We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay, absolutely loved it! Would go back in a heartbeat.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing stay, absolutely loved it! Would go back in a heartbeat.”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was my first time to Cancun, I traveled with my boyfriend (ages 28-30) along with another young couple. We all really loved this resort! It was a 4 day/3 night stay. We've both traveled a fair bit, and have been to other all inclusive's in Mexico/Caribbean. This was an all around really amazing resort.

Rooms - we stayed in the VIP Villa section for adults only. HIGHLY recommend. The villas are located in small buildings with 3 floors and about 4-5 rooms per floor. It all looks very new and modern. Great views from the balcony and a large Jacuzzi on the balcony. In this section you have your own huge infinity pool, private bar service and they bring you little snacks throughout the day. You have your own restaurant as well. There was never a rush to get chairs in the morning, you had your pick. We stayed in this spot the entire time. Best view of the whole resort! Everything was very close walking distance so if you wanted to go to the beach or lobby, or other pools, it was very easy to do.

Beach - Amazing. Out of a magazine. Crystal clear water with that beautiful tropical turquoise colour and white sand. There are no rocks in the ocean, it's perfectly refreshing and there is a natural rock wall that appears randomly along the beach. But, there is a really good size open beach area with no rock wall, just sand and water and palm trees! Lots and lots of sun chairs and umbrellas.

Food - We ate at the buffet for breakfast and lunch and one dinner. We tried the Mexican and Japanese restaurant and they were both really great! I highly recommend trying the different restaurants they offer, but make reservations a couple days in advance if you can, they are small and fill up fast! If you forget, try going around 7pm or 9pm to see if they have any openings or cancellations (dinner seatings are 645 and 845). This worked for us!

Pools - all cleaned and well maintained. There are 2 infinity pools, a main pool area (and kids area) and the swim up bar. If you want quiet, you can have it, and if you want excitement you can have it. Something for everyone.

Entertainment/Spa - from what we did see we really enjoyed, a great open aired large theatre area with lots of seating and 2 bars. We didn't do any excursions, but all the options are there. We treated ourselves to a couples massage on the beach - well worth every penny. Go for a later massage (we went at 6pm) and ask for the massage hut that is further down the beach, it's quieter.

Service - the only thing lacking a bit is service. Noone was rude or anything, but a bit slow and not as much personality as you usually get from the servers at all inclusives. We did tip, and it didn't seem to alter the service. But overall, you got what you asked for and a smile, it just took a bit longer - so always order two at once! :)

Overall it was just really great, the weather was perfect for 4 days, our rooms were clean and maintained. It looks like a fairly new resort so everything is working and looking great. I would go back in a heartbeat to the exact same hotel.

Thanks RIU! We truly enjoyed our stay. I hope you check it out and love it as much as we did.

Safe Travels!

Room Tip: Stay in the adults only section for villas if possible and higher up rooms, on the ends in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Roz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,284
    1,139
    358
    135
    133
See reviews for
1,256
2,574
70
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Sheer perfection!

From the moment we arrived (my wife, my 19 year old daughter and I) were in heaven. The hotel itself is stunning. The reception area is welcoming and grand. We were greeted with a friendly welcome and a very refreshing drink (much needed after a long flight). The hotel porters were extremely helpful and could not do enough for us. The reception staff again very helpful and explained in great detail the facilities available. The grounds are stunning and believe me "seeing is believing". Excellent facilities. We relaxed on the beach and on the pool side, and this was not hard to do with hotel waiters on hand providing refreshments when needed. Our room was simply amazing, beautifully clean on arrival and cleaned every day to an excellent standard. We even had towels made into swans, rabbits and elephants and our bed scattered with rose petals. My wife even thought they had mistaken us for a honeymoon couple however this was not so, as our maid (a male) wanted to do this just for us. We were on 7th floor and had an exceptional view of the complex and sea. What a fabulous sunrise.

We ate mainly in the buffet restaurant, the variety of food was always well cooked and beautifully presented. The themed evenings were simply a joy to attend. The additional restaurants, although never as full as the buffet restaurant, and needed a reservation, still served beautiful food in excellent surroundings with excellent service.

Each day an amazing and hard working entertainment team provided activities from volleyball to aqua aerobics and crazy games. By the end of the week we found ourselves joining in collapsing in laughter!

Our Thomson rep was helpful and on hand to advise us on excursions to take.

We said sheer perfection and we meant it! We were relaxed, took life at a slower pace, did what we wanted to do when we wanted to do it and had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Although weather channel predicted last week of August as cloud covered and rainy, we had sunshine. Hot but not excessive. Nice breeze. White sandy beach. Took 15 minute cruise to island and rented golf cart. Toured 3 miles of island. Many golf carts. Shop around. Don't expect to set speed records. Food was excellent! 4-6 buffet tables per meal plus 4 a-la-carte restaurants. Everything included. We took 30-minute kitchen tour. Very informative to see how a big kitchen works. Thanks Rocques! This RIU is two years old ... Nouveau styling ... Purples. Most important WIFI in the room!

Room Tip: Get there early so you can change rooms to suit your needs. Sunwing provides bus service. We take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tmbrunk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was stunning. The food was great, the service was amazing. The rooms were so spacious with a jacuzzi inside and outside of our room. Very hard working staff, immaculate hotel. My boyfriend and I would definitely go back their. Keep up the good work riu!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This resort was really awesome!! I went there for my honeymoon and we had a amazing time!
The buffet Las Olas had really nice food and we especially liked Juanita one of our servers that served us every dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Me and my girlfriend from London stayed for 7 nights from 14th - 21st of August, so all we intended to do was just sit by the pool and enjoy what the hotel had to offer until we flew home. From reviews we chose this hotel and we're so glad we did, both of us had a superb week and would love to come back again.

From arrival the reception staff were very kind, especially Danko who greeted us. Welcome glass of bubbly did us nicely. We stayed in the Villa just for adults and had a second floor room looking at the sea which gave us a great view of the grounds but also a glimpse of the sea, I must say we were upgraded upon arrival which made us so happy so we can't complain from maybe having a high sea view in the main hotel to the Villa view. What sets the Villa different is that you have a private adult only pool, jacuzzi on the balcony (amazing) and also a restaurant that caters only to Villa guests which i'll mention later. Room amenities were different class and the added 4 spirit bar in the room was a nice touch. Air conditioning superb, so was the king sized bed and the shower / bathroom. The adult only pool was always great to relax by and with a man taking drink orders as you lay there you felt very well looked after. So big shout out to Fili who met our needs for constant Banana Mama's and Margaritas he was very friendly and if we go back hope to meet again. As its adult only there we're a lot of couples staying and we met some great people and enjoyed a few drinks or 5 in their company each evening as the day wound down. There is also a private beach for hotel guests only which is white sand and clear sea up to the waist. A nice refreshing cold dip in the scorching heat. Speaking of weather since it's supposed to be the wet season we only had one quick rain storm during the night whilst we slept with 90 degree heat every day with little clouds. Perfect weather since before we left the weather everyday looked like thunderstorms.

So obviously the drinks were great and many different varieties to sample, but the food choices all week... amazing. We ate mainly at the buffet for lunch which had a vast array of hot and cold food but they also have a BBQ which is pool side for lunch if you want a change. There are also some restaurants which have their own themes for example Mexican, Japanese and Steak but are all reservation only. We tried the Mexican one night but we're more impressed by the Mexican theme night at the buffet in the evening. The evening buffet was also very good and whatever you fancy would be there. The seafood night was a chance for me to try Lobster which I wouldn't normally be able to do without spending a fortune. But the best Restaurant we had was the Adult Kulinarium, I had the most amazing 4 course meal which included a superb Lobster soup and Steak for the main, I normally don't eat beef but this was simply divine. We which we stayed longer so we could go to that again!

With the number of bars across the resort and the evening entertainment in the stage area there was plenty to do after dinner and before retiring to bed.

Thomson included taxi transfer to and from the hotel which was just for us and very quick and easy.

A side note on outside the hotel; The Thomson rep was very nice and gave us all sorts of options for us to purchase including Dolphin swimming etc but with 6 full days we just wanted to relax, if we stayed longer we would have taken one of the many excursion offers given.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view but if travelling as a couple the Villas for an adult only experience, no kids aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank eggsoakley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I must say that I am SHOCKED at the negative reviews posted! My husband and I haven't been back a week and are already planning our return trip! We stayed in room 2121 and couldn't disagree more with the prior comment regarding the room. Regarding the smell, yes, there is a musty smell but that is what you get when you stay near the ocean and in an environment as humid as Mexico! To expect anything less is ignorant! I've been to several resorts in Mexico and other areas and the smell is the same.... Musty, not fishy!! With that said, there is nothing offensive about the smell, it's just different, but normal.

The room was beautiful. It was immaculately cleaned EVERY DAY! Our mini-fridge was stocked daily with a variety of drinks, and the fridge worked just fine! Our alcohol dispenser was also kept full and if we needed anything, it was sent to our room very quickly! The towels and bedding were changed daily and were of excellent quality. We were also provided with white, fluffy robes which were perfect for our spa that was on the balcony!

Now, let's talk about the food! The buffet was top notch and the service was outstanding! The only negative about the food was the Japanese restaurant. It was not good and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone! Also, the room service menu could stand to add a few more selections as it was fairly limited, but the food was excellent! Other than that, we were very impressed with the
food! We were never hungry!

Since we stayed in the VIP Villas, we had a private pool which could only be used by others staying in the Villas. We appreciated having an area where children were not allowed and spent most of our time there. Waiters constantly made sure we had everythibg we needed from food to drink, it was wonderful! The other pools were beautiful as well, we just wanted to be in an area free of children. It was odd that the swim up bar allowed children and had it been for adults only, we probably would've spent more time there. But like I said, our private pool provided us with everything we needed so we missed out on nothing!

The staff was polite and very kind and always made us feel special! We signed up for a free photoshoot on the beach and came home with the most beautiful photos I have ever seen! I highly suggest this to everyone, you won't regret it!

On my birthday the hotel put a bottle of tequila in our room with a kind card... Very nice!

The grounds were beautiful and our trip met all of our
expectations! If you are looking for a true all inclusive (no small print) resort that is beautiful, clean, relaxing, provides excellent service and has food to die for..... Then this place is for you! P. S. No stomach issues!!! ;)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindylynn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
3.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#38 of 175 in Cancun
663 reviews
6.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,133 reviews
8.9 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Riu Palace Peninsula features 3 ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS in the garden with exclusive services for clients over 18 years old * The hotel is situated right on the white, sandy beach of Caribbean Sea. Its offshore coral reefs and lagoon offers perfect water sports opportunities. The sister hotel Riu Caribe is just 100 m away * Next Village / Location Corazone 4.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 5.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International (CUN) 21.0 km approx. * 1 Building 17 floors 514 rooms * 3 Deluxe Villas 3 floors 48 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing