We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Carribean Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
London KY
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Carribean Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Let me preface my remarks by saying that this was our first trip to Cancun.

SAFETY: I had had this destination on my bucket list for years, but my husband was apprehensive due to safety concerns. I'm thrilled to say those concerns were definitely unfounded, as we felt completely at ease throughout our vacation. We even ventured off the property on several occasions, taking advantage of the $1 bus ride. Just do it....

ROOM: As far as the hotel room itself, I was a wee bit disappointed, as I had expected something more luxurious for the price we paid. I would rate it as an average Holiday Inn Express with fancy common areas. Very clean, but stark and contemporary which simply isn't our taste.

FOOD: We concur completely with all the other posts as far as the restaurant reservation system - it's the pits. Arriving on Sunday, the first reservation we were able to make was for our evening meal on Tuesday, leaving us with the buffet or Italian for Sunday and Monday. In our opinion, skip the Italian - our least favorite meal overall. We enjoyed the steakhouse twice, and the Krystal Fusion and the Japanese restaurants once. The breakfast was pleasing and plentiful. Don't dare miss the Cappuccino kiosk, as we were spoiled nightly with the delicious desserts.

SERVICE: I could write pages about the above and beyond service staff at Riu Palace Peninsula. Absolutely wonderful in every area. Though it is an all-inclusive facility, we tipped liberally and wish we could have done more - it was that kind of service. Just remarkable!

SHOPPING & ENTERTAINMENT: The in-house entertainment was lacking overall. I would categorize it as second or third string cruise acts. Enjoyed shopping, though there were definitely no bargains to be found. If you like the banter at the open market in Nassau, you will love it here, as vendors were always ready to play let's make a deal...only there were no "deals".

EXCURSIONS: We highly recommend booking any off-property events with Jose and the folks at Lomas Travel. Ask at the front desk and have them hook you up. Those guys know how to take care of you! Wonderful!

SMOKER'S PARADISE: We are NOT smokers and had forgotten what it was like to be inundated by those who are. Cough, cough...gag, gag....

FINAL NOTE: I don't know if we will ever go back to Cancun, as we enjoyed a dream vacation in Hawaii for less $$$. BUT we shared this experience with my younger brother and his wife, and life-time memories were made. And it sure is hard to put a price tag on those.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,327
    1,163
    359
    136
    136
See reviews for
1,284
2,602
72
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here April 19-24 we came here after spending 5 days in Playa Del Carmen at a Secrets.
We stayed in an ocean front villa walk out suite, it was wonderful and so easy to access we always had a pool side chair, jacuzzi on balcony room was cleaned everyday and we never even had to use our towel cards on our villa side, which I must add is kid free and wonderful!
We never did go to any reservation restaurants here we tried the buffet and italian and those were both excellent alot of selection at the buffet every morning and we never waited for a table at either.
Staff very friendly everywhere we loved Fernando at the villa pool such a nice guy we def tipped him throughout the day!
I would recommend this resort to family and friends 100%

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CReykdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Beautiful resort, excellent service, top shelf booze, and great food. Had no problem getting into specialty restaraunt. Free wi fi , 24 hr room service,,, other all inclusives do not compare. I'll be going back! From check in to check out perfect trip.

Room Tip: Choose regular resort over the villas unless your main objective is to avoid kids in the pool. Your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank larends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Spend 6 days at the Riu! 4/16-4/22 with 12 of my family members. it was the best trip ever! This was my first time in Cancun. This hotel is clean, beautiful and the ocean view rooms breathtaking! The food was great, the bartenders and staff are amazing & so attentive with the guest! The pools were nice and the walking distance to the beach was good! I took my 8 year old, and the entertainment staff were wonderful with kids of all ages!! We did not want to leave! Definitely will be back in the future.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tanisha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Beautiful and clean brand new grounds. Excellent room and amenities. Restaraunts were all high quality. Service impeccable as well. Enjoyed the pool and beach area immensely. Waiters are plentiful so you are never without a drink in hand while pool lounging. Very friendly staff from checkin onwards.We enjoyed the lobby pastry bar. Room service was very good also. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebTimGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel in general but with all the money spent to build this hotel it could have been a bit better(that's being picky) but near everything by walking distance ..first room was smelling weird They changed it for us no problem. Great front desk response service .. Food was great. Pools amazing I like the quiet but party type and we found that there.. Would suggest the hotel, don't forget to take the ferry to visit isla mujeres (right next door ferry) .

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Mrmontreal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My stay in this hotel was awesome, the room service was excellent, view was good and most of all the food and the bar was amazing..nice place to stay...the best thing was the bartenders and staff asking if we need a drink or not....a walk around the hotel, along the streets with all the view was extra super good...privacy with all the enjoyment makes it a perfect hotel especAilly if you trVEL with your friends like i do

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ralte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
6.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
3.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#38 of 175 in Cancun
689 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
6.5 mi away
GR Caribe by Solaris
GR Caribe by Solaris
#25 of 175 in Cancun
3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Riu Palace Peninsula features 3 ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS in the garden with exclusive services for clients over 18 years old * The hotel is situated right on the white, sandy beach of Caribbean Sea. Its offshore coral reefs and lagoon offers perfect water sports opportunities. The sister hotel Riu Caribe is just 100 m away * Next Village / Location Corazone 4.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 5.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International (CUN) 21.0 km approx. * 1 Building 17 floors 514 rooms * 3 Deluxe Villas 3 floors 48 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing