We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“All Good - Great layover hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand City Hotel
Ranked #81 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Menlo Park CA
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“All Good - Great layover hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the perfect hotel when you have a tay or two layover between flights. In a commercial area of Cancun, the hotel is a wonderful place to hangout. Nice rooms, free WiFi. A small pool, Wonderful, helpful front desk. Walkable distance to truly memorable dining. Ask at the front desk for recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    67
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
93
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

For the price, the Grand City hotel is actually a pretty decent hotel close to everything in downtown Cancun (there's a Walmart across the street) and a few blocks from Avenidad Tulum. The rooms are very clean and quite large. AC, flat screen TV, wifi and a free continental breakfast are provided. There's also a small pool in the courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only problem with this hotel is that staying there is like playing Russian roulette....There's a biker bar just down the street. Some nights, there is very LOUD music...making sleep impossible before 2AM, some nights, everything is very quiet.... Sooooo, if you're planning to stay at the Grand City, bring a pair of ear plugs!

Room Tip: The best rooms are those to the left of the courtyard (when facing the courtyard), furthest away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAPLongueuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We found the Grand City Hotel very clean and well maintained. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are also a good size with everything you could want. The pool is small but it is also a short walk to the ocean which we prefere anyway. There were some late night noisy bars next door but we were not bothered by them during the week were were there. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we had no language issues at all. As stated in one of the reviews the Grand City Hotel is a perfect low budget option for Cancun.

Room Tip: Grand City Hotel is a perfect low budget option for Cancun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 686donm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

The Grand City Hotel is the perfect low budget option for Cancun. The hotel is new, the rooms are big and well furnished (including microwave, coffee machine, small fridge), they look nice and everything (inside and outside around the pool) looks very clean. We had a car and everything was easy to reach. As I mentioned in the title it was almost perfect: the only problem is the loud bar at the end of the street playing live hard rock music every night till 2 am. Nevertheless we would go back!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naspen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is a hotel in the city that has been wonderfully maintained/renovated. Rooms are large, spotlessly clean, with large clean, well appointed bathrooms. It is important to realize that this is not a resort hotel on the beach. It does have a small swimming pool and a small, clean indoor/outdoor cafe.
My wife and I do not speak Spanish. There was always a bilingual person at the desk who was quick to come and help us order at the cafe. The staff was uniformly pleasant and helpful. The desk was always friendly and willing to help us with directions and suggestions for local restaurants and shops.
This would be our first choice for a layover stop in Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We agree with all the positive reviews about the Grand City. As long as you don't expect a Mega resort, or in the Hotel zone, this is an excellent choice in Cancun. It is close to the Bus Depot if you are travelling within the Yucatan (we're returning from Merida) and is close to several small restaurants and a few bars. Our room was well-appointed and very clean, the wifi signal was strong, and the restaurant and small pool were clean and quiet. It is on a busy street, but we had very little traffics noise in our room. If you want a nice room for a layover before flying home, or want to be the Bus Depot, this is a good, economical choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skihockeynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A modern hotel. That means large bathroom with hot and large stream of water, simple yet decent breakfast, internet access for free (although the signal isn't very strong, it just about works well enough), night time reception and a fridge. Stuff like the bus station and certainly the beach aren't very near bye, but the taxis are aplenty and very cheap (certainly after negotiating). There's a very loud, very popular bar on the street corner, which depending on your room location might get you up all night. Ask for the one farthest away if you come to sleep. Beds are quite hard but not uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erickok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bonampak
Hotel Bonampak
#85 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cancun Clipper Club
Cancun Clipper Club
#82 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#89 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#79 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.4 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand City Hotel

Property: Grand City Hotel
Address: Av. Yaxchilan 154 Manzana 17 SM 20, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand City Hotel has a strategic and privileged location for all executive or families who require proximity to work centers, financial institutions, shops, restaurants and services close to stadiums, minutes from the hotel zone to receive visitors on vacation, which allows them to enjoy a hotel that will provide comfort and relaxation with a warm service.We are a 4 star hotel and we have over 300 m2 of beautiful gardens, pool and our new gourmet coffee shop "cafe Naay" where you can choose to indulge in any of our dishes or snack, rest and relax, or use it as a nice area work, and to combine with family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Grand City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing