We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"YES", BACK TO ROYAL SUNSET...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #51 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald Isle, North Carolina, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"YES", BACK TO ROYAL SUNSET...........”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Spent another 2 weeks vacation just before Christmas and wonderful as usual. Updates regarding and new furniture etc. noted in services /rooms(suites) pool area/lobby and restaurants.....food selections every more desirable if possible
Even though we had to move the second week, it was so smooth and our dear friend, Jesus (front desk) moved all our luggage and personal effects and we just stepped from one suite to another..no worry or stress at all!
A direct thank you and noted of appreciation ( of staff ) to Alberto Aguilar, Hector Zuiluria, Mr. Zallluri, Alexandra Dayren,,Jose Narvaez, Jesus Garcia, Carlos Capitan, Luis Bahena (room service)..
I know I have forgotten names but must say treated so well by all . We always feel like we are coming home by the warm reception....
Will booking soon for another 2 weeks this year. Have decided, with all the unrest in the world, that Royal Sunset is our destination of choice yearly....now!
Blessed to have a resort that we feel at home and safe..
Thank you Royal Sunset...

Room Tip: Ocean side our choice as view of beach etc. just heavenly.. Higher floors, less noisy too>
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    940
    370
    160
    227
See reviews for
1,116
846
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This resort has it all! A fantastic location, with the resort located in the heart of the hotel zone, with easy access to the beach, shops and stores, public and private transportation, and restaurants. Resort staff? They are amongst the most courteous, helpful and professional staff you will meet. They strive to provide first class service. The wide range of resort activities are also provided to entertain the guests of all ages. All in all, this resort offers its guests a very memorable stay with its top location, resort activities, all provided by a very helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Royal Sunset has much to offer. The Ocean, the Pool, the SPA, Good Meals and Wonderful Staff Members. Your day gets off with a breakfast to remember. Why you may ask? It is because of ROSA the Chef in the morning. Dine with Rosa and you will want to return again and again as I have. The fact that it is warm there in January is not to be overlooked.

Room Tip: Be special and stay on the 7th to 9th Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our 5 time staying at Sunset Royal and it was OUTSTANDING as always. The staff are so friendly and helpful The bellboy had such a great attitude from the minute we walked in to the second he said good bye and we look forward to seeing you again.
I could spend a LOT more time there if I could find a job that would let me work from my chair on the beach.
Got a Love the Beach to stay here, because it is RIGHT there and LOTS of it!

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit because YOU are ON the Beach at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This resort, as part of Sunset World, made every effort to make us feel like as a VIP.We experienced such attention to details. The resort stands out among the best value for your money.The staff was always ready to service you.Many thanks to the following employees:
Esteban,Mario,Arturo,Dawy, Guadalope,Jose Naryaez,Rosy,& Luis Tamay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay with us. We are quite lucky to have such a great team. We hope you will come back when your travels bring you to Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our meals in the Capriccio at the Sunset Royal Resort were delicious, made even more so to our delight, because of our waiter, Daniel, who always went out of his way to accommodate our tastes and he introduced us to Mayan Fire Coffee, which his presentation for that was great. Also, he prepared Bananas Flambe with White Chocolate & banana cream that was FABULOUS!! Daniel was a wonderful waiter and for those planning a trip to this resort, I'd be sure to ask to be seated where Daniel will be your waiter!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
How wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a special experience during your stay with us.
We appreciate very much your comments regarding your meals in Capriccio and will certainly pass along your compliments to Daniel.

We hope we will be able to be your property of choice when you are in Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just got back from our 15th trip to Cancun, 9 or 10 of which were spent at Royal Sunset. We are always greeted enthusiastically when we arrive by Orbe and Jesus, who call us by name (and nicknames they have for us!). Our first night, which was not the main check in day, our room was not exactly what we had reserved, but we were moved the next day into a beautiful corner suite. Every morning, we were greeted at the coffee lounge, and we would make our way down to breakfast to see beautiful Rosa! Her smile when she sees us is like that of a dear friend! The first day, my daughter asked for Skim milk for her cereal. They did not have any, but the next morning, Guadalupe had a carton for her as she walked in. He kept the milk for her and brought it to her every morning, even if he was not her server that time!. We had fun with Marisol around the pool, and got a workout doing water aerobics. Angel took excellent care of us in the dining room, Ricardo in the buffet, and Jose, wonderful Jose, in the Atrium for our lobster dinner, presented with a couple of "extras" that weren't even on the menu!
We enjoyed the entertainment, especially the Michael Jackson show. As always, seeing Arturo, my Cancun "boyfriend", makes me smile. He is so fun, making jokes with my family, and seems to really "love his job". Had to also go see our friend, Ivan at Sunset Lagoon, and have lunch with Rudy.
Can't wait to go back!! Probably in the fall...till then....

Room Tip: Most people want ocean view, but Lagoon view is just as nice, if not nicer. You also get a bigger ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlnDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments. We are so glad to read that our great staff made an impression on your stay.

Comments like yours, that specifically state what made your stay so enjoyabe and the mentioning of every staff member who made possible that your vacation was as memorable as it can be, are always welcome with great enthusiasm by the entire team.


We trust you had a comfortable trip home and we all look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 175 in Cancun
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#59 of 175 in Cancun
2,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#9 of 135 in Cancun
101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#29 of 175 in Cancun
8,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing