We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #19 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Riu Palace Peninsula”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I hadn't been to Cancun in 15 years and was a bit concerned about going back. I chose Cancun this year due to the new Riu Palace there......I was overly surprised....The resort is spectacular, the service and food wonderful, the people extremely friendly and it's proximity to activities great. I would definitely add this resort as one of my top favorites. Absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: The Villas - ground floor, pool front......Cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiseCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,245
    1,126
    354
    135
    128
See reviews for
1,238
2,540
70
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with Apple Vacations direct from StL. Arrived at 11am greeted by Daniel at check-in. One room ready and one not ready until 3pm. No problem, threw everything in one room and off we go. Daniel tried to tell me we were upgraded but I didn't fall for it, same room we paid for.
Room: modern with comfy bed and linens. Huge Walk in shower with hooks and shelves which I loved. Rainhead and handheld shower heads. Jetted tub between bed and vanity was nice. Liquor cabinet with 4 large bottles of jose, Bacardi, gin, and whiskey with dispenser. Fridge stocked with beer, mixers, and water. Our fridge did not work but replaced immediately. Balcony with ocean views. Can be noisy until after 11pm from open bar and bands below.
Pools: close at 7pm so they can throw chemicals in and clean up. Night swim is not an option. Swim up pool bar is nice but I can't help but think of all the piss in the pool. It gets really rowdy by 6pm. Infinity pool is perfect depth and very large. Zero entry pool is sizable and seemed to be where kiddos would be. Plenty of loungers everywhere. Bali beds very limited.
Beach: beautiful with rocks and fine white sand. Some areas have steps carved in rock to get to water which didn't bother me at all. Another area is walk in to water so you have options. Very little sea grass, water is crystal clear and calm. No waves for boogie boards. Water sports available down beach at RIU caribe, easy walk. Not private so locals and vendors constantly.
Service: Javier on the beach was awesome. We tipped and he kept coming. Even when we were in the water he looked for us and we gave him a signal for another round. All staff was attentive no matter tip or not but a tip never hurts.
Restaurants: Italian does not require reservations and open for lunch and dinner. Nice appetizer bar with antipasto, salads, pasta, pizza, bruschetta, carpaccio, etc then you order entree with choice of beef, stuffed chicken breast, shrimp linguine, grilled fish. Dessert bar and ice cream to finish.
Buffet: huge with abundance of options. Very Americanized but good. No reason for anyone to complain.
Krystal: fusion cuisine. 4 courses. Good meal. Steak and fish were really good. 2 dessert options both yummy.
Steakhouse: patio seating which is breezy so wear hair up or back. Salad course, then family style cold seafood platter with crab legs, muscles, shrimp, salmon. Choose entree and dessert. Steak cooked perfectly but food got cold quickly from wind.
Japanese: did not partake, closed some nights
Mexican: seemed typical and unexciting, didn't try.
Reservations have to be made 48hr in advance so call guest services 2 days before arrival to start!
Room service 24hr but limited options. Sports bar 24 hr with food options and plenty of TV's
Spa: service great, nice gym, beachside massage was ok. No curtains for privacy, noisy from pools. I recommend 6:30p start so the sun is going down and noise is winding down. Steakhouse looks out over massage palapa so that's weird
Contact me for questions

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoGirlStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Cancun on October the 6th. We had stayed at the
Riu Palace Las Americas the end of May of this year and were still bubbling from our experience there, but from the moment we arrived at the Riu Palace Peninsula we were treated like royalty.
The decor is a bit Edgy and quite different from the Las Americas. But different is not bad. I would call the Peninsula "Ultra Modern", where of course the Las Americas is more "Old World".,
We run a Travel Agency, Christie Cruise and Travel Masters from Ashland, KY (United States)
Fortunately this allows us to travel a couple of times a year to check out first hand the different
resorts. Riu Palace Peninsula does not disappoint. We did have trouble with our ceiling fan not working but after we found it could not immediately be repaired the Hotel offered to move us
to another room which was actually even nicer than the first. All we had to do was gather our
belongings and the front desk sent someone to move our luggage to the new room. As someone who has operated a business of one sort or other for over 30 years I have learned that one cannot prevent problems from happening, but how one handles those problems is what sets your business apart from the rest. That is what the Riu properties do. Instead of ignoring the problem with the fan, they took action and satisfied the customer by giving us another room.

As I saw in another review, I agree that the views are spectacular. We were on the top floor, and consequently our view was amazing, but last year we stayed on a lower floor and were
still quite happy with the view.

If laying in the sun is your thing (It is mine) then try lying on the bluff just at the end of the
quiet pool. You have the pool to your back for a quick dip, but you have the view of the rocks
and ocean breeze as you look out over that beautiful blue water. This is my spot.

The food is quite good. We mostly ate at the Buffet as I don't like being tied down by having
to make reservations while on vacation. However, the Italian Restaurant does not require
reservations and the food there is outstanding, as our the Waitors.

The Entertainment (nightly shows) I thought were quite good. We went to see them a couple
of times during our 7 night stay and we were not disappointed. Several of the other nights my
husband sat out on the balcony enjoying the music and he said those shows were quite impressive as well.

The staff that puts on the daily pool activities are wonderful and quite funny actually. I am more
likely to observe than to participate in any kind of activities but they are quite fun to watch. The
same pool staff were the hosts of the Party on the Beach on Saturday night before we left and
everyone had fun. The staff at the Party would not allow me to just observe, and even though
they couldn't convince my husband to join in they did convince me and it was a lot of fun.

Overall we had a wonderful Vacation and we think the Riu Palace Peninsula is awesome. My
husband and I discussed it before we left and even though the Riu Palace Las Americas will
forever be in our hearts, we both agreed that if we can make it to Cancun twice a year we will
definitely want to stay at the Peninsula every year as well.

Happy Traveling!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Pool and Beach area are great. Food really good and waiters really service minded. Reception and cleaning staff not so good. Got poorer room than what we paid for under the cover of that we were 'upgraded' . Found out last day it wasn't true.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisepia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stud a week at Riu Palace Peninsula when I got to the hotel I was greeted by German Calderón in the lobby from the beginning of my vacation to the end I was help with all my NEED  German help me to book all my excursions and answered all my questions because of German Calderón I had one the best vacation ever I would definitely recommend grayline tours and mayaland tours to all my friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heckie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have just got back from this hotel and was amazed at what I had seen and witnessed. When you first arrive it looks amazing the deco is second to none and the foods nice could not fault that however it lacked health and safety the floors are mable very nice you may say but a death trap when wet I was there for two weeks when they were cleaning the floors which they do all the time which is good however they failed to put up signs to say they were wet so I and others had slipped and fell for me resulting in a broken foot with no help from the hotel management we had to ask did they have a wheel chair I felt they were turning a blind eye to any injuries done on there premises they did not seem consurned about it but when we kept on complaining they were then putting up signs to say floor wet even when they weren't I could not believe the amount of walking wounded and also be aware of the floors in the room as they are slippy too when wet as I met people who had slipped in there rooms.
But beware a lot of young Americans Who come for weekend breaks nothing a matter with that but there was a couple of fights that happend at the piano bar and innocent by standards got hit not what you want from a five star hotel and its suposed to be a family hotel i would not like to bring my children here, plus we had things taken from our safe and room it cost a lot of money to come here and I felt I did not get value for money the only thing I did get was a night mare holiday from start to finish.
So if you fancy a holiday at this hotel and you don't mind getting hurt or watching fighting then this is the place to be am sure your family will enjoy it not.

Entertainment well I thought I was in for a treat how wrong was I this is my fourth year in Mexico and I have stayed in some fabulous hotels which offer much more than the Riu with entertainment second to none.

On the possative side the views were amazing I just never got the chance to enjoy it!! :(

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in the Riu Palace in September 2013 and it was simply excellent. I will round up a few key notes.

Check in - was smooth and easy we arrived about 3pm and our room was ready and waiting with a nice gift from the hotel.

Room - Perfect nice hot shower comfortable bed effective air conditioning and freshly stocked mini bar every day.

Pools - There are plenty of pools and each seemed more quiet or lively than the others. We opted to stay by the water polo pool as this is where most of the entertainment was and we met most friends here.

Entertainment team - A big shout out to my boy Juan he nailed it kept us so entertained but we loved the other guys too, Omar, Tiguana and Israel. These guys really made our holiday and are great fun. Make sure you go on the nights out with them as it is crazy.

Bar staff - Shout out to Salavador who kept us sufficently watered by the pool we didnt have to move once, its always good to tip these guys and it definately goes a LONG way, try out the lemon drop shots and the scooby doos for a good time.

Food - I have read loads of people complaining about the food, I dont see why there was not one thing I didnt like, there was soooo much choice and the staff were constantly cooking new foods. The buffet had a different theme every night which varied things up. We tried the restaurants also again food excellent. Im not saying michelin star excellent but good enough.

Maid service - the maid for our room was lovely Angela we made sure to tip her frequently as our room would always be cleaned early and we would have towel animals created for us.

Now for the negative and this is nothing to do with the hotel - If you are from the UK and travelling with Thomson Gary the rep is useless and provided the worst service ever. They cancelled a pirate ship excursion without notifying us they were going to do so and left us in the lobby for an hour, this was not captain hook but Thomson, the Thomson excursions are far more expensive than if you pruchase from within the hotel and I would recomend Hotel Beds to purchase from.

Excursions we recommend

Isla Murjes - Take the ferry over its only a 5 minute walk from the hotel the island is great and you can hire golf buggies to drive around and exploree.

Xplor - A great day out for anybody if you like adventures and heights

Coco Bongos - An excellent show

Captain Hook - When we finally went on it a really really good excursion very entertaining

Senor Frogs - if you like to party here is good place to get wasted and if you book online its only $45 inculding all drinks.

I hope you find this review informative please feel free to message me for any more details.

Thank you :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter - All have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
3.5 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,769 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 175 in Cancun
9,146 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#32 of 175 in Cancun
9,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Riu Palace Peninsula features 3 ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS in the garden with exclusive services for clients over 18 years old * The hotel is situated right on the white, sandy beach of Caribbean Sea. Its offshore coral reefs and lagoon offers perfect water sports opportunities. The sister hotel Riu Caribe is just 100 m away * Next Village / Location Corazone 4.0 km approx. * Next City Cancún 5.0 km approx. * Airport Cancún International (CUN) 21.0 km approx. * 1 Building 17 floors 514 rooms * 3 Deluxe Villas 3 floors 48 rooms * Accepted Credit Cards: Visa, MasterCard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing