We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoying Sales, Money Hungry and Sub-Par Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sunset Royal was a poor experience as a first-time visitor. I joined a large group on this trip and we were known by the staff as "la familia grande." The benefit of having a large group is that you get placed into several rooms at different floors. As a group, we soon learned of the hotel's discrepancies and unequal treatment.

As being members of sunset world, we were treated differently according to your room number. For example, floors 2-7 are regular floors without renovation, while floors 8 and 9 have been renovated since the last major hurricane. Instead of renovating all floors so all guests can experience the same quality, the hotel appeared to have designated the renovated floors as "Premier Select". I noticed that these select floors were primarily offered to potential timeshare buyers. This was an obvious sales tactic to give the false impression of the overall quality of the hotel. Rooms on the other floors were badly in need of renovation. The members in our group did not get assigned to any of these renovated rooms rather just the non-members in our group who were assigned to a couple of suites since front desk believed they may consider membership.

The hotel will wine and dine these potential buyers but forget about the treatment of existing members. Our group did not receive equal treatment as other guests staying at the hotel. That was obvious. What happened to the quality? who knows. The hotel is obviously after the US and European money. They didnt get my money, thank goodness. The people would arrive to register, and the sales staff would see opportunistic dollar signs. All the sales tactics in the lobby were annoying and distracting. We are on vacation; worry about taking care of us not getting into our pocketbooks.

The amenities were subpar. The only thing going for this hotel is the beach location. Next door is le blanc and that looked like a nice hotel, not the sunset royal. The following are features of the hotel that were unsatisfactory:

We were greeted by a baby roach near the jet soaking tub. Nice touch. Should consider pest control throughout hotel for those critters.

The hallways would smell like wet laundry. The humidity in the air didn't help the cause.

One of the bellman at the lobby was creepy, since he appeared to be attracted to small children in a weird way. Be vigilant.

The drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were definitely watered down. This is a sign of frugality and lesser quality.

Waiters would talk about the guests who didn't leave tips at tables. We heard and understood them. The fact that they expected tips was annoying. The overall staff appeared unfriendly most of the time. This is a sign of poor management and poor training of staff.

The shows were subpar. We were in Mexico, and the best the hotel could hire is a four-man group of mariachis for a welcoming dinner that seated roughly 300 guests. That is pretty pathetic and the sound was very low par. The MC spent most of the time asking each guest in the audience where they were from and having guests volunteer in a drinking game on stage. This was a sign of frugality and poor planning by the events staff.

Many more to mention but you get the idea. The hotel has declined in quality rapidly since 2005 according to first-hand knowledge of members in our group who have visited cancun several times.

All I have to say is don't be duped into timeshare purchases at sunset royal, enjoy the beach location, but consider somewhere else.

peace out. Any rebuttal mgmt from sunset royal?

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank rg63191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience.

At Royal Sunset we do not have a policy of differentiating our guests. We regret hearing this is how you felt and have spoken to each of the areas you report.

We thank you for brining these issues to our attention. We would like you to know that we are constantly improving our procedures in order to serve our guests more efficiently. We appreciate all feedback as a powerful tool to assist us in our continuous efforts in service improvements. All failings are thoroughly investigated and acted upon to avoid repetition.

I do hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 3,500 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place may look okay but it's the worst I've been treated at any hotel. The staff is extremely rude here. We would go to the restaurant every morning and not once did we get a good morning or how are you today from the hostess. On one of the days we sat by the pool and after a couple of hours I had to ask a waitress if we could order drinks being that meanwhile the table right next to us had been serviced a few times. They even denied us food at one point.
The food is mediocre and the alcohol is watered down. Even the "fancy/formal" dinners we attended there were 3 star at the most.
Overall, okay looking place(except for the cockroaches) but incredibly terrible staff. 3.5 stars is 3 stars too much.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CIsaacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We've returned to Sunset Royal annually for six years. Reasons: gorgeous location on the ocean, superior service, excellent food, and comfortable facilities. The high quality of the service begins with David Barcenas and his staff. Dining in either of the two restaurants is an enjoyable experience, thanks to the quality service of all the staff, especially Guadalupe, Angel Rivera, Alberto Martinez, Cassu (Carlos), Camarista, Maria, and Luis. Ricardo and Roberto in the Sky Lounge make visiting there a delightful experience, thanks to their friendliness and helpfulness. The staff at the front desk are efficient and helpful. Jesus and the bell-hops provide prompt, courteous, and friendly service. The staff on the beach level are ever-present, helpful, and efficient. Sunset Royal's notable strength is the quality of its entire staff. The only shortfall is the limited selection of wines and liquors.
There is one negative in the total experience-- the high pressure sales/update presentations. If anything turns off the first-time customer and the returning members, it is the high-pressure tactics of the sales personnel, which sometimes includes the concierge personnel. It is such an unpleasant experience that we refuse to attend, in spite of the attractive bonuses offered for attendance.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

The best recommendation of all is a returning guest!

Thank you for your kind and thorough review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed the level of service provided by our great staff.

We value your feedback on the sales presentation, which will be shared with our team.

We trust you had a comfortable trip home and we all look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Sunset Royal is the BEST place to stay at when you are in Cancun, Mexico. When you first arrive they give you a warm welcome with drinks and brunch. Staff is always available to help you out in anything you need.
The Beach area staff is AMAZING!!! I stayed in December and it was the perfect time of the year. One of the Beach staff server's name is Miguel and he is AMAZING!!! He is always on his toes, friendly and quick to get you what you want.
I ate at one of the restaurants every night with the same server. He made me special deserts and cafe de hoya(coffee with sugar and cinnamon) every night. One night I was wanting mashed potatoes and he surprised me with making some for me. He is another AMAZING staff member there!!!
Room service is also AMAZING and recommend it when you don't want to leave your room. The portions are huge and filling!
I really recommend this resort to whoever hasn't gone to Cancun, Mexico and has been wanting to go. This resort is right on the beach.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room over looking the ocean. All rooms have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I found the hotel to be in a perfect location with a great beach! But most of all it was the people who work there who made my stay great! Sol Padilla with her charm and energy is the best at what she does! She is full of life and made sure that we made the most of our experience there.......Love her!!! Also, Michael and Lluvia at the lobby bar were awesome! I can't thank them enough for their service and terrific personalities. Thank you again to all of you at The Sunset Royal Resort!!! Chris Noteboom

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The resort was very nice and very updated. But what made it the best was the pool side service we received from Mr Ever for the days we were there. He was very attentive, He was very gracious and professional. We made sure we laid out in the area he was working. He remembered what we were drinking and how we liked them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our first time in cancun we were a large group. 4 o us stayed at the Sunset the rest at the Mayan Palace in the Riviera Maya. My room was fine but my parents room smelled like mildew and the a/c wasn't working properly. We had an all inclusive deal that I got on cheap tickets which was $1670.00 USD per couple. Pretty cheap for cancun but kinda not worth it. They have different amenities they offer ONLY to "members" of their residential club. Which means if you are not a member you do not get: to practice yoga on the private deck, no gym, no shade on the private beach, etc. the food is so so. The best part was not paying for the alcohol while we were there. I LOVED cancun and will be back, but I'll pay a little extra to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel5787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sunset Royal for your first visit to Cancun and for taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor followers.

We regret to read about the inconviniences you had and we can assure you that corrective actios were taken immediately.

We trust that you will give us another opportunity to show you the true level of service we strive to give each and every guest and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.9 mi away
Laguna Suites Golf & Spa
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#50 of 177 in Cancun
3,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#71 of 177 in Cancun
5,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe
0.7 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $186 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing