We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #52 of 176 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Amid the hustle and bustle of downtown Cancun is this quiet retreat. For us it was a stopover on the way home, but would be nice for a longer stay. You step off the street into a rainforest setting, very relaxing. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our every need. The property was immaculately clean. If you want the quietest room, ask for one at the back. Breakfast was lovely in the garden, with plenty of choice. We'll most definitely stay there again. One thing to note is that it is a short walk from the bus station, but if you have significant luggage and want to avoid crossing traffic especially after dark, make it easy on yourself and take a taxi for just 40 pesos (less than $4).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_In_Comfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por elegir al ECO-HOTEL El Rey Del Caribe, lo importante para el personal es superar las expectativas de, Tranquilidad de quien nos visita, en un ambiente sano, limpio y relajado a precios familiares.
Le esperamos en su próxima visita en este ECO-HOTEL donde minimizamos el impacto al medio ambiente , mediante técnicas adecuadas y reconocidas por REINFOREST ALLIANCE.
Gracias
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 639 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

It is rare that we want to go back to the same place, because there's always so much new to explore. That said, I would l-o-v-e to return to this charming "oasis in central Cancun." It was intriguing that our room key had the number written in base-20 Mayan numbering. The staff was so friendly that I thought about joining the morning group that gathered by the pool for what might have been Mayan tai-chi,or something equally appealing. I liked hearing the birds that gathered in the secluded garden. Although some might think our room to be dark, I regarded it as a respite from the bright sun... I'm grateful to TripAdvisor for helping us to find this boutique hotel with its justifiable pride in its environmental conservation, and want to do my part in helping to raise its "excellent" rating so that more visitors to Cancun will know about this locally owned alternative to chain hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

A thousand times thank you, this hotel was designed to understate the impact of community environment. while giving first-rate comfort.
thanks hope to see you again, remember that you can also use the offer above.
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here our first night in Mexico, before traveling around the Yucatan. The hotel was easy to find via GPS, a welcome relief since we were driving a rental car. We loved this hotel, with its beautiful gardens and friendly staff. No one has mentioned the gorgeous hardwood floors throughout the hotel (take off your shoes!). Breakfast was great; for winter-weary Minnesotans, it was wonderful to eat outside in the garden!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank midgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Thank you for visiting and sharing your comments, some guests visit us for 4 or more weeks during the rest of the winter and cold days of their countries of origin. We have developed a kit of cuisine for such cases without cost.

Living the winter in cancun is like being in a paradise in heaven.
vesperamos see you soon.

Eduardo Hernandez Ridriguez
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here for 4 weeks. Didn't want to keep travelling, just do day trips out.
We loved the hotel but didn't feel it was adequate for 4 weeks, as a 2/3 day place to stay its lovely.
Our room was VERY dark we found this quite depressing, we ended up spending a lot of time in it due to rain (No fault of hotel)
I also couldn't understand why you had a 2 ring cooker but no pots or kettle to put on it, why bother having the cooker???
All the staff are very friendly, ready smiles and helpful.
The location was perfect

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duckyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Your comment shows that you miss communication with us, because we have kitchen set that gather everything you need for food preparation, they have them in stock as most people do not want to cook. I'm really sorry, and we hope your next visit will be better tended and more communication.
attentively
Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel one night. We liked the property - a very beautiful building with well maintained garden. The rooms are dated and need some renovations but this was not that bad. Cleanliness was our main concern. Rooms were not clean at all.
Other than that, it is a good place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neviana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments, they are important for us in order to give better services.
Next time try the relax massages.
Araceli Dominguez
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our time in El Rey del Caribe. The staff was so friendly, the ambience lovely and the breakfast was good too! It is great to see a hotel in Cancun presenting another side of the Yucatan and moving towards eco-friendly tourism. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We are delighted to have covered your expectations, the next time you visit, try a relaxing massage, they are very good and cheap. And if your interested in our web page we have information about installed ecotechniques.
thank you very much
Owner
Araceli Dominguez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Lovely hotel. Not in the Hotel Zone, but the Zone is visible from the El Rey, so a short cab ride gets you to the beaches. The El Rey is about one block from a few restaurants. It is about two or three blocks from the downtown ADO station, so the El Rey is a great location for venturing elsewhere in Mexico or returning to Cancun.

The staff was very friendly and the rooms well-appointed. Breakfast is included. Of particular note is the lush, almost rainforest-like courtyard with pool and hammock areas. There are also some neat rooftop spots to catch some rays or watch the sunset/sunrise.

Room Tip: A full grocery store is about one block away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherZen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am very happy to read your comments, they are good enought to motivate us to continue working to give a service of excelence.
Thanks a lot
Araceli Dominguez
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#63 of 176 in Cancun
449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#48 of 176 in Cancun
797 reviews
0.8 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#89 of 176 in Cancun
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#83 of 176 in Cancun
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#18 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#40 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range: $80 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing