We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I've been to Cancun 8 times and this resort is one of the best! I recommend it. My husband and I made it in yesterday and have 7 more days. So far the food and drinks are great. I will send pictures later.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,084
    1,079
    335
    122
    118
See reviews for
1,168
2,422
66
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

just arrived back from 2 week vacation.Hotel in general very nice,lovely bedrooms with great housekeeping.Reasonable bars and drinks.Good swimming pool areas but fairly poor beach area for a hotel of this size.A la carte restaurants ok.Krystal and japanese very good with hot food!Mexican and steakhouse mediocre.Buffets restaurants poor for a hotel of this grade.Food lukewarm at best,poor choice and questionable hygiene.Stomach upsets experienced by us and many other people we spoke to during our stay.
won't be returning in near future

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing down the hotel strip.these are above hotel air conditioning units and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trev602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

This was my first time to be at an all inclusive hotel. This hotel is very nice and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone to stay here. Family, couples, singles. There is something for everyone. The food was excellent and the drinks never stopped.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have recently returned from a long weekend trip to Riu Palace Peninsula. This RIU Palace as mentioned in other reviews is completely different in décor and lay out than other Palace’s in Mexico. I thought the modern furniture and themes were nice and not over the top. Check in was fast and I was given an ocean view room that was lovely. The room does lack privacy and there is no appropriate space to change your clothes in. The shower is big with protected shelves and the toilet does have a door for privacy. The pool area was magnificent with multiple shaded areas and umbrellas. There are 2 bars serving the beach and pool areas and wait time for drinks was short. The breakfast and lunch buffets were great but the offerings didn’t change that much day to day. The first night we dined in the Italian restaurant which is a non-reservation restaurant currently. The service was prompt and the food was good. On the day of check in, I was able to make a reservation for the 3rd night of our stay at the Steakhouse. The standard menu was offered and the food came out pre-prepared in mass (i.e. potato with sauce on top already). I had the surf and turf and the steak tasted of tenderizer. My friend did use the nail service at the spa and they were very accommodating. The live music in the lobby bar at night was very enjoyable for before or after dinner. We watched one of the shows and thought that the house band was very talented. The show was a level above the usual high school like productions that can go on. I did take a snorkeling trip with Scuba Caribe that was just out from shore about 10 minutes to a protected reef. The trip was just snorkeling and that was great. The pickup location is at the end of the adjacent Riu property which is under construction. It was a bit of a trek to go up and down the manmade beach front. Overall a very nice trip to another beautiful Riu Palace.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagoTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

RIU Palace Peninsula
We booked this hotel from May 19-22, 2012 in hopes that this new resort would exceed our last horrendous experience and checked out with the same feeling as our prior experience.

Employees here are beyond lazy, lazy is an understatement because no one wants to work. We stayed in room number 708 which has the outside oceanfront Jacuzzi. It is impossible to reach guest services or customer service at night. I had to continuously call Salvador in room service, for him to try to connect me to the front desk to set up the wake up call alarm for the next morning. This process would take at least 30 minutes every night and when we would go downstairs all the employees are standing around behind the customer service desk, talking amongst each other ignoring the phones! God forbid an emergency actually happens, the hotel staff would be the last to know of the situation! Even after setting up the wake up call we were still woken up past the original time we had scheduled. Ordering room service took at least an hour for us to receive and the food was cold, like if it was just sitting there and no one paid any attention to it. I can recall one night around 10:00PM where I called room service to order a Diet Pepsi and they wanted to transfer me to the bar. For what?! Can’t they bring it to me themselves?! After waiting past 12:00AM, we went to sleep and received a call from an employee close to 200AM, with an attitude, stating that she was knocking on our door and that we weren’t answering. Are you kidding me?! By then we figured we were never going to be receiving the Diet Pepsi and had gone to sleep. But seriously, I understand a new resort must be busy adjusting but approximately 4 hours to receive a non-alcoholic drink is a joke. On another night, the resort seemed to be having some satellite issues and none of the TV’s in the rooms were working, they had lost signal.

We were not at all surprised that the food here was just as tasteless as it was in the RIU Palace Punta Cana. The buffet food was a challenge just to get down and the restaurant food was worst. We weren’t the only guests complaining either, there were other guests who were complaining with the servers, repeatedly asking for other plates of food in hopes that the next one would be better than the last. Amongst all the waiters, only Yvonne from Las Olas restaurant was the only employee who was working and made meals somewhat pleasant. As far as the drinks go, this resort uses the same bar menu as the RIU Palace Punta Cana, same drinks with the same taste, full of sugar that are impossible to stomach.

The resort also looks like it was rushed to open, there are countless grammatical errors in signs, menus, etc. For example, the coffee bar cappuccino is spelled, “Capuchino” Appetizers on some of the menus are spelled, “Appetisers” Cranberry on the pool bar menu are spelled, “Camberry” And these are just a few of the mistakes. On our arrival only one of the many elevators were in working order, making it a line of 20 minutes just to get to our rooms. We even befriended one of the guests in line with us to get into the elevators who told us that the elevators were without light a few days before.

Upon our last day before departure, while we were relaxing getting some sun by the pool one of the entertainment employees came up to us and said, “Chicas, van a participar en el evento del baile?” We felt shocked that an employee would come up to us and make a racial slur and discriminate because of our sexual orientation and have to courage to say it out loud enough to make it public. The assistant hotel director who I believe is Spanish is also extremely rude and you can never get a word out when talking to him.

This is the last straw for us with the RIU, no one at these resorts seems to care or even make little effort to make sure guests have a positive experience. I am sure that if Mr. Juan Riu or Mr. Luis Riu Bertrán were here with us today they would be disenchanted with their resorts and the way they are being managed on a daily basis and would make every single effort to have every guest check out with a smile on their faces, with the feeling of them wanting to come back not run away from the resorts.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

After staying in everyone of the Riu's in the Cancun and Riveria this was one of the most relaxing time my wife and I have enjoyed there. For this hotel to have been open only the 3rd week when we arrived the check in to check out was great. The only thing that my wife and I feel that needs a little and I mean only a little is the buffet food, the Riu Cancun out if all has the best food selection. The rooms and the beds are great for a couple, if you had children I can see it would be a problem with the open shower area into the room as the pictures show. The workers, waiters, managers, desk managers, spa managers to the room service could not have been more pleasant .. Thank You Riu for another great summer vacation and looking forward to our 10th year in 2013, lord willing.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank KevnDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Palace Peninsula and the 3rd time to Cancun , last year we went twice to the Azul Sensatori by Karisma Hotel and is a better hotel than the Peninsula with Concierge personnel service and much better 24 hr room service food. The holiday started badly you could last year after going via customs got straight outside to the taxis,but not this year you have to fill another customs form out which you are given in the airport and wait in a very long line of people,when you finally arrive at the front to hand in the form you then press a button if it come up green you walk out to the taxis if it come up red you have the unpack you luggage for inspection after a 10hr flight from the UK what do they think you are importing.
When we finally arrived at the the hotel it looks very impresive and new,the booking in was very quick and we asked for a lower floor room because my wife has a problem with her knees walking up and down stairs she is in a lot of pain and there are 17 floors and in case of a fire you cannot use the lifts, so we got a room on the lowest floor which is the 1st floor there are no rooms on the ground floor.The next day we went to the pool area no problem getting a sun lounger but this is when the problems started for my wife no chairs to sit on she cannot get up and down off a sun longer.Asked for a chair for her sit on said they would proved on every day but it never came.
after 2 days when had to upgrade to a VIP villa which where on the ground floor which she could sit out side next to the VIP pool but it cost us a extra £400.
The hotel is not for very small children say up to the age of 10 the children pool is very small with no room for sun loungers around it,there is no outside childrens play area with swings and climbing frames and slides and no evening disco for the children like other hotels
The food is not 5 star food and most of the time only just warm not hot and served on cold plates but it did improve on the second week after talking to the manager,there is only house wine avilable and just about drinkable,on week one we went to the steakhouse and had to to send it back 3 times to get it hot and on hot plates but on the second week on my wifes birthday the service had improved a lot.The dress code is not 5 star shorts/flip flops being worn for dinner by both ladies and men.
The beach area is very rocky apart from a small area about 20mtrs long while we where there 3 people badly cut there feet on glass bottles that where in the sand under the water also there there ia a lot of sea weed washed up but the staff try and clean it up very day,the sand is very course up to near the waters edge then it is like real beach sand near the waters edge.
The food quality dress code needs to be improved before i could say this a 5 star hotel

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a sea view room £7 per night with Thomson upgrade to ground floor a VIP villa w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanb585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Cancun
Hotel Riu Cancun
#29 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,590 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Las Americas
4.0 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Caribe
Hotel Riu Caribe
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,200 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
Address: Blvd Kukulkan, Km 5.5 Lote 6-C | Zona Hotelera, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula 4*
Number of rooms: 562
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing