We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, great value, terrible food/water, and that smell...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #20 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent service, great value, terrible food/water, and that smell...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in europe before arriving in cancun. The contrast is jarring. Cancun hotel is roomy, well appointed, clean. The service is second to none. Mexicans are so hospitable and happy to be of service (unlike europeans). You will get excellent value for your dollar, but there are some annoying issues to contend with. First, the hotel(s) smells of dampness, the drinking water, even the filtered variety, smells and tastes really really bad. The coffee is hard to drink because of the taste of water.

Weatherwise and locationwise, this is heaven, of course. The azul water is clean, warm, and inviting. The hotel activities are plenty and fun. The weather is perfectly hot and humid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giant O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,132
    1,101
    342
    128
    121
See reviews for
1,194
2,456
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel appearance brilliant , clean modern lobby with plenty of staff .
Check in brilliant , they had read our email and given us a room down the corridor from our friends. Room amazing , spotless with fully stocked fridge amazing sea views , great power or rainfall shower . Very comfy bed nice cool room with good air con
Bars ,choice of drinks endless , service very quick at all bars and with a smile and a chat , Diego and crew at beach bar v friendly and great service .
Pool areas never struggled for sunbed but they could do with some mattresses on them .
All staff were polite and friendly , the whole place was spotless .
Evening entertainment was the usual and ok but the site could do with a bit more , maybe an air conditioned night club till 2 ish .
Food whoever complains about food is 90 pence short of a quid or just out for a moan . The food was great everywhere , you cant complain about the food simply because you didnt like it , if it was cooked well which it was and hot which it was . I put on nearly a stone in 2 weeks and have never eaten as well on holiday , beef , pork , chicken , fish as spicy or not as you like it . The sandwiches in the fridge in the sports bar were not to my liking but replaced regularly .
Downtown cancun just what i expected plenty of people and noise .a good place if you wanted to party
Did the coco bongos trip was good but drinks were poor quality vodka thrown at you .
Went fishing through tour operator rep , brilliant day out and caught 30 fish inc 25 kg mahe
Dont bother with the vip lounge at cancun airport its crowded poor food and service wasn't good .
I would definitely return to this hotel as i visited all the rius whilst in cancun and this was without a doubt the best .

Room Tip: Dont bother upgrading to villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micklois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

our first time in Mexico and really enjoyed it. It took us ages to choose a hotel but we are sure that we chose the best one. the food was faultless and every branded drink you can think of. We went with our daughters aged 19 and 21. they wanted to go into the main clubbing area and this was arranged by the hotel with a member of the entertainment team. they would got to a different club every night and would meet in the lobby and go as a group. This was peace of mind for us knowing that they wasn't wondering around on there own. All rooms have a se view and the whole hotel is spotless. There was plenty of sunbeds around the pool and beach. great holiday fab hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went with a group of five friends to the palace in June. I was expecting a grandiose hotel in the hotel zone... yet I can't help but feel a little bit disappointed. Here's why: I've stayed in Cancun before at an all-inclusive resort and the food was good. However, the food at this resort did not nearly come close to my expectations. They give you a selection of restaurants to choose from but the food in each restaurant is the same food from the other restaurants in disguise. They change the way the food is served to make it look like they give a wide variety and selection. The buffet is exhausting. Its humid and you are eating amongst flies. The restaurant I would recommend is Krystal. Next, the pools are great, but no one really wants to party with you. They stare. They glare. They look at you without a care. It seems a little rude. The service near the pool is very impressive. They will bring you drinks all day long.
As far as the nightlife is concerned... the hotel offers you nothing after 10 pm. It becomes dead and everyone goes to bed. So if you want a hotel that gives you nightlife.. this is not the one. Except you can go out to the clubs since they are near the downtown Cancunian clubs. I recommend The City if you like dancing on bars and drinking the night away.
The beach was closed off during some of our stay. It was unforgivable. I paid for that beach and there was caution tape around it like they were burying a dead corpse.
Finally, the elevator was out of service because of water damage. The entire hotel looked like it would be underwater in a week. I'd be surprised if the hotel is still standing in a year. There were buckets everywhere and towels on the floor. Its truly a great sight. Overall, the palace is for families and people who want a quiet stay at a resort. You will get all the sleep you want by the pool since its quiet as a mouse during the day and night. Thank you for your time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Modern hotel, the best looking on the strip. Reception is well air conditioned, staff are a bit dozy but pleasant.
The bath plonked in the middle of the room served well as a washing basket, the shower cubicle was a bit transparent too, bit peep show if you were travelling with a friend.
The optics were refilled a few times and checked daily, initially they missed that the bottle was empty but a call to reception sorted it within 10 mins. You need to book the restaurants and the one that allows you to just turn up had an hours wait for a table so put ur name down before you expect to eat. The buffet restaurant was a bit samey but there was a decent variety. Breakfasts were great especially liked the omelet station.
The entertainment was a touch lame but the beach party was really worth a visit, as was the beach bar. Waiter Service whilst sunbathing was fab, constantly walking by and providing cocktails etc. loved the swim up bar too. Beach sellers were confined to the beach so no mither.
One of the lifts broke trapping my friend but there are a few available. We never suffered any noise issues unlike other reviewers. The room was spotless. Cancun town was a touch seedy at night if you meandered off the main drag even just to one road back. Coco bongo was worth every penny for the VIP deal but book early to ensure you can go on your preferred day. Great holiday, breathtaking views, genuine all inclusive deal with good prompt service, we attended a wedding which was lovely from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is simply amazing. The hotel staff are so helpful and the place is so clean. The restaurants are brilliant although I would give the Mexican a miss as it wasn't that great. The Japanese was the best. Saying that the buffet restaurant was my favourite due to the huge choice. The dribks are all branded top shelf and you can have whatever you want. I have one issue, We booked with Thomson for our honeymoon and booked a jacuzzi junior suite. These are the rooms with a jacuzzi on the balcony in the main building. When we arrived at the hotel they told us we had been upgraded to a villa. These are no way as good as any of the rooms in the main building. They are only 3 storeys and set back slightly. They have no view. We noticed many people got upgraded. Please don't take this upgrade stay in the main building. We had to argue with reception to get the room we had booked and paid for. Other than that it's awesome and cancun is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukdanfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Peninsular Hotel from 10/06/13 to 24/06/13 and enjoyed every minute. This is the 5th time we have been to Mexico and usually stay in Playacar as we thought Cancun may be too rowdy but we were wrong. We chose this Hotel as it was fairly new and looked so fantastic in the Thomsons brochure and it is. We walked into reception when we arrived and it was amazing and the friendliness of the staff immediately was noticeable starting with the doorman and then the receptionist (Hugo). The luggage arrived at our room before we did and the porter was waiting for us. We went in and the room was fantastic, really huge and the décor was brilliant and so clean. We had let the Hotel know it was our 39th Wedding Anniversary and they had decorated the bed with petals and huge swans made from towels. There was a knock at the door and we had champagne and strawberries delivered to us. We went on to the balcony and could not believe the view but evidently low or high floors all have beautiful views but we were on the 11th floor in room 1136 as we had requested a high floor. The first night we were tired from the travelling so did not feel like a huge meal so didn't take much notice of the food available and just had a small plate and then sat and had a drink and had an early night. The next day we started our holiday and when we looked around this beautiful Hotel could not believe our eyes, wonderful. How anyone could give a bad review I do not know, there must be something seriously wrong with them. The beach is small but ample but we spent our days by the pools (5 of them all together) and had a great time listening to the music and watching the entertainment going on all throughout the day. The entertainment team work so hard and put everything they can into making everyone enjoy themselves. If you do not want the music and entertainment there are plenty of places to sit away from it. Then at night they then work extra hard again to entertain you by putting on shows some from outside entertainers but on the nights they put on the shows themselves they were very funny and enjoyable. If you prefer a quieter night there are other bars to sit in and watch the world go by. Now to the food, what can I say other than superb, the choice is unbelievable. We ate in the main buffet restaurant in the evenings which suited our tastes but the Al a carte restaurants looked superb as well. My husband loves shell fish and the choice day and night for him was brilliant along with the best steaks available every meal time and then other meats available as well. The salad bar and the sweets were amazing and I now need to get some of the weight off I have put on. We asked for Hector to be our waiter in the evenings as he always had a good table for us and he was superb. He always made us laugh and was very professional but friendly and made our meal very enjoyable. We told him it was our Wedding Anniversary and he had a cake made for us and decorated our table, it was lovely. All of the staff were friendly and could not do enough for you, if you asked you got if it was available. The cleaning staff are always working and the Hotel is spotless. The only thing I got frustrated with was the rudeness of some of the Americans to the staff (not all of them) who do they think they are talking to. They need to remember that slave labour ended a long time ago and manners do not hurt anyone a please and thank you works wonders. Myself and my husband would like to thank everyone at the Hotel for a tremendous holiday and we will be returning next year, try keeping us away.
A negative for Thomsons Airlines, the food on board the aircraft this year was terrible what has happened, the last 4 years the food was great, no choice this year and very poor quality. On an 11 hour flight you expect better than we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clydeBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cancun
1.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#22 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#31 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
8.9 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#46 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Jetsetter, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing