We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask for Juan as your server!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda el Mortero

Hacienda el Mortero
Reserve with OpenTable
Hacienda el Mortero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgeport, West Virginia
1 review
“Ask for Juan as your server!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I ate at the restaurant 3 times during the week that we were in Cancun, and loved each meal that we ordered. The chicken and beef fajitas were excellent and the service outstanding, especially from Juan. He was personable, professional and courteous, and his English was very good....so when you go there ask for him if you want great service! As with all the other reviews written, that Mariachi band was fantastic and wow...what talent. They played and sang anything the tables asked for, including "Feliz Navidad" in June. I would recommend them to anyone going to Cancun. Thanks for the great food, service and hospitality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    178
    75
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not your average Mexican food place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We actually went in here with the expectation of an American Tex-Mex style restaurant. We were actually looking forward to the burritos, beef/chicken/cheese enchiladas, etc.

Umm, they did not have those!

I did get enchiladas - duck enchiladas, and they were excellent. One of my daughters did get the beef fajitas, and she enjoyed them. My wife got a shrimp dish, and my other daughter got the coconut shrimp...both loved their meals. FYI, the chips and salsa served before the meal were fresh...always puts us in the right mood for the rest of the dinner. The big margaritas and Sangrias didn't hurt either (one daughter thought it was the best Sangria she ever had)!

The mariachi band was very good. We have two vocalists in the family, and we can wince when they are singing flat. They had at least three different main vocalists in this group (besides the harmonies), and they had good strong voices...nice, polished performance that wasn't over-bearing in volume.

If you go appetizers, drinks, main meals, and desserts...be prepared to leave significantly lighter in the wallet. We enjoyed the meal, but we paid significantly more than we would in a comparable American restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food was pretty good and the entertainment was great. We went for dinner and ordered a caesar salad to go with our meal. The waitor brought a cart to our table and made the caesar dressing in front of us. He did the same with our dessert, caramel crepes. It was very impressive. They had a mariachi band playing that evening which was nice to hear and see since it went along with the authentic decor of the restaurant. I would definitely go again!
I'm not sure on the pricing since the restaurant was included in our all-inclusive plan with Krystal resort.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marapi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Loved our Mexican Night at El Mortero”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant in the middle of the Cancun hotel zone. It's a colonial style building beautifully decorated in bright colors. The ambiance is great and the whole experience, from the service to the food, is outstanding. We started off our night with margaritas and wine, followed by the restaurant's special dish. It is a pig-shaped miniature barbeque pit, which they bring to your table, covered in seafood, lobster and steak (enough for 2-3 people depending on how hungry you are). There are mariachis singing the night away and you can request your favotire song if you like. We loved the experience. It is pricey (almost $400 for 4 people), but worth it. I recommend going and sharing the special dish and a couple of appetizers, for a more affordable experience. Overall. great place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelface52786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Recommend you give it a try and enjoy the atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Would not have chosen to eat here, but a friend recommended it and took us here for dinner. The restaurant looks touristy and it is, but in a good way. The old hacienda is historical and decorated in a folk art style. The drinks are strong and the food was good. The band was so professional that I thought it was a recording at first, they are excellent and go from table to table playing requests. The staff was wonderful and even made roses out of napkins for the ladies at our table. Would go back with a group as we had a good time here and even did some dancing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtTeacherOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Morter... M, Public Relations Manager at Hacienda el Mortero, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We really appreciate your visit and your comment.
We hope to see you soon. For any assistance rpmortero@krystal-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda el Mortero also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Hacienda el Mortero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing