at the beach, provided us with absolutely outstanding service! We would be happy to recommend the Sunset to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bzaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

W e stayed there in a RCI exchange the room we had was nice ,beautiful ocean view,food ok ,entertainment was good," the pretty concierges "in the main lobby they're not really helpful ,and they don't smile ..! lack of service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We love staying at Sunset Royal. The beach is so incredibly beautiful! Fabiano was very helpful as our concierge.We thought the staff was friendly and accommodating. We had one mix up in placing a reservation for our meals, but they seated us anyway. Samuel was an exceptional waiter and made our dining an excellent experience. We preferred to order from the menu rather than the buffets in the evening. Several times we had to ask for towels in the room, they were prompt in bringing them and to follow up, but the problem shouldn't have happened. We loved the pool activities. Esteban really does a nice job of getting people involved in volleyball, aerobics, bingo. You can just tell he loves doing his job.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 175 in Cancun
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#57 of 175 in Cancun
2,612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#10 of 134 in Cancun
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#29 of 175 in Cancun
8,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing