We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel, excellent staff and beautiful resort. The only "negative" thing I have to say is the beach is small .. to expect when you go to cancun! You will definitely enjoy you time there! Worth every penny. There is also a lot of activity to do if you go with kids.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,083
    1,078
    335
    122
    118
See reviews for
1,167
2,421
66
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at this resort in January and wanted to try it again for a full week. This stay was even better than what we had experienced our first go visit, almost everything was perfect.

Check in was very quick with no problems at all. During the check-in we were greeted with a welcome cocktail. We had booked a superior room, which turned out to be on the 17th floor again. The room had a slightly different view and we now know that the end rooms on floors 16 & 17 have 2 doors out to the balcony. Our room was kept spotless our whole time there with a different towel animal each night. While you don’t really have turn down, some nights they did pop back in while we were at a show to move the pillows off of the bed. Since this room was long from to back, the placement of the tub, was slightly better than our room the last time, I did not have to worry about falling in to the tub in the middle of the night.

The pool area was beautiful, and we made sure we went in each pool, except the pool bar pool. Sorry, those skeeve me out a little. The weather was very hot and the only bad thing was that by the afternoon, the pools had heated up and were not as refreshing. The water in the ocean stayed a nice refreshing temperature though. We never had a problem finding a chair in an area we wanted. If it happened to not be under one of the structures they have for shade, the attendants will bring over an umbrella for you. There were activities going on all day, from 10am till about 5, when the entertainment group goes in and gets ready for the evening shows.

I took the stretching classes each day with Jordi, and he changed them up each day so that you were not bored. We even tried the water aerobics one time, and that was a lot of fun too.

Bar service at the pools was great. Jorge must have walked by every 10 minutes to check that we had everything we needed. We did not spend as much time in the Trinidad bar as last time, as we wanted to enjoy the sun as much as we could.

The beach area is rocky, but they have cut steps into the rocks to allow you to get down to the water. You can take a float in and if you want, float around the big rock to the smaller beach that they have. If you want to go to a bigger beach, the one at the RIU Caribe, next door, is available. We did not like that beach as much as it had more seaweed there. Also, if you walk to the end of the beach at the Caribe, you will see Kayaks, Sailboats and the like. Any non motorized device is included in your stay. You do have to pay for the Jet Skis.

We tried to get to the gym a few times, but the gym is very small, and by 7:30am it is full, so we just took walks out the front of the resort. Really nothing to see either way, as the resort is not in a great place for shopping, but there are a couple of small stores for some small items if needed. If you walk out the front and to the left, you will come to a small flea market with lots of junk for you to look at, as well as a convenience store.

The food was very good. We ate all of our breakfasts at Las Olas buffet, the food was good and the service great, if not too good at times. As soon as you get up they take your plate and silverware, so if you were just going up for seconds, you have to steal some silverware on the way back. There were plenty of choices for you at the buffet, with a section for Italian and Mexican.

For lunch we were going to eat at the buffet, but one day we decided to see what the Italian restaurant Venicia was like. You must be 100% dry when you go in there, but the food is surprisingly good. I was a little hesitant on eating Italian food there, as we get very good Italian food in the NY Metro area, but the appetizers and dessert are set up from a buffet, and then you pick a main meal. The menu is the same for Dinner, and we even came back to try it one night.

We wanted to eat at the specialty restaurants, and that is where there is room for improvement. Our first night we ate at the buffet, and on Mexican night (Wednesday) we did the same. The food is very good in the buffet with a lot of different choices. Basically you have to be able to find something to your liking.

When we checked in we made reservations for Tamales (Mexican) and Krystal (Fusion). Making reservations is very easy, they only will book for the current day, the next day, and 2 days out, but we never had a problem getting the restaurant we wanted. Tamales was very good. They give you a margarita when you come in, then you have your appetizers from a buffet, then they bring you tortilla soup, main meal and dessert. We really enjoyed the fajitas. During the meal they will come by with a sombrero to take let you take a goofy picture, and they give you a tequila shooter. That is a shot glass with Tequila and some squirt, the waiter then hits it on the table and as it fizzes up, you down the drink.

The food at Krystal was not really that good. I don’t remember what we had, but I know the service was not very good either. We also tried Hiruki, the Japanese restaurant, which we did not find to our liking either. Nothing specific, but the food was just not that good. We had reservations one night for Kulinarium, which is affiliated with the Villas. The menu there is very similar to Krystal, so after our bad experience at Krystal, we cancelled Kulinarium.

We also treated ourselves each day to an iced coffee at the Capuchino bar. The coffee was great, and some of the desserts they had were very good too. One thing is that I always think those small desserts look better than they taste, so we did not try anything other than the chocolate covered strawberries and the chocolate covered corn flakes.

The lobby bar, on the other side of Cappuccino was also a good place to listen to the piano starting at 6pm before dinner. One thing we did find on the drinks is that they are on the weaker side, so we always had to order our drink and ask for extra whatever in it.

Entertainment each night was also nice. The shows were all nice and if you need anything during the show there are a lot of people walking around to help you out. The magic show was fun, but it was the same as the show from January. The best show might have been the beach party that they had on Saturday night, but since that was our first night there, we could not stay up for it.

While we were at the resort we did want to take a ride over to Isla Mujeres. During the day there are representatives from all the different tour groups that sit in the theater area. We booked our vacation through Liberty Travel, so there was an Olympus Tours person that we talked to. They had decent prices, but what we found was that the resort also has a booth for different water sports/tours. Willie & Cesar were the two that we talked to. We booked the Isla Mujeres tour through them because the tour, on the Samba 2, is only for RIU guests. It runs on Tuesdays & Fridays and they pick you up right at the RIU pier, located between the Caribe & Peninsula resorts. I did leave a separate review for that tour with more detail, but I will say it was a decent tour, as you got to snorkel, got a lunch at their “beach club” and then got about an hour to wander around the main town. Overall not much there though.

We also decided that we wanted to see about other snorkel tours and talked to Willie about a boat that we saw. He gave us the price but told us it was a glass bottom boat and that if we wanted to just snorkel, he had a newer tour that would be better. For $55 there is a tour called Total Snorkel. It is a small boat that goes out around 1:30 and comes back at 4:30. The boat comes over from Adventure Cove and picks you up at the resort’s pier. There are 3 crew members, on our trip it was Miguel, Carlos & Alberto. For that cost they give you the equipment, a lesson if you need it, waters to drink, and they take you to 3 spots to snorkel. The first spot is on a reef and the amount and variety of fish you see is amazing. The 2nd spot is very close to the first. There was not as much to see, but still the snorkeling was fine. The 3rd spot was the best. We went out to a ship that sunk during a hurricane. It is in about 10 feet of water or so. You can swim around the wreck, and then even through it. The current is a little strong but you see a lot there. It was an excellent trip, well worth the money and the crew were all great. We would do that again in a second.

We would really like to visit this property again, but most likely will not. Not because we did not like it, but only because there are too many other places to travel to.

If anyone has any questions about the resort, feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: On floors 16 & 17, the end rooms (ending in 22 & 31) have a better layout, as they have 2 do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Glennalan4458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

What a holiday we didnt want to leave!! Go here its brilliant!!

Me and my partner have just returned from Mexico and spent two fantastic weeks at this hotel. The hotel itself is absolutely faultless from the attention to detail in the reception to the detail in the room, the staff were extremely friendly and give exceptional service always greeted with either a hello or how are you.

Staff are constantly cleaning from weed on the beach at 6am to the corridors at 9pm there's is always hard-working staff.

Check in was fantastic even before 3 pm- try to get left hand side closest the sea!

Restaurants and a la carts were fantastic!! great choice of food and great quality at all times and meal times.

Drinks in bars and rooms were great too even branded drinks.

There is entrainment around the pool which is constant from 10 am to about 3pm which can get abit irritating at times especially when your trying to relax on the beach but that shows how close all the amenities are. No rushing for beads even in the busy holiday period.

Absolutely amazing place great location! Will defiantly be returning at some point to take advantage of this hotel!!

Great tip - use the buses both ways from out side the hotel, they might look dodgy but well worth it drivers are helpful and well cheaper than taking taxis!!
AND VISIT COCO BONGO!!

Room Tip: Left hand side of hotel closest the sea- try not to go above the theatre just in case you want an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Well it's been 3 months since we went to the rui palace penninsula and still my thoughts are that this hotel was in my top 2.
The staff were all incredibly perfect in everything that they are trained to do cannot fault anyone.
Big shout out to Jesus at the pool go out the right side of hotel and you'll find him tip him a few rollers and he will keep you well watered all day.
Also shout out to Javier in the buffet restaurant amazing guy loved him Sat with his tables every night and we had flower petals and napkin roses made for me by him even got a cake made for us (go to the second set of doors to the end of the tables) or get the little seater girls to help you can't remember one of their names but she was lovely.
Hi to Katrina the PR met you in the lift then in the restaurant on our last night.
Anybody that has a negative about this hotel needs to think before they speak only bad was entertainment at night pretty rubbish.



Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jojoted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

amazing hotel entertainment staff both day and night was fantastic never seen the same show twice lovely people the food was outstanding spoilt for choice such a large range of everything from meats to fish salads fruits just simply the best 14 day holiday easy to get transport to where you want to go either taxi or bus I would definitely go back to this hotel again and highly recommend you give it a bash for sure you will love it fab fab fab wish we was still there

Room Tip: we had two sea view junior suits on the 5th floor stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

After upgrading from a neighbouring hotel. This was the perfect way to end the last 5 days of our holiday. I wished we had done the full 10 nights there. The rooms where spotless with lots of space.
There was so much choice of food. The steak house was gorgeous.
Plenty of sunbeds so no need to get up early to reserve one.
But the most important thing of all was the staff!!!! They where brilliant. From the entertainment team, bar staff, waiters through to the cleaners. They worked long hours but always willing to attend to our every needs to ensure we had a holiday of a life time.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmaep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This Hotel its just amazing!!! All you need to make a perfect Holiday is a lovely person next to you, a beautiful weather, a lovely place where to stay….well, this is the place where you should stay if you are in cancun!!! For sure !!! Best Service ever, best food ever, and the rooms???? They are just perfect!!! highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNIGNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing