We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there!!”
Review of Hotel Tankah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tankah
Ranked #133 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
A TripAdvisor Member
Copenhagen, Denmark
19
Reviewed January 12, 2004

My boyfriend and I arrived after midnigt in Cancun just before New Year's (high season and thus hardly any vacancies). We had made a reservation at Hotel Tankah via email, which we had printed and brought with us. When we arrived - at due time according to the reservation - the man at the reception wouldn't even let us in. He opened a window, told us in Spanish (he didn't speak a word of English and our Spanish is very limited) that there was no room available, that he knew nothing of the reservation although we showed it to him, that there was no one there who could speak English, and that we needed to speak to the person who had made the reservation. Of course, he didn't know who that was either... Apart from that, given the fact that we only saw the hotel through the main doors around 1 am, it appeared somewhat uninviting. Provided you can actually get a room, it's probably ok for a night or two.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tankah
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 47 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Winnipeg, MB
16
Reviewed October 22, 2002

Budget hotel, the price range is under $50, maybe $30. Is a place if you are in cancun for the beach. Little bit away from the bus station but in a quiet area. Rooms have the basics and there are some with fan. Most of them have air conditioning. Market 28 (flea market) is across the street. Ask for backpackers´ rates and you can really get a great deal, probably under $25 for two with private bathroom.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank PopCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Isai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank tizinhaInter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Isai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kilivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel los Girasoles Cancun
0.3 mi away
Maria De Lourdes
Maria De Lourdes
#137 of 176 in Cancun
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marazul Hotel Boutique
Marazul Hotel Boutique
#113 of 176 in Cancun
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Batab
Hotel Batab
#131 of 176 in Cancun
63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Los Cuates de Cancun
Los Cuates de Cancun
#155 of 176 in Cancun
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
Hotel Hacienda de Castilla
#105 of 176 in Cancun
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tankah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tankah

Address: Avenida Tankah 69 y 70 SM 24 Mz 3, Cancun 77509, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $28 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Tankah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tankah is located a few steps away from the Market 28, one of the largest handcraft markets in the city. We offer rooms that are clean and basic. The ideal location for the independent traveller or business man who is looking for a place for a hot shower and a clean bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tankah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankah Hotel Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing