We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Special Mayan Tours
from $290.00
More Info
from $807.00
More Info
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
150
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
150
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pepe lopez private tour ek balam driver jose westin lagunamar spanish colonial town sink hole day tour excellent tour beat the crowds historical facts avoid the crowds reuben great knowledge small van group tour cold water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2019

If you are looking for a private tour of the Mayan ruins -- several notches above the busy group tours shuttled though by bus -- this is the tour company for you!

We were incredibly happy with our private guided tour to Chichen Itza, Valladolid, then Ek Balam. Getting to Chichen Itza early was a brilliant suggestion by Special Mayan Tours as we beat both the crowds and scorching sun getting there when the gates opened. Pepe, our tour guide, kept us engaged with his storytelling style -- going through the amazing history of the Mayans as it relates to Chichen Itza and Ek Balam while leading us through the ruins. He was very customer-focused as he skillfully paced and guided the tour to our needs and requests.

It was a full 11-hour day of Mayan culture and history, with a wonderful stop at Valladolid in the middle for lunch. Valladolid, a beautiful Spanish colonial town, was an excellent suggestion by Pepe for lunch at El Mesón del Marqués. What an authentic setting -- beautiful Spanish architecture designed courtyard offering delicious traditional regional cuisine.

Rubin, our driver, was great too. He stay back in our luxury van, watching our belongings and making sure the van was cool when we returned from our humid walking tour of the ruins.

Totally worth it!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Enjoythejourney777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepe L, Director of Sales at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you so much for all your comments and review. We are looking forward to making you have another great day out there...!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

Great trip be prepared to be gone all day.. Great sights to see.. pyramids are amazing. Very informative.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank bigdvip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepe L, Director of Sales at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments and review.
We are so glad to hear that you had a great day.
We look forward to making you have a another great day out there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2019 via mobile

This is the only tour company you need. Pepe responded quickly and efficiently to my emails before we went on our trip. On the actual tour day, he was totally brilliant: great English, very knowledgeable, fun, and helpful. The tour itself was amazing. He also helped arrange a fishing trip on another day. If I could give more stars, he deserves them all. Do not hesitate to contact him - you will not be disappointed!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank jexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepe L, Director of Sales at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you so much for your comments and review.
We are so glad to hear that you had a great day and a great experience while enjoying your holidays here in Cancun.
It will be a pleasure to have you again in another great trip..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

This was the highlight of my recent trip to Mexico. Chichen Itza, the Cenote and a short visit to an old Mexican town would have been a great day on its own, but Pepe's knowledge, commentary and recommendations made it into a 5-star trip. I highly recommend Special Mayan Tours and Pepe for a full-service guided tour.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepe L, Director of Sales at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you for your comments and review..!!
Without a doubt, a private tour is just a great way to enjoy a day out there.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in another wonderful private tour...!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2019

We booked a private tour through Westin Lagunamar concierge services with Special Mayan Tours for 5 adults and 3 kids. The entire tour was an excellent experience and conducted in a very professional and friendly manner. Considering we had young kids in our group and the heavy rush of December Holidays, our tour guide Pepe arranged for tickets for Chichen Itza and Cenote Ikkil ahead of time. We wasted no time ticket lines. Pepe gave an excellent guided tour of Chichen-Itza, suggested what to buy where and took some nice snaps of our group. Post Chichen Itza, we had a nice cool dip in Cenote Ikkil. The water was just fabulous. We then procedded for late lunch at Valladolid main square. Lunch tables were reserved by Pepe ahead of time. Overall highly recommend this trip and Special Mayan Tours.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Shekhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepe L, Director of Sales at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a great time with us in your private tour.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in another private tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews