We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to WINTER in Baltimore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I have the best time. The staff was very pleasant. Having morning coffee with Roberto, breakfast with Rosa, lunch with Juan and dinner with Felipe. Not to forget the many others like Monica, Cesar, Alberto, Enrique, etc. THANKS FOR MAKING OUR STAY THERE WONDERFUL.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingHOLTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We thank you for choosing Sunset Royal for your vacation.

Thank you for your kind words! It was my pleasure to share your positive experience with our team. They truly appreciate hearing from satisfied guests like you, and we all look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 3,389 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

Found this resort to be below average in its amenities, only one shallow kids pool, not enough lounges/chairs for the number of guests. Towels were on every lounger around the pool and the beach almost everyday, yet many,many were empty of vacationers. The bar beside the pool was too small and lineups were long. Only two sit down restaurants in the building with the buffet in a tackey tent like structure, down a rocky walkway and stairs. Upon arrival it was reported to the concierge that there was no table top on the balcony table, just the wrought iron frame. We reported this 3 days in a row, but no one showed up all week. The full garbage container under the kitchen sink was not removed for 2 1/2 days. We packaged it up and used a plastic bag we had brought to replace it. We reported a leak in the bathroom ceiling, and although someone came and looked at it three days in a row, it was still leaking the day of our departure. Food was okay, usually a fair but not great menu selection and the usual buffet fare is traditionally not above a tepid temperature. The spa massage rooms face the hotel rooms and was quite shocked to see after leaving the massage table (nude) to look up and see not only a man standing at his window looking right into the massage room, plus a man on a stationery bike in the gym area looking down into the massage room. The huge upper transom area should be covered in an opaque covering at the very least... The spa staff are excellent, especially Mary and Pattie who provide a wonderful massage and facial. The service staff working at this resort are very courteous and friendly and should be commended, as they probably sustain the existence of this very tired, average resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhines E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that you were able to experience the services and regional treatments inspired by the natural healing practices of the indigenous Mayan Indians at our Ya´ax Ché Spa.

We certainly appreciate all feedback since it allows us the opportunity to continuously improve. We regret if we fell short of your expectations; that is certainly not the service we strive to provide.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Cancun and offer you a better vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I enjoyed my time there, but I have stayed in better accommodations. The hotel staff was great. The Mexican people are always very eager to please, friendly, and helpful. This particular hotel lacked some of the ammenities that other hotels offer. I thought the food was good most of the time, but not great. The bar was way too small and it sometimes took too long to get a drink. There was no pool bar, no happy hour with snacks, and the entertainment was somewhat sparse. I actually had a hard time finding a place to sit during the really nice sunny dates...either around the pool or at the beach. The beach itself was really nice and the waves were awesome. There wasn't enough variety in the menus at the Italian, Mexican, and Asian a la carte restaurants. Breakfasts were really good. Guadalupe and Robert were awesome hosts and gave great service. The beds were not very good...very soft mattress and pillows...didn't sleep well.

Room Tip: Location and size are key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate that you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts of our dedicated team. We value all guests’ feedback as an opportunity to continue improving our services and products for our guests.

We thank you for having chosen Sunset Royal for your recent Mexican vacation and we trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We spent a week at the Royal Sunset on an exchange through RCI. We loved the fact that purchasing the all-inclusive is not required. We had a studio unit with a nice kitchenette and were able to cook many of our own meals. The pool is fairly small and not heated, but the whirlpool tubs outside the spa were wonderful in the evening and the beach is amazing, with a shallow entry that is even good for kids! Bonus: even though we were not on the all-inclusive plan, every evening about 5:00 there would be a knock on the door and they were delivering dessert- something different every day! What a treat!

Room Tip: We had a corner unit and were able to see the Caribbean and the lagoon both from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our main goal is to meet our guests’ expectations, and to read that you had a nice time is a good sign that we are doing a good job and have to continue making an effort to keep up with it and even improve day after day.

Thank you for having chosen Sunset Royal for your RCI vacation and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cancun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I have been coming to this lovely resort, for two weeks in January for the past eighteen years. The climate is perfect in January, we see so many of the same lovely guest, from previous years and the wonderful workers, all whom have become such dear friends. It feels like coming home!

Recarddo, from Room Service is just fantastic! He is so personable remembering our names, year after year, he knows what we like to eat, our room number, and he is always asking what he can do for us, extremely friendly and caring. The best way to start his morning my husband says, is with Rosa! My husband loves Rosa, she makes his huge delicious breakfast omelett, always knowing just how he likes it, and serves it with the biggest smile! Sahira at the Snack Bar, is a gem, she is always working, cleaning up the pool deck, and getting food, or drinks for the many people who sit at the pool, or on the beach. She calls you by name, remembers what you are drinking, and never forgets where you are sitting, an extremely hard worker. Hector at the Lobby Bar is fantastic! He can make any drink, knows us by name, never forgets what we are drinking, and is so enjoyable to talk too. Robert Acuario, is adorable! Robert would stop, and ask how we were doing every time he saw us, or if we needed anything to please let him know, he was always at hand if we need anything, a kind, caring, and responsible young man. A big asset to the resort.

We always ask for the first floor, and they always accommodate us. The rooms are cleaned daily, with the beds being made, and clean towels delivered. Snacks, water, soda, and beer are put in the refrigerator every day. These workers I never see, or meet, because I am out enjoying the beautiful day, also do a wonderful job.

Beaches, Pool Deck, Bathrooms, Bar are always being cleaned, by some hard workers, all day long. Sunset Royal is in walking distance too so much night life, shopping, and restaurants, its the ideal location, no matter what age you are! Walking on the beautiful beach with the aqua blue ocean waves, goes on forever, in either direction.

The only negative thing I can say is I wish they would heat the swimming pool.

We will happily continue to go to Sunset Royal Beach Resort for years to come, we love it...its home...its family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your generous review. We are pleased to know that we are able to meet your expectations on your annual visits to "your home away from home". We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We appreciate the opportunity to make your vacation as special as we can and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

These are the names that deserve all the tips and extra loving:
Our #1 servers: JORGE, ODET, ARSENYO, and ALBERTO.
Their service is the BEST! As soon as we walked in the resort all we received was warm welcoming and amazing service. There's really no bad things to say about the people that work there. They work hard all day and still manage to keep their happy face on. And they're also all genuine with their kindness. I fell in Iove with the place but even more with the people. The best kind of people to surround yourself for a week.

Environment: I would say Sunset Royal Resort has the BEST ocean view compare to other ones we've visited around the area. Like I said it was our first vacation to this kind of place, so we were left speechless when we saw the color of the ocean. It was beautiful.

Food and Drink: Amazing food and drink selections! I recommend their BURGER in the "snack area" BEST TASTING BURGER EVER! SO ADDICTING!

Room Attendants: I forgot their names but it was 2 guys and they're both kind and great with their cleaning skills.

Activities: Went to Isla Mujeres, Jungle tour, and Hacienda Tres Rios. Amazing places and all great scenery!

Timeshare: our guy was JOSELITO "papi" if you didn't get him? You missed out! Best "fisher" ever. He got us and we don't regret it. Such a funny person and intelligent. We learned a lot from him not only about the country but also, the United States and other countries. Thank you.

Overall: Thank you for having us. It was our pleasure being in your resort. We hope to come back soon. Much love from bringas family and friends!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BringasFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you very much for choosing Sunset Royla for your first visit to Cancun as well as for writing your kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food, the activities and especially de service provided by our valued team. We will be happy to share your kind compliments with them.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back and be able to offer you our Mexican hospitality again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We are members of the Sunset Group, but have never actually stayed at the Royal. Typically we have stayed at the Lagoon and visited the beach at Royal or stayed at the Fisherman in Playacar, which is our home base. We decided to again celebrate New Years in Cancun and try out the Royal. We stayed there from Dec 28 2013 through Jan 4 2014. In my opinion, the whole Sunset Resort experience has really improved over the years. Food is much better and the service is getting there. The entertainment was astonishingly great and the theme nights keep it interesting. We had a super time at the New Year's Eve party although you did have to pay an additional $40 for that event. Well worth the money. The next day there were some fun activities around the pool like the hangover cart and coconuts opened at pool side and filled with some 'hair of the dog'. It is still not as luxurious as a palace resort, but then it doesn't need to be. A fun experience and a great place to start the New Year.

Room Tip: of course if you can get a room facing the ocean that is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Gerente at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your delightful review, we really appreciate your loyalty to Sunset Group, you make us feel so proud hearing your comments about your recent stay at Sunset Royal.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay every time you have visited, our main goal is to meet our guests’ expectations, and to read that you even have a nicer time is a good sign that we are doing a good job,

We look forward to welcoming you back for other great vacation and we will make our best to make your stay the best experience once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#50 of 177 in Cancun
3,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
4.2 mi away
The Royal Islander All Suites Resort
1.9 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#41 of 177 in Cancun
5,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $198 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing