We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful, ecological GEM in bustling Cancun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Ranked #47 of 181 Hotels in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
anywhere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A peaceful, ecological GEM in bustling Cancun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

This hotel is unique in so many ways. You can tell the owner really put their heart & soul into the planning, building and running the hotel. There are several ecological, resource-saving features, like separation of compost and recyclables, as well as semi-composting, flush toilets that you wouldnt be able to tell they were any different from the wasteful conventional toilets.
The rooms are distributed on several levels and look into a GORGEOUS, lush courtyard-jungle scene. The rooms are equipped with a small stovetop, fridge and the basics to cook with, and with a supermarket one block away, you can save lots of $ and resources by not eating out every time. The breakfast is included (for the early birds anyway) and the sweet cocineras serve you great food with a smile in a charming, open restaurant.
The only aspect that I BEG that they change are the showerheads!!!!!!! Had to be the worst shower Ive ever had in a hotel. They are clean and all but they go overboard with the water-saving concept, all i can say that every attempt at a hot shower was a painful experience. However, they do have a hot tub outside by the pool so you just need to let them know when you would like the tub filled and that really makes up for the terrible showerheads.
Overall, though I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something less conventional in Cancun. It is one of my favorite hotels in Quintana Roo! Thanks to the owner for putting their heart into making this place special and ecological.

Room Tip: Get a top level room, with view of courtyard jungle canopy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbutterfly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Manager at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience en the Eco Hotel El Rey del Caribe, part of the harmony in the hotel depends on different kinds of eco technologies that bring, peace, health, and harmony with nature, we now, have very good Yoga classes
Manager, Ingeniero Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    231
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
93
298
58
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We spent just one night in Cancun, but the hotel is very close to the bus station, very nice and people very friendly. The breakfast is included, good and you take it under a fresh palapa. If you pay cash there's a discount and they can arrange a taxi for transportation from the airport.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are nice and quite, in an inner garden with small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This Eco Hotel is a garden in the middle of Cancun City. The staff makes you feel welcome and the tasty breakfasts served in an outdoor palapa. Of note are the pool and hammocks for relaxing after a day at the beach or on the town. It is close to a large market with the most delicious ceviche! We enjoyed the top floor rooms of 31 and 32 for a stay on arrival to Cancun and our departure for home. This is a great choice if you are not an "all inclusive big hotel" fan.
Hooray for up close and personal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faraway33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Bohemian, quirky and everything others have written. Good bed, very clean. Good choice of breakfast. Have plenty of insect repellant handy. The staff are fabulous and seem in good spirit. It’s upsetting they pay the staff so badly that you are even asked to Tip at breakfast. We hate wondering if you have given a good tip.
Location- should not be called Downtown but Rundown and you need a car. Café Nadar and 100% Organic are excellent places to eat. Skip Cancun

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo Egypt
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Unfortunately, we had just an overnight in this very special hotel but we would gladly return and spend more time getting to know this area. The room had two very comfortable queen size beds with plenty of room for living space, drawers, closet and space for bags. There was also a small fridge and cook top, no microwave though I suspect some rooms might have one. Breakfast was excellent with a menu to compete with any restaurant and the people helpful and friendly. For budget travelers, this hotel is very close to the ADO bus line from the airport and within walking distance to many restaurants. I highly recommend this extraordinary effort to conserve energy and resources while keeping to an excellent standard.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaadiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after a week long retreat at a beautiful villa outside of Tulum. As with others, we needed one night in Cancun since our flight did not leave until the next day. The driver commented that we would be in for a let down. Obviously he has not been inside the "Hotel el Rey Del Caribe"! While it is in the middle of the City and away from the beaches, once you walk through the doors into the courtyard, you are transported into a mini jungle Maya Land. The staff was friendly and informative, the room charming and clean and the breakfast (included) in the outdoor cafe delightful. The evening we were there, we walked about 10 min. to a restaurant recommended by the staff and then happened upon a huge cultural festival and enjoyed the music and ambiance. The next morning we opted to walk the few short blocks to the bus station and took the "Airport Bus" for $5. Not only was it very clean and direct trip to the airport, we sat in front so had a much better view than we would have had in an expensive taxi. The Eco friendly aspect of the hotel was icing on the cake! We plan on staying here again if/when we return to the area.

(The only reason I am not giving it a "5" rating is that we were in a room next to the building next door and they had music going almost all night or at least starting early in the morning. Luckily I had a pair of ear plugs which helped block most of it out.)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed just one night here and I was fresh off the plane from Australia. Well, not 'fresh'. More like shattered. Despite the skillfully taken photos on the website, the hotel isn't in some green idyll. It's very much in the hub-bub of downtown Cancun. It is also smaller than you might expect and the rooms are clean but sort of basic. They have a rustic quality and I should say, the showers aren't great. That said, I would still say this is well worth a stay if you're in the area. The staff are very helpful and there's a nice, cruisey vibe to it all. And being downtown, you get some real Mexican atmosphere (a little bit edgy perhaps but really interesting), not some airbrushed hotel zone fakeness. Note : the hotel is a short stroll to one of the main, downtown restaurant streets (though you will need to ask the hotel staff how to find it. It's a bit 'down there and round the corner'.) I didn't use the spa but it seemed well set up. I also didn't eat there for no other reason than I wanted to go out an explore. We used the hotel's driver to pick us up from the airport. It wasn't free but it was worth it. So yes - a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zigster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reycaribe, Gerente at Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
It was very nice having you as a guest of our Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. As you know El Rey del Caribe is located in a very secure area with plenty of ammenities and real Mexican life atmosphere.

As you already commented, the transportation provided by El Rey del Caribe is highly recommended and accesible.

I would like to inform you that we are very greatful to have recently received a recognition from the Rain Forest Alliance.

Please, help us spread the word with your frienda about the quaility of Hotel and real Mexican hospitality.

Eduardo Rodriguez Hernandez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bonampak
Hotel Bonampak
#72 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#64 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.8 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
One Cancun Centro
One Cancun Centro
#43 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kin Mayab
Kin Mayab
#73 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.6 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#44 of 181 in Cancun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe

Property: Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
Address: Cancun 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cancun
#22 Family Hotel in Cancun
#27 Romantic Hotel in Cancun
#36 Spa Hotel in Cancun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eco-hotel El Rey del Caribe is an oasis of tranquility in the center of downtown Cancun.The eco-hotel's traditional colonial facade is cheerfully painted with a Mexican flair. Passing through the wrought iron gates , you enter the interior courtyard where you are surrounded by lush tropical gardens.The interior courtyard layout provides you with quiet in the midst of the city and security in the midst of convenience.All rooms open onto the courtyard which contains a swimming pool and jacuzzi.The owners are in residence to assure that you feel completely at home and give you a taste of traditional Mexican hospitality.We invite you to join us in our efforts to make an ecological concept a reality. We do our best to respect the environment by using solar hot water heaters, recycling by separation of trash, composing of garden and kitchen wastes, and capturing of rain water. We even have an unusual solar clothes drier .Some rooms are equipped with suitable technology in composing toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Del Caribe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing