We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed this property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #48 of 175 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San DIego, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“We enjoyed this property”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only stayed one night here before we went on to Isla Mueres for a week. It is a quiet place tucked away with large beautiful trees and cozy outside areas to relax in. The rooms are not fancy, but spacious and clean. Our room had a kitchen but we did not use it. A free breakfast is included and was in an outdoor restaurant with yummy food. Staff were friendly and helpful. We paid a little extra to have them transport us from the airport to the hotel, and the next day they drove us to the ferry dock. If you are looking for a party place, this is not for you. If you want a peaceful, quiet place at a great cost, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate your visit and your opinions of the Hotel El Rey del Caribe, and wait for you in you next visit to Cancun. We love to have guests that like the calm and peace you can breath here. Next time take a massage they are grate and cheap
Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    244
    59
    14
    11
See reviews for
111
304
61
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goettingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely place, quiet and super friendly. We enjoyed the garden and the small beautiful pool. The best place if you are looking for something special, something away from the crowd and the mainstream. If you want to know about real life in Cancun, just strall along the surrounding roads and get a real mexican meal in the nearby supermarket.

Room Tip: We had a room to the street, but it was still quet enough. There are more rooms towards the little p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antje E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We love to have guests that like the calm and peace you can breath here. Next time take a massage they are grate and cheap. You comments are very important and we are glad for your visit, thank you very much
Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel was such a find. I truly did not know what to expect until I arrived. The people are wonderful, the environment is relaxing and the morning breakfast was delicious. If you are looking for a large all-inclusive don't get to see the local area stay at the resort type of place, this is not the hotel for you, but if you want a hotel with a personal touch that allows you to fully experience the local atmosphere, this is the place.

The room I was in had a full kitchen and there was a grocery store about 3 blocks away where you could fill up on food and drink to make in your room and sit out on the patio and eat, or local restaurants which where really close.

As a tip to someone traveling who wants to go on an excursion, I do not know if they offer anything with the hotel, but if you walk to the bus station, across from it is an office that sells excursions and they were half the price of what the big resorts where charging.

Great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We love to have guests that like the calm and peace you can breath here. Next time take a massage they are grate and cheap. You comments are very important and we are glad for your visit, thank you very much
Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family and I (11 of us) stayed several days last January before traveling on to Tulum. We all loved the ambiance, casual and friendly with beautiful outdoor areas. The breakfasts were absolutely yummy. I looked forward every morning to those luscious fruit drinks! The kids were happy in the pool and playing games in the blue hammocks. Our three year old loved the little playhouse. One night a bunch of us walked up to the top of the hotel to survey the city. Such a lovely walk we had and a beautiful view. The staff were all so nice and helpful. We loved being close to downtown and we took several walks to the market, a good restaurant nearby and into the neighborhoods. Taxis were easy to catch there. I would most definitely stay at the el Rey del Caribe if ever again I am lucky enough to go to Cancun! Muchas gracias for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the ground level away from the pool and we enjoyed them very much. The views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We love to have children as our guests . Next time take a massage they are grate and cheap. You comments are very important and we are glad for your visit, thank you very much
Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

i loved this place because the prices are good and i enjoyed the stay very calme and peacefull good service nothing to blame really i wich i stayed there the hotel reception and the other employees are very friendly and they gave us all the ideas to visit mexico.

Room Tip: the more you take a room inside the more it is quiet but generally this place has no sound pollution
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HANS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are happy we could fill your expectations. Your comments are very important . Thanks you very much for coming,. next time you visit us try our massages they are great.
We appreciate your visit and your opinions of the Hotel El Rey del Caribe


Owner
Araceli Dominguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

All round satisfaction. Very enjoyable stay. For people who wish to get away from the expensive and typical holiday resort in the hotel zone, this is the best.
Walking distance to Ado bust terminal.
And also walking distance to shops, money exchange, supermarkets ...etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MingAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your comments they are very useful, we are glad you enjoy your stay with us. The echo techniques in heating the water with the sun separating garbage and composting the organics of all the hotel gave us a recognition in the evaluation that RainForest did for us. Thanks a lot for your visit.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights in this property and were extremely pleased. It was our first trip to Mexico and our Spanish is rudimentary at best - the staff here were very helpful and kind, and our language barriers were cheerfully overcome. The hotel gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants locally, for tour guides for out trips, and accurate directions for finding local activities - all in spite of neither party speaking the others' language. Mrs. Reina sorted our excursions at the hotel and she was amazing. We didn't use the pool and there weren't any yoga/meditation activities while we were there.

The facilities are basic, but extremely clean and well maintained; the beds were comfortable, the kitchen functional, and the bathroom was newly tiled and decorated. Mayan art and topical plants give the place a great vibe. The only drawback of the facilities was the amount of hot water available - best to shower in the morning, and it can take a while for the hot water to arrive. This wasn't a big deal for us, but for those expecting different, it might be a shock. We found the hotel to be quite quiet, which is something given that we were there for Independence day. The free breakfasts were excellent, with very good service; gluten free options were not a problem. The kitchenette was great, and a supermarket is a few short blocks away (as well as bank machine, the ADO bus station, and the markets). The room service is worthy of a specific mention - scrupulously clean, thorough, and every day there were new artistic towel formations and/or toilet paper flowers decorating the beds and bathroom. The daily paper flowers on the toilet, towel rack, shower curtain were hilarious and quite touching, actually.

Room Tip: Bring your own lock for the safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
A comment like yours is very important, because we read this information to our staff in our monthly meeting , so they are motivated to do better things every day. We are glad you enjoy your stay in the hotel and in the Yucatan a gorgeous place to know. Next time you come tray our massages or our transportation to the airport with an extra cost. About the hot water, some time with echo techniques is a little bit slow to give the hot water because we heat the water with the sun, but is so good for the Planet.
Manager
Eduardo Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 175 in Cancun
426 reviews
0.9 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#47 of 175 in Cancun
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#38 of 175 in Cancun
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Cancun City
Ramada Cancun City
#82 of 175 in Cancun
361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Property: Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#37 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing