We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Oasis in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #47 of 182 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Garden Oasis in the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a starting point of our holiday. Cheap convenient bus from airport via ADO just a block away. A funky, beautiful garden oasis in the middle of the city. Rooms are basic but clean, lovely patio area to enjoy morning coffee, nice pool, breakfast included in a small restaurant (shoes were optional) had a wonderful poolside nap, no traffic noise. Free wifi was handy as we planned our next adventure, super friendly staff, soooo comfortable I did'nt want to leave. Highly recommended. $62CDN per might with breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank heeter_lyn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your comment, it is very important for us. We will continue working to give to our guest the best service we can.
Araceli Dominguez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    231
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
297
58
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the city only a few footsteps from the ADO bus station and the main shopping street (not hotel zone!). Staff is very friendly and helpful, nice choice of breakfast selection, clean and quiet rooms and surrounded by lots of plants and trees in the inner yard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TWald_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are happy we could fill your expectations. Your comments are very important . Thanks you very much for coming,. next time you visit us try our massages they are great and cheap
Araceli Dominguez
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Beautiful eco hotel in the city of Cancun. Easy walking distance to downtown. While not in the tourist/beach area it's great for a stop-over for a day or two if passing through. Really liked the accommodations and the staff was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are happy we could fill your expectations. Your comments are very important . Thanks you very much for coming,. next time you visit us try our massages they are great.
We appreciate your visit and your opinions of the Hotel El Rey del Caribe.


Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent a few nights here on our way to and from Merida in January 2012. If you're looking for a Riviera Maya vacation experience, this isn't it. If you're planning to travel in the Yucatan, see archeological sites or smaller towns and villages, this is a good place to begin.

The amenities are good, if not first-rate by first world standards, but the setting is charming, the rooms are clean, and the staff go out of their way to please. The rates are very reasonable. If we ever return to Cancun, this will be our first choice.

Pro:
* Quiet location far from the zona hoteleria yet convenient to downtown Cancun.
* Staff very friendly and helpful -- even more so if you're conversant in Spanish.
* You may find the towels in your room folded origami-style into swans or cranes.
* Good home-style breakfast, including fresh fruit juices, cereal, basic egg dishes, is included in the room rate. There are many other places to eat within walking distance, but this is a good way to start the day.
* Interesting mix of international travelers.

Con:
* Limited parking.
* Spotty Internet service.
* Pool may or may not be usable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JudgeMendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are happy we could fill your expectations. Your comments are very important . Thanks you very much for coming,. next time you visit us try our massages they are great and cheap.
We appreciate your visit and your opinions of the Hotel El Rey del Caribe
owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed there last weekend and had a great time. One and only minus: our room was a bit dark. Only one small window to the floor (which was covered by curtains mostly) and two small windows in the bathroom. The inner yard is impressive - plants everywhere! Looks like a jungle, really cool!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In-E-G-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your comment, it is very important for us. We will continue working to give to our guest the best service we can.
Araceli Dominguez
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very relaxing hotel with leafy courtyard and small swimming pool including a few hammocks provided between the palm trees. Clean comfortable air conditioned bedrooms, friendly and helpful service staff who tried patiently to understand my blend of English and very poor Spanish. We stayed here for only 1 night on arrival in Cancun before moving onto Isla Majeures, and would certainly return for a place to stay in Cancun city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate your visit and your opinions of the Hotel El Rey del Caribe, and wait for you in you next visit to Cancun
Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only stayed one night here before we went on to Isla Mueres for a week. It is a quiet place tucked away with large beautiful trees and cozy outside areas to relax in. The rooms are not fancy, but spacious and clean. Our room had a kitchen but we did not use it. A free breakfast is included and was in an outdoor restaurant with yummy food. Staff were friendly and helpful. We paid a little extra to have them transport us from the airport to the hotel, and the next day they drove us to the ferry dock. If you are looking for a party place, this is not for you. If you want a peaceful, quiet place at a great cost, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate your visit and your opinions of the Hotel El Rey del Caribe, and wait for you in you next visit to Cancun. We love to have guests that like the calm and peace you can breath here. Next time take a massage they are grate and cheap
Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bonampak
Hotel Bonampak
#73 of 182 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#43 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#72 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 182 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Property: Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing