We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JERRY IS THE BEST”

Chichen Itza With Jerry
Ranked #24 of 330 Tours in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine arriving in an unfamiliar country and having a “friend”your personal local contact to meet you and show you the best way to spend your time. Expert guided services to Yucatán, Riviera Maya, Cancun & the entire Mayan region; Calakmul – Uxmal – Edzna – Chichen Itza – Tulum – Coba – Ek Balam – Chicanna – Chacchoben – Muyil – Kabah – Becan – Sayil – Kohunlich – Labna – Izamal – Tihosuco – Campeche – Valladolid - Merida - Caves of Loltun – Sian Kaan – Celestun - Ria Lagartos - The Cave of the Hanging Snakes - underworld of cenotes – Bacalar.
Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“JERRY IS THE BEST”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Jerry was an extremely educated tour guide, and you could tell that he wanted to evoke awe in his tourists. He wanted everyone to get involved in the tour, and talked enthusiastically about every aspect of the grounds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thischickjuday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    45
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I opted for the private tour with Jerry for two reasons: 1) the ratings on tripadvisor and 2) his tour started early in the morning (pick up at 6:30am), so we beat the crowds to Chichen Itza.

Jerry and Umberto (the driver) were great. Jerry was knowledgeable and provided lots of great information. My kids (20, 17) and a friend (20) loved the trivia history questions that Jerry challenged us with (which made the 2 1/2 hour drive pass by quickly).

The tour included a visit Chichen Itza (amazing place & Jerry provided lots of history and background during the tour), to a cenote (which was wonderful because again we beat the crowds), a buffet lunch (which was so-so, but then again I am not a buffet fan), and then a visit to the town of Valladolid. Jerry realized that we were not interested in shopping in Valladolid and offered to take us to a Tequilla distillery. The distillery side trip was a hit with the young adults in the group & they voted this the best part of the trip (maybe it was the taste testing or the sombreros).

The tour price is quoted in USD and pesos. My only warning is to check the conversion rate used if you pay in pesos. It was higher than the hotel exchange rate, so we paid a little more for the tour by paying in pesos over USD. Not a huge difference, but I wish I had realized that when I booked the trip and I would have exchanged my pesos for USD at the hotel and paid in USD.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PlanoTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You won't regret it!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had an amazing day with Jerry. Jerry made the drive fly by. We were amongst the first at Chichen Itza for the day and everywhere we went for the rest of the day this trend followed, avoiding the bus loads of other tourists. Jerry was informative and friendly and had all the answers for the questions we asked.

Il Cenote was absolutely amazing, as was Chichen Itza and the town of Valladolid. Jerry knew all of the good things to go and see, the great food (like corn ice cream) and his tour was rich with the history of the Yucatan region. We also appreciated that he didn't try and encourage us to buy from particular vendors for a commission, as some tour guides do.

He even managed to squeeze in a trip to a Tequila distillery where we got to taste test some very fine tequila on the way home.

Jorge, who helped us organise the tour with Jerry, was also extremely friendly and helpful. All entry fees for the day were included in the original price!

Umberto, our driver was amazing ensuring our belongings were safe. He also had a special surprise for us!!

We loved our experience with Jerry and we highly recommend his private and personalised tours over spending the day being herded like cattle on the larger bus tours.

Thank you for the great experience Jerry!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank myfavouritescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Skip the big bus tours... Jerry is the only way to go!!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Start to finish, Jerry gave us an incredible tour of the Yucatan! He is professional, energetic & very knowledgable! We had an early start but we were literally the first people at Chichen Itza. It was so nice to basically have the park to ourselves before the masses arrived in the heat of mid-day. Lunch was then provided, followed by a refreshing swim in Cenote Ik Kil. We then finished up with a tour through the colonial town square of Valladolid & a tasting at a tequila distillery. Every detail was perfectly arranged by Jerry... We didn't have to lift a finger.

If you're looking for a quality customizable tour for a small group, there is no other way to go!!! Worth every peso!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Swallac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never a dull moment!!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I did a tour with Jerry and his driver Umberto in late May and could not be happier about how the day went. Even with the long drive from Cancun to Chichen Itza we were never bored. We both even liked how we would ask Jerry a question and he would make us wait till later in the tour to answer after we seen something that was relevant to the answer. Chichen Itza is a sight to behold on its own but Jerry was just the icing on the cake. If you ever want to do a tour in this area,take my advice and do it with Jerry. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gorlo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chichen Itza With Jerry also viewed

Chichen Itza, Yucatan
 

Been to Chichen Itza With Jerry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing