We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Vegas meets Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
424 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Las Vegas meets Mexico”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This resort is very non-typical decor for Mexico. I wasn't sure if we would like it when we made the reservation. Upon arrival, we were very pleasantly surprised. Yes...it is different but very cool. Outstanding service. The views from the main tower are incredible especially if you get a high room. We were supposed to get a villa but somehow, the reservation got messed up. We ended up with a double balcony room on the 12th floor which was very impressive. Couldn't get the tub to fill with water but we weren't here to sit in the room anyway. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,247
    1,127
    354
    135
    128
See reviews for
1,239
2,542
70
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good. Loved the hotel, and its almost private beach. When we reached the beach we said we got to paradise and as soon as the waiter came to meet us, to our surprise, his name is Jesus!
The room is great, the view is wonderful the breakfast is very good. The a la carte restaurants are bad. select the buffets, they are much better.

Visit again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the Villas! Private, no kids, personal services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CABMattos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This place was beyond amazing. Miami vibe and the staff was very nice. Food was the best I've had at an all inclusive. Pools and drinks were awesome. Only complaint would be to play better music by the pool, just a personal preference. Make sure to I ask for premium (absolute and tonic) and not generic names (vodka and tonic).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Geminitraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from a week here hotel was excellent. Had a very nice room on the 11th floor with an excellent sea view. Room very spacious and nicely decorated modern, clean and comfortable bed. Optics and mini bar stocked daily.

Everything you want is here, good all inclusive choice went to the speciality gourmet restaurant food was good and the wine is also better in there. Nice piano bar, excellent drink choice. I like the fact the hotel isn't huge and sprawling. Beach is small but nice. The service all week was excellent throughout the hotel. Buffet food is varied and there is something for everyone.

Small gym but with a decent weights selection. I would definitely go again can't go wrong.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank k1ckass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on 19/11/13 to 4/12/13, first impression was wow, a gawjuss hotel. Then you see the cleaners up all day and all night cleaning, for some youd say great. But let me explain more,a clean hotel isn't always what it's about,the food was Luke-warm, almost cold some might say. There was a lot of food , very repetitive and tasteless. The plus side was if you wanted hot coffee ( which is awful) then wait till 10am when the capuchins bar opens, this is proberly the only good thing about this hotel. They serve amazing cakes and HOT coffees. Now the rooms, mm very well presented, nice and modern, clean and we had a turn down service each night with fresh towels, the bad part, missing light bulbs, faulty switches and to top it all ,the hair dryer set on fire and electrocuted me, as it was only 110 volts, I'm still here to write this review lol. The night life in this hotel is the animation team, poor isn't the word ,can't sing , can't dance and definitely can't entertain. This poor entertainment start at 9.pm and finishes at 9.45pm then everyone gets up and leaves the building. The day entertainment is good around the pool areas, there was people in the pool bar who for some reason never seemed to get out to go to the toilets, hence why we never went in there lol, the main pool was great for the kids, they could use their goggles and swim under water and on one particular day even observed adults having sex in the pool, this to my horror was disgusting, especially when the woman got out of the pool in front view of adults and children to put her bikini bottoms back on. Considering all these things, I would not recommend this hotel .

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank angelao481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Riu PP in wonderful Cancun. Very nice resort!
Here are the highlights for you quick readers:
FOOD and BEVERAGES - the restaurants were great. Our favorite spot was the Veneza! They have a lunch service daily and the food was simply outstanding - staff top shelf. Never had trouble finding a great meal or beverage. Buffet had excellent choices of food and staff equally as attentive and friendly. Quick tip: specify the brand of liquor that you would like when ordering drinks - otherwise house brands.
SERVICE - truly outstanding - clearly a well managed resort that puts the patrons first!
BEACH and POOL - the pools were beautiful and clean. Daily activities for those not wanting to just relax on the beach. We tended to stay on the beach each day - attentive beverage service - plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas.
ROOMS - we were assigned a first floor room (Jr. Suite) - spacious and decorated in modern flair. King bed comfortable. Fully stocked fridge - included. Balcony with excellent view of the ocean. Our only complaint was that it does appear that walls are thin - we could hear upstairs neighbors quite clearly (moving chairs, walking, their infant crying). You can also hear movement in the hallways
OTHER - the staff photographers were a bit pushy - steer clear. Shopping selections a bit limited - a few on-site stores which nice items though. Daily visits on the beach by various "local" vendors - they were not overly aggressive - but did work hard at getting your attention (at times waking you up from a nice sleep on the beach). WIFI - free and moderate speed. It would work on the beach!
All in all an outstanding trip. Thank you RIU PP - we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripBound_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just returned from a week here with my partner. Booked a Jacuzzi suite, had a great room on the 9th floor with an amazing view. I debated on booking a villa room and I'm so glad I didn't. Pool bar staff was great! A special mention goes out to Jose who went out of his way to accommodate us. Food was pretty good, I'm not a huge fan of buffets so we did all the ala carte restaurants besides the Italian including the restaurant that's only supposed to be for the Villa guests. They were all fine. We were going to have dinner on the beach one night in the massage cabana for an additional $200.00 but it was so windy while we were there we never got the chance. Service was good and got better as the week progressed and the waiters realized we tipped. Beach was on the small side and areas of it are rocky. Not much to do after dinner other than the show which really isn't our thing, Everything shuts down at 11 so if you're looking for afterhours entertainment you'll have to head into town. This is a lovely hotel and although they try their best, in my experience I would not consider it a true 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Book a Jacuzzi suite, ask for the 9th floor, The balcony is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chihuahuamamaof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
3.5 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 175 in Cancun
9,858 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Riu Palace Peninsula features 3 ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS in the garden with exclusive services for clients over 18 years old * The hotel is situated right on the white, sandy beach of Caribbean Sea. Its offshore coral reefs and lagoon offers perfect water sports opportunities. The sister hotel Riu Caribe is just 100 m away * Next Village / Location Corazone 4.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 5.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International (CUN) 21.0 km approx. * 1 Building 17 floors 514 rooms * 3 Deluxe Villas 3 floors 48 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing