We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at Laguna Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laguna Suites Golf & Spa
Ranked #32 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Our family just spent a wonderful week at Laguna Suites. The service was outstanding. We were picked up at the airport, and taken to the hotel, where the conierge, Maritza, welcomed us. We were given beverages when we arrived, and Martiza took about 15 minutes to tell us what to expect. Our room was nice, but not particularly fancy. It was very clean, but could be improved by adding a clock-radio, and putting in a refrigerator and microwave. There weren't very many English channels on the TV, but that was OK. It would have been nice to have a 2nd TV in the first room, so adults can watch after kids are in bed, without waking them up from the noise.

The restaurant was very good. The food was tasty, service was excellent. We were not on the all-inclusive plan, so we tried to limit our meals in restaurants. Prices were high, but the food was good. The servers were very friendly, spoke English well.

The pool was very nice, but a bit chilly. I imagine the water will warm up as the weather warms up.

The required sales presentation wasn't bad. We've looked at a number of timeshsare presentations through the years, and this was the most professional we've sat through. Guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and spoke English quite well. Go into the presentation knowing it will not be 90 minutes like you're told. Ours took almost 3 hours. But if you know this in advance, and are expecting it, it's not too bad. We were willing to give them 3 hours of our time in exchange for a free week in Cancun.

The other two sister properties are very nice, and are available to Laguna guests. Sunset Lagoon is on the lagoon side, features a number of activities that are great for families. We enjoyed the hot tub on the edge of the lagoon. From Sunset, the water taxi takes you to Royal Sunset Hotel on the ocean side. Great beach, wonderful sand, beautiful blue water.

In all, a great week. Thanks, Laguna staff, for all you did.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elgallo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2009

Our family (mom, dad, three sons, two daughters and sons' three girlfriends) has just returned from probably the most fabulous, fun-filled family vacation ever and would head back to Laguna Suites Golf and Spa--their amazing swim up bar, attentive staff, fabulous a la carte dining and, because of the way the rooms nestle the pool, the sense you almost have the whole resort to yourself--in a heartbeat!

As noted in other reviews, Laguna Suites is connected with several other resorts (Sunset Royal, Sunset Lagoon and, the just renovated and re-opened Ocean Spa Hotel) and a quick bus or boat shuttle gets you to the other resorts with their plethora of activities and additional restaurant choices. All 10 of us, however, were extremely glad that we had chosen Laguna Suites as our "home away from home" during our week's vacation. The two rooms we had booked were clean, spacious and kept up well (minor problems with a plugged toilet and stuck air conditioner were attended too immediately) but it was the friendliness/attentiveness of the staff and the general peaceful ambiance of the resort that most captured us.

Yes, we totally enjoyed heading over to the Royal to jump in the amazing turquoise surf or spending a wonderful afternoon on the beach volleyball court at the Ocean (great activity director there . . . reffed our game for us and joined in to balance out the teams as well) but for restfulness, great poolside music, amazing bartenders and servers (not sure it is o.k. that your 13 year old has a favorite bartender . . . but at least she was drinking virgin margaritas) and a wonderful a la carte selection of fresh entrees, none of the other resorts came close to the Laguna Suites. Because of a couple of our kids' favourite meal choices, I think the restaurant served a record amount of chicken fajitas the week we were there but everything we ordered--tortilla soup, eggs the way you like it, hand made burgers and the fabulous 4 course New Year's Eve meal we were served--was flavourful, fresh and artistically presented.

By the end of the week, as the staff got to know our kids and the girlfriends (aged 13-24), they were simply bringing out the kids' favourite drinks and smoothies (fresh coconut juice or pineapple fruit smoothies . . . in a fruit-faced pineapple shell anyone?) or even coming up with concoctions they thought the kids might enjoy. Starting the day with the resort's "green" drink needs to be experienced as well. As a nutritionist I totally appreciated the extra shot of phytochemicals the kids were getting with their breakfast beverage.

The day we left the resort early for a day long private catamaran rental (booked at the Ocean beach hut . . . absolutely fabulous day of snorkeling, exploring, jumping off the deck into pristine and crystal clear water), staff packed us box lunches (and readily accommodated the family member that has a gluten intolerance)--maybe they were simply glad to have a day's respite from our rather large family group--but that never showed in their smiles or graciousness.

We decided not to book the lobster dinner that was available to us but spent plenty of time at the Italian restaurant at the Ocean instead. Rodolfo, our favourite attentive and fun server there (he trained our kids in at least 101 ways to fold a napkin) just added to the experience of enjoying amazingly elegant and delicious Italian dishes. The Ocean's beach buffet was also well worth attending. With white under-lit table cloths and draped chairs, white rose centerpieces, and tall white light pillars surrounding the dance floor, we seriously though we were crashing a wedding reception. But no, just a little soirée for resort guests. The buffet food was delicious and unique (i.e. chicken kabobs, artichoke and melon salad) and once we'd had our fill, we took over the little dance floor (not a difficult task with 10 of us) and the dj played all the songs he'd overheard us discussing. From all the video cameras being hauled out around us, we figure our family version of the Electric Slide will be being shown on a few other family's "how we spent our winter holiday" evenings.

Any downsides to the trip? The odd (and I do mean odd) overly drunken tourist on the shuttle, the motor on our first catamaran rental dieing before we got out of the bay, and did my husband and I totally love our time-share presentation experience? Not really, but our salesman was pleasant, funny (did a stint as a stand up comedian) and not too pushy. The follow-up sales crew were a little more adamant but we were out of there (with our $$ and our sanity) by noon as we'd hoped and had spelled out for them. Attitude really is everything in situations like this, so you might as well choose a good one.

And was the morning spent at the presentation worth the great deal we'd got for the resort stay. . . absolutely. I figure if you can take the widely ranging ages of family members with their widely ranging areas of interest that we did on a vacation and have everyone coming home with huge grins on their nicely tanned faces, you have had yourself one heck of a vacation! We're already planning for our next one!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank earthmamaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

What can we say? We totally lived on these reviews before leaving home as we are a family of 5 with kids ranging from 3-11 years and nervous to say the least. We had booked using a corporate fax that came to my work and dealt at first with a company in Florida for our inital bookings. This along with the TIME SHARE presentation was absolutely the only 2 major disappointments of our whole trip. Once we began dealing with a company in Cancun directly (Melissa Ramirez, Courtney... we couldn't have survived without you!) we were on a path to the best trip we've experienced and our kids will talk about for a long time to come. Laguna Suites is a hotel in a different country. It is not your home. As a traveller you may want to prepare yourselves for that. Your coffee may be not as it was at your house, your food will be somewhat different at times as well. This, is a cultural experience. If someone wakes you up by there labour intensive jobs while you are laying in bed, please try to forgive them. They are earning a living. If someone charges you for something you have requested, keep in mind that they are working in a business that is swallowed by 100 other businesses competing in a place that is hugely dominated by the tourism industry. Going into a place being prepared for anything, expecting anything and being appreciative for what you receive and for what someone has done for you in the end.... you can only be walking away more than content. At Laguna Suites it was our haven. The kids loved the Sunset Lagoon for it's pool, volleyball,
(Ceasar, HE-LL-O!!) and all of the fun, as did we, and of course the Sunset Royal had THE BEACH which was fabulous. But what could compare to coming home from a busy day to candle lights, spa "pan flute" music, serenity and friendly, smiling, familiar faces to provide you with whatever you needed before you head off to bed. The exchange rate was the BEST we had found anywhere, although they could only change small amounts at a time. For tours we asked for boxed lunches and they were brought to our door within minutes to take along, delicious sandwiches, waters for all and enough fresh fruit for the day. It was like having many sets of "grandparents" everywhere we turned. The kids were spoiled to say the least. Total thumbs down to the pushiest, most guilt ridden, timely (of course), intimidating time share presentation we had ever experienced. After saying no to our guide, then having to repeat that to his manager, then HIS manager, then shuffled to a room for the "survey" crew to try once more.....left a sour note to say the least. Other than that, we miss you already! To the restaurant staff who work tirelessly and always had a smile and the maids who even tucked in my little girls bears under the covers when making their beds every day... we would come back in an instant. Until then we will push through our -45C weather until we see you again my friends!!! Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cit2Blvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We selected this Hotel because we were contacted by a "time share group, that isn't really supposed to be a timeshare company", and they recommended this place. First off, the rooms are OK, they missed stuff like a clock or radio, couch was the most uncomfortable thing to sit in, there was only a tv in the bedroom side, no bathtub, other then that it was a very nclean place. Our first room we could hear construction at 7 in the morning, so they moved us to the other room, and, well, we could hear them wheel the carts at 7 in the morning and at 11 at night, so much for being able to get some well needed zzzzs at anytime.
The bar staff was awesome, and the waiters and waitress were really good to us, they were 110%, and made up for the room.
The management staff are extremely greedy, they will not do anything for nothing. Our airplane didn't leave until 5 in the afternoon, checkout time is at 10 in the morning, they wanted 10 us dollars per hour extra if we wanted to keep the room for a couple of hours extra, even though when we arrived it wasn't until 10 at night. I will not stay here again. The shuttle was good, but if you were downtown and needed a ride back you had to use a taxi, or catch the city bus and walk about six blocks back to the Hotel.
The pool isn't much here either. If I was to choose a sunset location I would choose the Sunset Royal or the Sunset Lagoon.
The promised time of being with the Timeshare was 90 minutes, it took us four hours and we had to find a ride back to the Hotel, or wait an hour for the shuttle. I didn't meet anybody that it took them the 90 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dewydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

First of all I would like to say that this hotel is quite good compared to standards of most hotels of this rating. The rooms are quite good and the staff is very friendly and efficient. The food in the restaurant is quite good and the spa is excellent.

But this hotel has a major drawback. The management of this hotel is quite greedy and they are out to get money of f their guests. Also they have poor taste in customer service . According to the management of this hotel they have started providing coffee bags for the coffee maker, Cream and Sugar to the rooms after several complaints by the hotel guests. Unfortunately, they have rectified this issue in a strange way. This is our experience

First day when we went there were two Coffee bags, Cream and Sugar for the coffee machine in the room. When we finished all those, we went to ask for more as they have not put any when they made our room. I was met with the strangest answer, Sir we only provide free coffee the first day, if you want more we have to charge you $5 for two coffee bags and please ask for cream and sugar from the restaurant. After refusing to pay $5 for 2 coffee bags we went and bought some from the local shop and thought we could get cream and sugar from the restaurant. When we went to the restaurant to ask for Cream and Sugar we got the shock of our lives. The restaurant people said Sir we have to charge you $2 for 2 packs of Sugar and cream. We refused to pay for that too and we went and bought them from the local shop which was cheaper than that for a whole bottle of sugar and Cream.

From our entire hotel experience from around the world, this was the only hotel we have seen who would charge ridiculous prices for Coffee, Cream and Sugar. In fact in all the other hotels which I have stayed so far, none of them have ever charged for coffee, cream and sugar for the room. I guess this hotel considers these items as not part of the room essentials.

I guess they expect their guests to make do with just two bags of coffee, two packs of sugar and 2 packs of cream for the entire stay. I guess only thing this hotel consider is how to get money off their guests by charging for items such as these.

So travelers who want to stay in this hotel, make sure to bring you own Coffee bags, Cream and Sugar for the coffee machine in your room. Otherwise be prepared to pay ridiculous prices for these. This hotel is not what you would expect. It s pity that this hotel’s standard is jeopardized by poor management, poor customer service and greediness.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wscooby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Laguna Suites Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2008

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel room and thought of us as a quite good in comparison to other hotels with our rating.

In reference to your comment regarding the coffee in the room situation we completely apologize as we had no idea this was going on. Unfortunately it had to get to this for us to realize. We understand that this is the perfect way to ruin a great vacation; therefore we have taken all of the measures to ensure that this will stop.
In reference to why it has been so long for us to realize this was happening is because of the fact that most of our guests are on the all inclusive meal plan. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and give us another opportunity to give you a great vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My friend and I had such a wonderful time at the Laguna Suites in August for 6 days. I was nervous at first, book through one of those sales call for the first time. Greeted with nice glass of wine at hotel, which was wonderful because US Airways lost our lugagge did not get it until following night. We really like that it was quiet, visited the other hotels and was happy to return to our quiet hotel. The food was wonderful, but menus needs a little variety same menu everyday except one night they had caribbean night (food was really bad). The drinks was nice, better drinks in the morning. The service is lousy unless you tip the staff.
The presentation was long but we had a really nice guy that was not pushy and enjoyed it.
We took cab downtown to a couple clubs, it is expensive to party but the open bar is great. Went to daddy o, daddy rock and corona bar, did not get into coco bongo cause it was always sold out by the time we tried.
We also went on woman isle party boat cruise, it was a lot of fun and the food at the restaurant on the beach was wonderful. The jungle tour was also alot of fun.
Overall, I do not regret this purchase and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watever_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

I can not say enough of how great it was to stay at Laguna Suites. If you are looking for a clean quite and wonderful vacation STAY HERE. It started off with great service by Christian who provided us an escort while we traveled to the hotel. We were then met by Jorge who was excellent in providing what is no less then 5 star service to myself and my wife. I had some special request that he carried out without hesitation. I really can't say I would have gotten this at any hotel at any price in the USA. The room was very clean and all we expected. The room would have slept 4 but our King size bed was great. All the rooms look out at pool. The food by the Chiefs at the Ala Carte was fantastic. Every meal was made to order and exactly as we asked. The service provided by Abad, Carlos ,Edgar & Edwin was superb. We were never told no for any request we had. Transportation was provided hourly to the Beach area. The tours and trips offered were 1st class. We went to the ruins and Xel Hah . The snorkeling was very relaxing and refreshing. You have to get a message. My wife and I got the California. We are still talking about it. We tell everyone how great our vacation was. We would stay here again and again. "WOW"

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
2.1 mi away
Ocean Spa Hotel
Ocean Spa Hotel
#50 of 176 in Cancun
2,945 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Marina Resort & Yacht Club
0.9 mi away
Beachscape Kin Ha Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Cancun
1.4 mi away
Krystal Cancun
Krystal Cancun
#68 of 176 in Cancun
5,117 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Turquesa
Hotel Casa Turquesa
#91 of 176 in Cancun
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Suites Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Suites Golf & Spa

Address: Paseo Pok Ta Pok Lote 3, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Cancun
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cancun
#33 Family Hotel in Cancun
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $158 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laguna Suites Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a privileged area, in the heart of Cancun's Hotel Zone, inside the magnificent Pok Ta Pok Golf Club, Laguna Suites Golf + Spa shares the beautiful views of the golf course and unparalleled sunsets over Nichupte lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Laguna Suites Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Suites Golf + Hotel Cancun
Laguna Hotel Cancun
Laguna Suites Cancun Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing