We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet oasis away from the tacky beach areas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand City Hotel
Ranked #82 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet oasis away from the tacky beach areas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have stayed in the Grand City Hotel twice, and both times have been very pleased with the cleanliness, service, and accommodating staff. The food in the little café is delicious - particularly the chicken enchiladas! The café shuts in the afternoon though, so you can't eat here in the evening.

The hotel has a small pool, and the rooms are all round a little courtyard with the pool and trees, with loungers. It's all very contained, but very peaceful and relaxing. An ideal stop-over place if you have arrived at Cancun airport but are heading off elsewhere in Mexico (as we were).

Room Tip: There is a bikers bar that occasionally plays loud music late at night. It didn't happen the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lugg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    69
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
38
94
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay overnight. We were not interested in the beach. This place was within walking distance of Market 47 (supposing you don't get lost) and of the old town center. The staff bent over backwards to help us with things like finding somewhere to eat, ordering taxis, drying our shoes etc. This was greatly appreciated.
Our room was at the far end. It was so noisy during the night. It sounded like we were right next to a night-club with a band playing until the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the far end if you don't want to be kept away by the noise from the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

As long as you don't need the beach outside your room, you will enjoy your stay at the Grand City. The staff was great, the rooms were spacious. In the room was a microwave, safe and mini-refridge. Also a coffee machine. ( they provide the coffee and a bottle of water to make it).

There are no elevators here but only two floors, so not a problem. The air worked great and the hot water was good. The only negative, sometimes it took a while for the water to get hot. Once it did, the shower was good.

The bed was nice and firm, the room was very clean. There's a small pool and restaurant that I didn't try during my stay.

Since the hotel is located downtown, I took the bus to the beach the two days it didn't rain. The bus stop is only half a block away. The Sam's club and walmart is one long block away. Many good eating places in downtown which I usually walked to, but if you need a taxi from the hotel, it was usually $30.00 mx anywhere downtown.

When I don't need the pampering of the resorts, this is where I'll stay in Cancun, at a 1/3 the cost of the resorts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Gerente at Grand City Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
We are grateful for valuable comments.
Regarding the hot water, we have implemented a machine that allows recirculating hot water arrives more rapidly. Also put sticker red and blue in the single lever to indicate where to direct the key to get the hot water.
I believe these actions will improve our quality of service to you.
The entire team of Grand City Hotel Cancun will send warm greetings, wishing back soon and serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while doing day-tours around yucatan. Very happy with the place, had everything we would have hoped for when booking it.
We stayed in a junior suite, the room was basic but modern, spacious and clean. A bit noisy at times due to live music next door, but shouldn't have been a problem for other rooms as our one was the only room with windows facing out on the street.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, some did not have much english but we always managed to get across what we needed.
The hotel is located close to a lively downtown area, it feels safe but you won't see many holiday-makers around. Its fairly far from the main Kukulcan blvd, you'd need a taxi to get there.
Grand city hotel has a tiny pool (looks bigger in the pictures), probably ok for a quick dip in the hot day but not really suitable for anything else. There is an outside bar area that was closed in June but opened up and served breakfast every morning. Food looked good but we would usually go to a nearest convenience store to get juices, yohgurts and pastries instead.

Overall, good honest clean budget accommodation. Not great for a long-term stay but a perfect harbour for a couple of days while exploring the yucatan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jalouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for 14 nights in August with family inc 2 teenagers. Pleasantly surprised to find such a spacious room at such a good price-we had to budget for accomodation after our planned visit stayng with friends fell through. Every member of staff at the hotel was pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The manager was extremely hospitable, best customer service I have ever come across! Rooms cleaned daily, and extremely clean. There is a bikers' bar a few doors down, we popped in a couple of times as the music was right up our street. The noise from the bar didn't really affect our sleep as the air con was on each night which overrode the noise. Nice small pool which was a welcome dip at the end of the day, rarely anyone else using it. Had a great time here. Well done Grand City!

Room Tip: Rooms on right hand side probably quieter, this was where our room was located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenking62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped here for one night after arriving in Mexico and before heading on a road trip, had a very pleasant experience. The hotel is around 5 minutes walk from central Cancun. Our room was clean, modern and very spacious, I believe we got upgraded to studio as we only booked a standard room, which was a nice surprise. There is also a small pool which offers a refreshing start to the day. Staff were really helpful, we had accidentally locked our keys and rental details in the car and the gentleman at reception kindly found the necessary contact numbers, phoned the rental company and got them to bring us spare keys. Would definitely recommend for a short stop in central Cancun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Rooms are large and clean. Bathroom smells every time you put the shower on. Hotel could not fix my room telephone to make local calls and a hotel suggestion company of renting a car never appeared. Breakfast is very limited and you have to buy extras. Very close to Walmart, there is a bar two houses down the road with live music every night but no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrazilMarcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
0.4 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Cancun Centro
ibis Cancun Centro
#79 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Suites Nader
Hotel & Suites Nader
#89 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#41 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Krystal Urban Cancun
Krystal Urban Cancun
#74 of 181 in Cancun
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand City Hotel

Property: Grand City Hotel
Address: Av. Yaxchilan 154 Manzana 17 SM 20, Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand City Hotel has a strategic and privileged location for all executive or families who require proximity to work centers, financial institutions, shops, restaurants and services close to stadiums, minutes from the hotel zone to receive visitors on vacation, which allows them to enjoy a hotel that will provide comfort and relaxation with a warm service.We are a 4 star hotel and we have over 300 m2 of beautiful gardens, pool and our new gourmet coffee shop "cafe Naay" where you can choose to indulge in any of our dishes or snack, rest and relax, or use it as a nice area work, and to combine with family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing