We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This has been one of the best all-inclusive resorts I have stayed. The service lives up to the claims! From the moment we started the check-in we were treated like valued guests and every one of our needs were met.

The rooms are modern and clean. The restaurants are excellent (the only issue was that reservations to fill up -- so get your reservations in early).

The pool area does fill up during the peak hours, but we chose a spot that didn't seem overly crowded (and wait staff does bring drinks on a regular basis!). The beach area was crowded witha younger crowd, so we didn't spend too much time at the beach. Some of the pools do get shaded in the afternoon, but if you choose the right spots you don't need to move for sun. It appeared that many enjoyed the afternoon shade of the "swim-up pool bar".

The RIU Land childrens center was excellent and the children we traveled with enjoyed spending time there!

The evening entertainment was just ok (and crowded), but we did attend every night for a few cocktails before bed!

We had an excellent experience and will be booking a trip at RIU Penninsula again!

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher floor if you want to sit out on the balcony of your hotel room. The evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,129 - 3,135 of 5,471 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at this beautiful resort july 2013 for our honeymoon, what an absolute dream, honeymoon paradise so glad we booked this hotel. it exceeded our expectations was everything we wanted.
every single member of staff were amazing so friendly and helpful absolutely amazing they work so hard and are always happy, nothing is a trouble for them the staff really are an asset to this hotel not 1 bad word to say about any of them, they are all so amazing!

when we checked in we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite free of charge which was a very nice surprise indeed.
the hotel is very clean absolutely spotless from the rooms to the pools bars everywhere in the hotel is so clean.
the food is amazing the main buffet has food for everyones needs u can not complain about the food cos its amazing, fresh, yummy, millions of it, plenty of choice. they have lots of al la carte restaurants which are all absolutely stunning I tried every restaurant and they were all beautiful.
drinks were excellent lots of choice loads of cocktails, and u can ask bar staff to make 1 u want if u don't fancy 1 on menu the staff are so helpful I really cant describe how nice they are.
the rooms are fab very clean comfy spacious lovely comfy bed too and room had all the essensials u need too and was cleaned twice a day, even though it didn't need to be .

can I just mention a special thanks to JESUS the young man who served us at the pool in the days he was so nice and helpful a true credit to riu hotels.

room service was excellent. entertainment was good , david omar and wan were brilliant entertainment staff, thank u for making our stay even better.

this hotel is fab and I would def go again, it was honeymoon paradise thank u every member of staff at riu palace peninsula u made or honeymoon perfect thank u so much x x x x

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jammmmm181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We're going to Mexico every year for all inclusive hotel in Riviera Maya. This was first time we're having hotel in the city and it's different: the territory itself is not big as some people mentioning , it's rather small comparing to other all inclusive hotes, the hotel does have high tower of 15-20 floors, has excellent views as it's located on peninsula and you can see both sides - ocean and lagoon very nice and it is pretty. The interior is nice. We're travelling with our 13 year old son and couldn't get into 3 story villas complex , as it's adults only and even more than that - couples only. There are several pools, very nice ones, including infinity pool, so all is nice, but concentrated on a fairly small ground, not spread out as in other hotels, hence the feeling of overcrowding a bit. I had to change our room as queen size bed was not comfortable for two and to get separated shower worked better for us. Room service indeed has small variety, but the quality of food in this resort is higher comaring to others, so food is good. I thought that for some people it might be 5 star , but for us due to all these reasons it is only 3.5-4 at best. I thought it will be not fair to give 3 rating, that's why I am giving 4.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
10  Thank Je7375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We came here on our honeymoon in July 2013, after reading some mixed reviews we were apprehensive before our arrival, however we needn't have worried, the hotel was amazing.
We were upgraded on our arrival to the larger suites, the room was huge as was the bed that could probably sleep four adults (!) the room was immaculate from the moment we arrived until the day we left, the turn down service is also a nice touch. The balcony was also huge and ahead full sun all day and until the sun set. It was worth getting up early to watch sun rise as it was a perfect view from our room on the 11th floor. The mini bar was always stocked up well, we were cheeky enough to ask if we could swap one of the bottles of spirits, we had a message left to say they would try, later that evening we received a visit from the mini bar stockist who gave us a litre bottle of jack Daniels and didn't take away any of the pre existing spirits"

As we were on honeymoon we had surprise visits off a butler who delivered us champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and a congratulations card which was also a lovely touch.

The choice of food is unbelievable . The breakfast Buffett had everything you could wish for, if you couldn't find something there must be something wrong with you!! The waiting staff were always very friendly and remembered your drinks ... We didn't even have to ask some days.

The lunch Buffett was also full of variety from sandwiches and salads to fajitas, fillet steak, Italian, etc, etc. there is also a BBQ on each day at the pool side, again good choice of food. The Italian is also open for lunch and is very good if you prefer something a little more formal and being waited on.

In the evening the food is even better, huge buffet selection as well as 5 al a carte restaurants, we on,y visited the Mexican, steak house and the 'VIP' restaurant .... This was the best by far but we didn't go until the last night....don't make the same mistake ... Go early on in your holiday so you can go more than once. Service was faultless, champagne upon arrival, food was unbelievable, best meal we have had.

Lots of bars to drink at all different , we used to watch the shows then head off to the sports bar as it was a little more fun and cooler as the entertainment area is really, really warm. Dave the bar man is really good fun too and great at making different drinks,.... Again knows your drink and you don't have to ask for the, he will just making them when you are 1/2 way through your current drink.

The entertainment around the pool is hilarious, it's really good as they cater more for adults in the games and activities they do and kids are catered for at an indoor kids club. Lots of water activities, volleyball (beach and water),, football, fitness classes, endless list.

The hotel is immaculate and the cleaning staff work 24hrs a day, we felt like asking them to sit down for 5minutes as they work tirelessly and take great pride in what they do.

Don't let negative reviews put you off coming here or worry you if you have booked....I can be picky at times but this hotel was the best we have stayed at and we are both well travelled.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family spend a week at this hotel in June. The whole experience was good but we have some complaints. First the hotel water in general smells funny, as if it is treated water or something. Whenever you take a shower its not normal water and all around the hotel is the same. Second, the service from the waiters and captain in the Italian restaurant inside the main lobby is terrible, all the food is great and the service in all the other restaurant and hotel areas is great but something seems to be going on with those waiters.
The floor in our room was always sticky and smelly all the time.
And last the beach is really rocky, not the best in Cancun.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdavilaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Visited Cancun for the first time in May 2013 and loved it! We were greeted with champagne and our room was on the 9th floor. Room 913!! the view was amazing. We never paid extra for getting on a higher floor, so when checking in ask that you are on a higher floor. All the rooms have ocean view, which is nice. I wouldn't bother paying extra for the villas, besides getting a jacuzzi on the balcony, theres nothing more. The rooms are actually smaller than the ones in the hotel. The hotel was Very clean, the staff was super friendly and the food was amazing. Room service was available 24/7!!!!!!

Only thing I did not like... was the beach. It was beautiful but tiny and it smelled like pee.
I would return back to this place for sure as I have fallen in love with RIU hotels!

Room Tip: ASK for a higher floor. You should get it at no extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lenaqorrolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My new husband & I ended up staying here (at airtran's expense) for one night after our airtran flight was cancelled. We had previously been staying on Isla Mujeres and were excited to see what the Cancun hotel zone was like. Our first impression was good- the place was HUGE inside & out. They brought us drinks upon checkin (although they were only half full so they were gone quick) and told us a bellhop would take our bags up to our rooms with us. We only saw 2 bellhops & with everyone else that was on the cancelled flight in line behind us (at least 60+ people) we just went to find our room ourselves. They put us in the adults-only villa section of the hotel which we were stoked about at first, until we realized they had no elevators in the villa's =( So we had to lug our 3 suitcases, 1 carry on, and my wedding dress up 3 flights of stairs to get to our room.

The room was very nice & clean, we really liked the layout with the jacuzzi tub in between the sinks & the bed, and we REALLY liked the liquor dispenser and stocked mini fridge. The room did have a weird smell to it though we couldn't put our finger on exactly what it was. The balcony was okay- it was fairly large with two chairs & another giant jacuzzi tub. The huge downside was that our entire building was in clear view of another 2 villa building balconies & the entire main resort. Not very private or romantic!

We thought about getting room service but the menu only had 4-5 options on it, all of which were pretty standard fare (sandwich, pizza, pasta). Instead we explored the property. The adults only pool area was pretty empty but it was a nice pool with an infinity edge- the big downside was that the pool was situated to look at the main kid-friendly pool. The kid-friendly pool was huge and had more loungers than I could even begin to count. Personally, we dislike being so stuffed in with everyone and prefer our own space so we didn't like that about it.

We had a drink at the beach bar which was a lovely large bar on the edge of the property looking over the super tiny beach. The bartender was great & very friendly but a heads up- the chardonnay tastes super weird/gross. I ended up going back to my sugary mixed drinks after that one. We went and walked along the beach at sunset, although sunset was facing the opposite direction (unlike on Isla Mujeres- the sun set over the ocean). They had an employee out there raking the sand with a giant tractor- very noisy & distracting. I was disappointed by how tiny the beach area was. It was about the same size as the one at our resort on Isla Mujeres except that resort had less than 200 rooms. Most of the loungers were setup on a sandy area above the tall rocks on the water line- not the actual beach.
We went to the large buffet for dinner as most of the restaurants required reservations & had dress codes. We didn't want to unpack our stuff since we were only there for 1 night. The buffet was okay, it had alot of variety but everything tasted pretty bland. I pretty much ended up with a Salad which was fine by me! We used the ATM to get pesos to go out on the town and the fee was pretty steep with a not so fabulous exchange rate, but there weren't many other options.

The next morning I got up to take a shower and the water smelled like rotten eggs/sulfur. I've smelled water like this plenty of times but it's always at a natural spring or is non-drinkable landscaping water. Needless to say there was no point in a shower. We went downstairs to the buffet for breakfast and encountered some really rude guests. One guy was standing at a show station waiting for his omelette, but he was in front of some topping my husband was trying to get to. He said excuse me about 5 times but the guy never even acknowledged him. Then on our way back to our table someone is there picking up our bags & my wedding dress trying to put them on another table with a waiter helping. We ran over and told them not to touch our stuff and they needed to find another table, but they were very rude and stink-eyed us the entire breakfast.
At checkout they tried to charge us for a call we attempted to make to check on our flight status with airtran, but we were disconnected before we even got through the automated menu. We had to speak with a manager because we were not going to pay to contact airtran, who had put us in this situation with no information. After arguing for a while he said that he would pay it for us, trying to guilt us into paying anyway. We're no suckers & knew it would be written off by the hotel not coming out of his personal pocket so we could care less.

Overally it was a very nice hotel but the size and decor made us feel like we were in vegas not Cancun. We would have been very annoyed had we paid for the stay ourselves, we prefer smaller more intimate resorts over the giant smoke & mirrors act....

Room Tip: The adults-only villas do not have elevators and most of the balconies are not private in the least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#37 of 177 in Cancun
10,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#45 of 177 in Cancun
7,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Coral Beach Cancun
2 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
Hyatt Ziva Cancun
#3 of 177 in Cancun
5,227 reviews
5.2 mi away
Iberostar Cancun
Iberostar Cancun
#22 of 177 in Cancun
4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $291 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour All Inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula (Adults Only area - Exclusive services for ADULTS ONLY DELUXE VILLAS guests) is open all year round and is situated right on the sandy beach of Caribbean Sea, next to the Hotel Riu Caribe. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Cancun Airport CUN (21 km) and Cancun (5 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 562 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools, 1 baby pool, RiuLand Kind's Club. Day and evening entertainment. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stationsa at our main restaurant, Japanese, Italian, Mexican, Krystal restaurants and Steakhouse, as well as 6 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, RIU Hotels and Resorts, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing