We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent - great food, great prices, cheap wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tigre y El Toro

El Tigre y El Toro
Ranked #79 of 951 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: https://foursquare.com/v/el-tigre-y-el-toro/4c46634ddd35be9a9cd7ddd8
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistent - great food, great prices, cheap wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I love this place! I am working in Cancun for now and this place has become a regular spot for us. The menu is not huge, but it is all Italian and everything I have tried so far is very tasty. Warm bread rolls are brought out after you order, which seem to be homemade. They serve some very nice wines for such low prices (I think it works out to under $4 Canadian), and this is so nice as, in Vancouver, I am used to paying $10-12 a glass. The atmosphere is the best part for me - it is best described as a gravel outdoor courtyard with nice wooden tables and candles on each. Very romantic and almost rustic. My only warning is, as with many places in Mexico, the service can be very slow, occasionally inattentive, even when there appear to be a huge team of servers (tip: I have found the service better when we are two, than a small group). As long as you are not in a hurry, the experience is almost always very, very enjoyable for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveBrazilsoudade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescado C, Public Relations Manager at El Tigre y El Toro, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We´re happy to see your critic, it´s helps us to get better day by day. We hope to see you sometimes soon. (we will pay special attention to the issue of service)

El Tigre y el Toro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    69
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a beautiful, open air restaurant in a local neighborhood. The chef at their sister restaurant next door recommended it. The pasta and pizza are delightful and the price is moderate. The service is a little odd, our orders came out individually, almost like they could only make one pizza, salad or dish at a time so everyone got their meal at different times. The wait staff didn't speak English but we were able to get by with our limited Spanish. This restaurant will go on my list of places to visit each year on our annual visit. One caution, at night the tables are lit with candles which makes it is quite dark, the atmosphere is delightful but bring a flashlight or lighter to read the menu by.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“cozy and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

this is a restaurant located in the center of the city, basically for locals, but it can definitely be an enjoyable experience for tourists. Their menu is not very wide, basically Italian type, their pizzas are thin and crisp. You can enjoy a glass of wine. The place is open, like a patio garden. If you dont want to wait for a table when you arrive, you can make reservations. You can find it in face book.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jorgecancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice and Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The food is good... Service a little slow but nice... Try the Pizzas!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lightia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tigre y El Toro also viewed

 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to El Tigre y El Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing