We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cancun
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Special Mayan Tours
from $807.00
More Info
from $290.00
More Info
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
159
10
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
159
10
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour ek balam his knowledge driver jose westin lagunamar spanish colonial town sink hole excellent tour main temple tour company small van mayan culture and history cold water great trip pepe abraham manuel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 171 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We are so glad we did this tour! We saw Mérida, 3 different Mayan ruins and a Cenote(the best part). We didn’t care to be in the car for so long and my stomach wasn’t so happy with the lunches provided, but at the end it was worth it for the experience. Manny and Jose were our guides and they really made it a safe and wonderful trip to remember. Manny is so knowledgeable about the Mayans and their culture. He really seems to enjoy what he does and that added so much more to it. Thank you guys!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sbowers5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepe L, Director Comercial at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your review...!!
We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us around here.
We look forward to seeing you again in another one of our Special Mayan Tours..!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Excellent tour The guide did a fantastic job of explaining all about the ruins. He then took us to a cove on the beach for an excellent lunch and some beach time. After that we went to 5th ave at Playa Da Carmen for some shopping the day was very good and great personnel tour.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank absherman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLopezE, Director Comercial at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are so glad to hear that you had a great time with us down here.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Pepe (our guide) and Jesus (our driver) were great during our full day private tour to Chichen Itza. Pepe was knowledgeable, fun, and kept the entire family (all 10 of us) entertained. The trip was great for all age groups, from my 7 year old to the grandparents. The lunch and Cenote visit were fabulous, not crowded, and fun and accessible for everyone. Highly recommend Special Mayan Tours!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Amy781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLopezE, Director Comercial at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thanks a lot for your review..!!

We are so happy to know that you had a great time with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in another one of our Special Mayan Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

We have used Special Mayan Tours for several years. Abraham has been our guide !! He has great knowledge and very cooperative and helpful in every aspect of our tours. He s very knowledgeable and great about helping everyone to understand the beauty of the Mayan Culture!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank josettem816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLopezE, Director Comercial at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you a lot for your review and opinion.

We can't wait to see you again and show you a great time down here.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

Wow! My sisters and I (all in our 60s) took a private, all-day tour to Chichen Itza and Ek Balam, with a stop at Selva Mayan Restaurant and Cenote to celebrate my birthday. It was the highlight of our 5 days in Cancun. We were given lots of good advice prior to arriving in Mexico, and felt prepared for our 11 hour day trip. They advised us to leave early (7 AM) to avoid the crowds, and we were glad they did. We arrived well ahead of the larger tours and spent no time in the lines we observed later in the day.
Our guide, Pedro, was certified, knowledgeable about Mayan history and culture, spoke excellent English, and was prepared with extra pictures and diagrams that helped us understand the magnitude of what we were experiencing. Ruben, our driver, was skilled, jovial and also spoke good English. They made us feel comfortable and cared for though out the trip.
You should be prepared for a 2+ hour drive from Cancun to Chichen Itza. We were comfortably transported in small van with good visibility. Cold water was provided. The sites themselves were amazing, and different enough to warrant a trip to both. There is a lot of walking, and at Ek Balam you may still climb the stairway leading to the top of the temple, if you have the stamina. Pedro was very helpful in assisting us to see the various forms carved in the stonework that has worn away with time and conquest. We marveled at a people who were able to build such huge, complex structures without the benefit of modern tools.
On our way from Chichen Itza to Ek Balam we stopped at Selva Mayan Restaurant and Cenote. The buffet offered for lunch had numerous dishes, cooked in the Yucatan style. The food was delicious and plentiful; the staff attentive. The Cenote was a great place to dip our toes into the cool water. Swimming is optional.
If you have one thing to splurge on while in Cancun, we can highly recommend a private tour from Special Mayan Tours. It was a wonderful experience that we will remember forever. Thank you Pedro and Rubin! And thanks also to Pepe Lopez who helped us with the pre-tour arrangements.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Klh174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseLopezE, Director Comercial at Special Mayan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thank you so much for your review...!! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your private tour a lot. It was a great pleasure to have you with us down here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews