We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jerry is the BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chichen Itza With Jerry

Chichen Itza With Jerry
Ranked #20 of 315 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine arriving in an unfamiliar country and having a “friend”your personal local contact to meet you and show you the best way to spend your time. Expert guided services to Yucatán, Riviera Maya, Cancun & the entire Mayan region; Calakmul – Uxmal – Edzna – Chichen Itza – Tulum – Coba – Ek Balam – Chicanna – Chacchoben – Muyil – Kabah – Becan – Sayil – Kohunlich – Labna – Izamal – Tihosuco – Campeche – Valladolid - Merida - Caves of Loltun – Sian Kaan – Celestun - Ria Lagartos - The Cave of the Hanging Snakes - underworld of cenotes – Bacalar.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jerry is the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We scheduled a private tour with Jerry. We could not have asked for a better tour guide/historian with regard to Chichen Itza and its surrounding history. We spent the day with Jerry and he explained the interpretations and mis-interpertations that have occurred throughout the history of the Chichen Itza site and the people that used the site. Jerry, we are looking forward to an opportunity to book another tour with you. Tolum is next on our wish list.

Thanks, Jerry

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KentL09753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    44
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mini Yucatan Getaway: Chichen Itza, Uxmal & Merida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Jerry met us on schedule at 0630 for the most amazing experience. Right from the start his knowledge & information surpassed anything we could have imagined. The entire journey to Uxmal was an insight into Mayan culture& history. Uxmal was awe inspiring. His knowledge beyond compare. The view from the temple left us speechless. Lunch that Jerry had organised was totally unexpected & the food! Devine. The tour of Merida was a journey into the past & excellent. Again Jerry's tips & suggestions for our night meant we saw & experienced things we would not have with a large group. Day 2 Once again Jerry ensured we made the most of our time. He added an extra in with a visit to the new Merida Museum before leaving for Chichen Itza. Lunch was once again awesome. Jerry of course had planned our arrival to avoid the large tour groups which meant we could enjoy our time & experience the wonders & history of the site. We highly recommend Jerry. His knowledge & passion were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. We ended the tour with a new friend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KayeHeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Way to See Chichen Itza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Jerry met us promptly at 6:30 in the lobby as promised. We were a little concerned about the long ride at first but the van is very comfortable and the driver, Frederico was great.
As for the tour, I can't overstate how much a difference it makes getting to the temple early - the reason for the 6:30 pick up time and worth it. On the way there, Jerry shares some fun and interesting facts about the region, people and culture.
Jerry is extremely knowledgeable about the Mayan culture beyond the simple facts about the temples. He takes his job seriously and I believe he feels he is an ambassador for the Mayan history.
I highly recommend Jerry if you are interested in really learning something about the Mayan culture and not just taking an over-crowded five cent tour. It was worth every penney!! Thanks Jerry and Feliz Ano!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Zeusmannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chichen Itza with Jerry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We scheduled a private tour with Jerry and it was a great experience. The entire group consisted of my two brothers (ages 29 and 23), my mom and me (age 28). We left from Cancun and arrived in Chichen Itza about 3 hours later (the van is comfortable if you want to sleep). The best part about it was that we got to the temples ahead of all the large tour groups so we were able to see everything before the crowds piled in. I would highly recommend Jerry. He is very knowledgable and friendly. Thanks Jerry!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Chit zen Itza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Definitely worth coming out here for! Journey is long but catch up with sleep!! We booked through Casa Manga hotel so not sure who it was with but get the one that gives you breakfast - not brilliant but it breaks up the journey !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichen Itza With Jerry also viewed

 

Been to Chichen Itza With Jerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing