We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great stay. Quiet and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #53 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Coppell, Tx
Level Contributor
108 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay. Quiet and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were impressed with the lush tropical gardens and quiet rooms. Mary at the front desk was very friendly and Abel was eager to lug our bags up the 2 flights of stairs to our large well-appointed room. The bed and bedding was comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. Martha was a delight in the restaurant and served us a very nice breakfast with great caffe con leche and fresh fruit juices. We will definitely stay there again. We made arrangements for Eduardo to pick us up from the airport and take us to Playa Del Carmen the next morning for the ferry trip to Cozumel (very reasonable prices).

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room and they will give you one on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KillerB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments, I can see you remember all our names this means that we could do a good connection. Human relationships are the best part of a travel. Hope we can have you again soon. Try our relax massages next time they are awesome.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodriguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    214
    51
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
272
54
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nealab
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We only stayed one night, however we had an early departure, and the night clerk(sorry I don't remember your name) arranged our cab, had the kitchen staff make us an early coffee, and they cheerily made us croissants to send us on our way. I am not a Cancun fan, but this hotel made it tolerable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nealab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Many people that come to visit the archeological places in Yucatan stay with us and have a good time, we are small but with all the services any one can need to be comfortable, thank for your comments and visit. Hope we can have you here again soon. Next time try our relax massage they are very good
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the el Rey Del Caribe after arriving to Cancun, and I would stay there again. It is, indeed an oasis right int he center of the commercial zone. Four walls surround tropical garden and a small pool. The owner's house is right in a middle of the garden and it lends even more of a colonial feel. Rooms are simple, but spacious, on several levels. Saw one traveler doing yoga on one of the balcony-like levels. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are very happy to know you enjoy your stay in El Rey del Caribe. Our space invites people to relax , the gardens help a lot with this, we aprecciate your comments and invite you to come any time you want, we would like to share the Mexican hospitality with you again. Thanks for you visit
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The place was great. The staff told you every thing. The courtyard was spectacular with green plants everywhere and a refreshing pool. The complimentary breakfast was stupendous. wonderful tranquil retreat in convenient central location. Perfecto!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hanzachicho2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comments, we appreciate you enjoy your stay with us this is our goal everyday with all our guests. See you next time, and tray if you can a relax massage they are wonderful and very cheap. thank you for your visit
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is a beautiful in all senses. Great and very comfortable rooms - although our room was a bit noisy because on the side of the main street passing in front of the hotel. The bus terminal is also nearby, which was very practical to us. We were served a tasty and healthy breakfast, with the view on the nice garden (the vegetation there is amazing). But the thing that impressed us most was probably the staff. They were so nice, so professional, and seemed to enjoy their work so much! One morning, we even surprised them doing a relaxing session together around the pool before starting their working day. They also had so much information for us! They could recommend us many things to do, places to go, with accurate and precious information. And they definitely love to have people discover their culture, people, and country. Go there! It is a world appart from the Hotel Zone and for the best!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that has the windows not on the main street (rather on the garden maybe...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 426Kiwi426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Propietario at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We appreciate a lot your comments about he El Rey del Caribe Hotel, the manager is very interested that the workers are well prepared before they go to work, they do every day tai chi around the pool to prepare their bodies and their minds. We also want to give a service of excellence that's why we do not sell alcohol, or cigarettes or even sodas, we do natural fruit juices and fresh water. Thanks you for your visit .
Owner
Aaceli Domíguez Rodríguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hotel el Rey Del Caribe is a welcomed oasis off the beaten path in the tourist trap which is Cancun. Once you step into the inner courtyard, you feel you are transported to a rain forest. The pool is surrounded by a beautiful garden and dense canopy which gives the hotel a wonderful feeling of positivity and echos the hotels environementally friendly approach. The hotel and staff is small enough to give guests a personable and family-like welcome. Whether you are visiting Cancun for business or for pleasure, I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking to have a relaxing stay and a place where one can really regain their energy after a long day out about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathrynk206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest: it is very important for us to read about you experience in El Rey del Caribe, we do a big effort to have an eco friendly hotel, we have a lot of eco techniques to save energy, to recycle and to impact the environmental as less as we can.We really appreciate you enjoy the gardens, our gardener is and old mayan man that has been with us since 30 years ago he is wonderful with the plants. Hope we can have you here again soon thanks for your comments and visit.
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hernández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

i was robbed at hotel soberanis, and manged to check out and go to hotel el rey del caribe. This place offers great service and the staff is very helpful.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The garden is beautiful and makes the place much better.

The location is fantastic as you are 2 blocks for the number 1 bus which is very frequent, dirt cheap and will take you to all locations at any given time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anubhavshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Our hotel is very well located. we are sorry about the experience you have in other hotel, Mexicans are working very hard to do from our tourist place one of the save places in Mexico. Hope we can have you here again soon. Thank you for your visit and you comments
Manager
Ing. Eduardo Rodríguez Hrenández
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#58 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#33 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oasis Smart
Oasis Smart
#45 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Margaritas
Hotel Margaritas
#83 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand City Hotel
Grand City Hotel
#78 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Property: Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#38 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing