We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Pleasant experience for a short vacation"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #51 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Daly City, California
1 review
“"Pleasant experience for a short vacation"”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is our first time in Cancun, MX. We had a great and wonderful experience in contrast to what other people say about MX. I think it depends where you go in Mexico. Overall, the people were so nice, respectable, very pleasant. The food was great, service was número UNO! We will visit again in the near future. We enjoyed 3 hotels, Sunset Royal, Sunset Lagoon and Ocean Spa. These people, Eduardo, Miguel, Alex, Francisco, Josue, Miguel Damian were so nice. They always have a smile on their face and willing to assist anytime. The servers by the pool and at the Spa, especially, Diana and Jean from SunsetRoyal were so helpful. I was late for 15 mins and it was not a problem. The yacht ride was impeccable, amazing view, the deep blue color of the ocean, the music, drinks and food..... Fabuloso! Bello! Viva Cancun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itongol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review.

We are thrilled to read that you had a great experience at the hotel. Many of our guests enjoy the service we provide our valued guests and we are happy to know that you were able to visit sister properties.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    919
    360
    158
    222
See reviews for
1,061
829
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a 2 (1)bedroom suite. We took another couple with us. Their room wasn,t as nice as ours, couldn't get it to cool down, and no blow dryerin her bathroom. We enjoyed having breakfast served in our rooms.We want to thank Angel Rivera, he took extra special care of us. He was very professional, and funny! He made us laugh so hard, we were crying. He is top notch. The bartenders Michael and Juvia were awesome as well . Food was great and so was the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in one of the bigger suites. The room is very nice and comfortable with an amazing ocean view. The food is average but the service is GREAT. Guadalupe was always very attentive! He and Ever the server by the pool and beach work very hard and are very happy to make sure you know you're on vacation!

The boat ride to the Lagoon was great BUT crossing the street was SCARY! Can we get a light placed there? A crossing guard? A speed bump? Just a suggestion :)

Overall we had a great vacation and look forward to going back.. Hopefully to find a light to cross the street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are delighted to read your comments following your stay at Sunset Royal.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be happy to share your kind compliments with Guadalupe and Ever.

We appreciate you feedback and would like you to know that we do have a crossing guard and we are certainly considering your recommendations.

We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

we have returned from another week a Royal Sunset. The staff there make you feel like you are part of their family. Service was excelent,they always make you feel welcome and there is never a shortage of smiles. Marisole and the entertainment staff were so helpful with our special needs daughter.

Room Tip: as for ocean side view when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are very happy to read that you felt at home and comfortable in the hotel and that the service we provided met your expectations.

Please do come and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The staff is very friendly. Karina at concierge is the BEST> Extremely helpful. The rooms are pretty clean but outdated. The KING bed was uncomfortable and lumpy. The shower floor tile is super slippery. I was constantly afraid my kids would slip and hurt themselves. The activities are not many but what was available was fun. I am a member, not sure if it makes a difference. They have a Mexican Welcome Members night with Mariachi and buffet. Circus night for the kids which was really nice. Food: Breakfast & Lunch are buffet. Good but after one week of being there it gets old. They do have a nice and delicious snack bar that serves burgers, hotdogs and awesome Nachos. They also have a taquiza from 12-2pm. It is very well situated. Very close to downtown and shops, walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfig18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us.

We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay, the location and that you found most of the services you received to your expectations.

It is a pleasure to have you as a member and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our vacation at the Sunset Royal Resort was so much fun! Our rooms were clean and beautiful, and the staff was just great! I got to meet some wonderful people from Mexico and all over the world. The view from our room was spectacular, it overlooked the ocean and the pool. We were offered great gifts and I even got to go snorkeling on a boat in the ocean, it was fantastic. We got to shop, play games, karaoke and swim and take morning walks right on the beautiful beach. Oh, and we got fantastic massages, and another trip to come back and stay longer. Thanks Sunset Royal for a memorable wonderful vacation, see you soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebrina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your generous comments about the service and facilities here at the Hotel and we have shared them with our team. It really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a stay as much as you did and we are glad we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be as memorable as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We just returned after 8 days at Royal sunset. The beach was beautiful, pool was nice, staff was great. The 90 min presentation was horrid. Turned into like 6 hrs wasted time of mosquito bites and sweating horribly. Then the dude got pissed off at us because we didnt buy which we told him at very beginning we didnt even want to go. You pay 105.00 if you refuse to go. Our room was cleaned everyday which I loved. We were on 1st floor right beside the pool so no waiting for elevators. I drank margaritas everyday and never even got a buzz. Stick with the beer. Very close to shopping malls. My son who is 6 had a blast in the pool and decorating cookies and playing bingo. You get what ya pay for. Mary gives great massages also

Room Tip: higher floors are for owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are delighted how much you enjoyed your stay. Your words are so kind and I can assure you that they have given the entire team a great boost.

We are pleased that we lived up to your expectations following on from the experiences of other TripAdvisor reviewers and we hope it is not too long before we have the privilege and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ocean Dream
Ocean Dream
#85 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#61 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Caribe Resort
Gran Caribe Resort
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Natura
Hostel Natura
#11 of 127 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Property: Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing