We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!! This place is fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tacos Caminero

Tacos Caminero
Ranked #56 of 946 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!! This place is fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The food was absolutely amazing ... fresh, tasty, nicely presented and well-priced - authentic Mexican food. The service was super-friendly led by Victor, the proprietor. You feel genuinely welcomed and the service is very attentive. The table was kept so clean (we used lots of napkins!) by Casimiro, who also has such a warm smile and lovely manner. They all speak English also, which helps those of us with embarrassing Spanish! Don't be put off by the loud music outside - inside is quieter if you prefer.
The location is fantastic too, just in the corridor across from the beach entrance by CoCo Bongo (near the bus stop).

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loveBrazilsoudade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    84
    25
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Real Mexican experience! best tequila and burritos!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I where walking on main street, just in front of Coco Bongo, when a waitress start talking to us, so we follow him a few steps and there we were, on Tacos Camineros. We order burritos and tequila. DELICIOUS!!! the place is not as fancy decorated as other restaurants but the food was really mexican food! the tortilla chips with all kind of sauces, guacamole mixed with chilli, exquisit!
As we where in our honeymoon, they gave us courtesy drinks and the attention was beyond friendly, great place!
It was so great! that after COCO BOngo show ended we came back at 4 in the morning hahahah

  • Visited October 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Terrific tacos, the BEST margatitas and what a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were attracted to Tacos Caminero by their air conditioning, but we found our new home away from home in Cancun! The tacos, chips, salsa and everything we had to eat was absolutely delicious. The best maragritas any of us had ever had, a great selection of beers and all at very reasonable prices. What brought us back three times in a week was the service and hospitality. Rishy, Tiger, Tony and the entire staff were unbelieveable hosts. They became our new Mexican family. We had so much FUN! We can't wait to return to Cancun and Tacos Caminero. They are located on the street that runs between the two main roads, down from Coco Bongo. I would highly recommend them for lunch, dinner or a late night snack. They'll be there waiting with smiles and the best food and drinks Cancun has to offer.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Food and Friends in Cancun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Having visited Caminero's on our last trip in April 2011, shortly after they opened, we knew we'd be back here again. And we were, every night of our five night trip. They are the best, from their service, chips and sauces, and food, to their full bar. Everything was always served with that warm Mexican hospitality, and we were once again treated like family. My favorite dish is the pork burrito, but everything my husband and I had there was muy delicioso!!! And Tony and Tiger are the best servers you could hope for! Definitely make Caminero's a stop on your next trip to Cancun - and DON'T GO to the restaurant across from it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacos Caminero also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Tacos Caminero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing