We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the Price - All Inclusive is a MUST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Royal Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Service is friendly and there are a variety of activities and restaurants on-site. Access to the sister resort in the Marina is also included, free of charge, which is a free ride to to opposite side of the hotel zone. Take it instead of the bus, although the bus is an experience all it's own.

Room Tip: Get something higher than the 2nd floor, unless you don't care about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience.

We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, your experience in sister hotels and that you were treated with the unmatched Guest Service we strive to provide all of our guests.

We all look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,367 - 1,373 of 3,179 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

One of the wonderful features of this resort, beyond the excellent location on the beautiful beach, is the staff. Services upon our arrival were outstanding. Jesus warmly greeted us as we stepped from the van and proved himself a valuable resource throughout the length of our stay. Waiters like Francisco, Guadalupe, Alberto, and Kenedi went out of their way to provide personal service during the many good meals we enjoyed in Sunset's varied dining facilities. All of our requests during our 3 week stay were quickly and efficiently handled by responsive Sunset personnel.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are somewhat noisy during the day from all the activities taking place. The beds in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_R876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is always great to receive positive comments and we are glad that our team was able to provide you with that personalized service. We will be sure to share your comments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I can't say enough about how relaxed and welcomed I was made to feel by virtually all of the staff. From Marisol, who taught cooking classes, Eddy,who strived to make Spanish easy to understand, to Roberto who graciously greeted me each morning in the sky lounge with repeated refills. . . The list goes on and on. I enjoyed the many daytime activities provided and the evenings in the tent were quite entertaining. And the next time I visit I will be certain to ask for Masi, who gives a great massage.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sunset Royal and for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind comments about our team, who always strive to deliver the authentic meaning of Mexican hospitality. We are very glad that they made your experience in Cancun a memorable one.
Please come back and see us very soon and stay in touch through facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I enjoyed staying here. There are many things to do in and out of the hotel for people of all ages. I would recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to relax and have an enjoyable vacation. I would also recommend the people of the hotel like Marisol, Elvira, Arturo, Natalia, and Edy.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corii22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Feedback is very important for us and we are delighted to hear that we fulfilled your expectations. We will make sure to share your kind compliments with our team and we thank you on their behalf.

We do hope to welcome you back soon. Please remember to follow us on facebook for updated resort and destination information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The workers were great , good entertainment ! I would recommend marisol , edy , Natalia , elvira , and arturo, they were helpful and friendly it shows that they actual care about their job , and the clients as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodriguez620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great vacation! Wonderful service! Best waiters Angel and Guadalupe! Food, service and accomadations were fantastic! Highly recommend staying on floors 8 & 9, rooms are updated and clean. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floors for update rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeelerFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be gracious and professional. We will share your kind comments with Angel and Guadalupe.

We are looking forward to your return visit to Cancun and please stay in touch with us via facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our third time coming to this resort and year after year, we ALWAYS want to come back & there are so many reasons why. First, I want to start by saying we are not members and were treated like royalty, so do not be hesitant about going here for that reason

Hotel- The actual hotel is beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. They recently remodeled.

Location- Walking distance to the clubs,market, and action but not too close that you can hear it from the hotel, so the location is perfect

Beach & Pool- The beach is gorgeous in Cancun, and the hotel lifeguard was very friendly and always on duty. The pool is also very nice with activities going on in the day. There are waiters who serve by both who are wonderful.

Food- There's a grill by the pool, 2 restaurants inside, and 1 buffet/show outside. Breakfast at Aquario was AMAZING!! They would make omelettes any way you like and the waiters always made sure our favorites were waiting for us at the table! Dinner was a la cart and had many options, same as room service.

Activities- We participated in salasa lessons, cocktail lessons, fly-boarding, and an excursion with the dolphins (set up through the resort). There really is something for everyone. We're a young couple but we also saw other activities that the older crowd had fun doing

Suggestions- Although we were able to find something we liked on the menu each night for dinner, I would suggest trying to look at new options and expanding the menu a little at the restaurants (dinner) & room service. Although everything else goes beyond making up for this, and we still highly enjoyed our meals, this is the only area we see that could use a little improvement.

The Staff- Now for the BEST part. The staff here truly is the biggest reason we go back every year. They are an asset to the hotel and made our stay more than amazing. They always are smiling and help any way they can. We would like to point out the staff that stood out to us in their outstanding service.
Ceasar & Faustino (front desk)- They remembered and welcomed us with smiles when we walked in. There were some issues with our reservation at first, but these two made our check-in very smooth and pleasant. They were so patient the entire time. Ceasar who continued to help us throughout our stay always ensured our requests were immediately attended to and we had all we needed
Araceli (VIP concierge)- Also smiling and very welcoming, Araceli made sure anything we wanted to go out and do went very smoothly. She always checked in with us after to see if we had a good time and made our dinner reservations.
Dario & Sahira (snack bar & beach/pool)- These waiters truly went above and beyond to make sure we got what we we ordered and in a timely manner, even if it was a special request. They never made us feel bad about asking for things by the beach and gave us great service. Dario remembered our usual and always offered it to us along with anything else we might like
Guadalupe (breakfast Aquario)- Every morning Guadalupe greeted us and had our usual favorites waiting for us at our table. This gesture was a sweet beginning to our days and we truly appreciated his thoughtfulness.
Michael (lobby bar)- Michael also greeted us & remembered our favorites and was always suggesting new drinks we might like. Always smiling and never annoyed, he refilled and refilled our drinks happily till it was time to go out, which leads us too...
Mariso & Alex (entertainment)- last but definitely not least, we became close friends with these two and they made our trip AMAZING! Every night, we got the best tables in the club and they made sure the waiter kept the drinks pouring. More than just people who bought our tickets, Marisol ALWAYS stayed with us and partied with us, making our nights so memorable.

We want to thank all of you for making our vacation so wonderful. We genuinely feel like you are more thank just staff, you are friends & hope to see you again next year!

Your friends,
Jeffrey Taborda & Jessica Aroose

Room Tip: Try to stay above the 2nd floor. Although those rooms are still nice, it's nice to be away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were treated with the unmatched Guest Service we strive to provide all of our guests.

Our passion to deliver above and beyond our guest’s expectations throughout your vacation is what we pride ourselves on. we look forward to your return visit to Royal Sunset your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
2.9 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#50 of 177 in Cancun
2,891 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krystal Grand Punta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Suites Golf & Spa
1.9 mi away
Occidental Tucancun
Occidental Tucancun
#41 of 177 in Cancun
5,469 reviews
0.8 mi away
Presidente InterContinental Cancun Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Royal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Royal Beach Resort

Address: Blvd. Kukulkan Km. 10 | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly Sunset Royal Cancun Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Cancun
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $158 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Royal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Royal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cancun Hotel
Sunset Royal Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Resort Cancun
Sunset Royal Resort Cancun
Royal Sunset Hotel Cancun
Royal Sunset Cancun Mexico
Sunset Royal Cancun Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing