We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good, year after year”
Review of Thai Lounge

Thai Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Thai Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 981 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A magnificent place, hidden among the green foliage of a botanical garden. Perfect for a magical evening in a relaxed outdoor connects us with nature atmosphere. Overlooking a dolphinarium and the stunning lagoon Nichupte that delights us with beautiful sunsets. The restaurant has acclimated palapas with tables, rooms or beds. Here you can enjoy delicious Thai food prepared by our chef Supoj Thamtinno, originally from Thailand. The style of eating is to share many dishes served at the same time, but in the art of mixing when the chemistry of exquisite flavors arises.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Consistently good, year after year”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Been going to Cancun for many years and we discovered the Thai Lounge a few years ago. Ate there again this year and had another very good meal. Many restaurants in the Cancun hotel zone seem to be inconsistent from year to year, but the Thai Lounge has always been good. Service was very good and the food was excellent, although I am no expert on Thai food. We were a party of 7 people, some who had never eaten Thai before, and everyone found something on the menu and enjoyed what they ordered. None of us like really spicy food, and this place offers many entrees that are not spicy at all -- or can be made with less "heat" if you request -- so do not be afraid to go here if you're like us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikaman185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acuario C, Community Manager at Thai Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for all your feedback, comments and for sharing your experience with us.
We are very pleased to know you had a great experience with us.
Hope to see you back soon.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    324
    134
    53
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chi
2 reviews
“Great ambience - Good food - bit Pricy”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

be sure to get a table in the hut over the water. Very cool!
Service was great - we were never rushed.
Food was good - not great. Then again, we didn't walk in expecting a culinary experience. it was expensive for what its worth, however given the touristy area, it is probably the best bang for your buck and everyone loved the ambience.

Go near sunset and you can see the action from your hut over the water!

They do have Shisha / Hookah pipes available for smoking. We got one and severely disappointed with the quality of the tobacco and the setup. It was around $25 for the shisha pipe and $4 for additional coal. Save your money and pass on this option albeit tempting to smoke over the open water.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ctmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acuario C, Community Manager at Thai Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your recommendations. Hope to see you back soon. Goodnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food.. Go for Ambience!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

It is a great place to have drinks and dinner.Food is good but I have eaten better Thai food.The ambience is amazing and is totally worth the experience. Make sure to get a seating facing the waters. If u like Dolphin watching, u can dine and do that as well.. Cheers.. $$$

Helpful?
Thank Legacykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acuario C, Community Manager at Thai Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and comments. It's a pleasure to serve you and hope to see you back soon... Goodnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exotic dining experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The restaurant is on the Cancun lagoon. We had a reservation for a private dining patio over the water but the wind was really blowing and it is an outside restaurant. We were able to move off the water as the restaurant was not crowded that night. Our waitress was very sweet and soft spoken. The food was tasty, the service very quick. Nothing was lacking but I wouldn't go back. The location has it's pluses and minus..put bug spray on before going and there is bug spray on the table too. The setting is very exotic, bamboo, bridges to cross, nice lighting. I think we should have gone for appetizers and a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CWFSantaCruz_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acuario C, Community Manager at Thai Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and comments. It's a pleasure to serve you. Goodnight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great night overlooking the water”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Thai was truly a "dining experience". We had a large group at a big funky table jutting out over the water on a beautiful evening. So comfortable; no insects at all. I agree with the other reviewer who described it as "Disney-esque". The service was quite good, the food was excellent and in generous portions. We were offered a special cucumber martini that everyone loved.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lounge also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Thai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing