We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Note The Location Is Now By The Convention Center”
Review of Ty-Coz Cafe

Ty-Coz Cafe
Ranked #400 of 970 Restaurants in Cancun
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please Note The Location Is Now By The Convention Center”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

For the best french bread baguettes which here are called tortas you must try the ones at the Ty-Coz Cafe. The original site moved this year from Kilometer 9 on Kukulcan Blvd to Kilometer 9 close to the Convention Center and directly across the street from Plaza la Fiesta(The Mexican Outlet). We just love their Economic Baguette that is only $15-Pesos. Ty-Coz has been in Cancun for like 30 years. Most people on the line looked liked locals and they were taking out their orders. The service was fast. It is not a place to stay long since their are not chairs but tables that are like 4 foot off the ground. If you do not want chile on your baguette just say:Sin Chile. There are many types of baguettes including a veggie baguette. Ty-Coz is open daily from 7:00-AM to 6:30-PM. We took out an order the morning we took the ferry to Isla Mujeres. There is a larger Ty-Coz Cafe located downtown on Avenue Tulum. Take the R-1 Bus from the hotel zone. Get off on Avenue Tulum near the ADO Bus Terminal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
“Very Good Value”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

a great place to have very good baguettes is at the Ty-coz Cafe. We went to both locations. The larger one is located in downtown cancun(Avenue Tulum). We took the R-1 bus. It is across from the ADO Bus Terminal. The new Ty-Coz Cafe is located in the hotel zone close to the convention center at km. 9. best value was economic torta-baguette it was only $15-Pesos. We used the take out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1985mainecody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sandwich was good, but coffee just awful”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The place is situated in hotel zone. But I think they cater more to locals working there, because the ambiance is not present :). And staff does not speak English. The prices are indeed affordable. I tried their baguette economico. Watch out for those pieces of chilli hidden inside - they are super hot, as the seeds weren't cleaned out. After I solved that problem, it was actually pretty good: crunchy bread and good-flavor cheese and ham.

But the coffee they served me was horrible. I thunk their beans were over-roasted. It tasted like bitter charcoal, no enjoyable flavor at all.

Service was fast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yulia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“TY COZ...NOT MY FAVORITE SANDWICH ANYMORE”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I must say since traveling to Cancun for the last five years and eating at all of their locations in Cancun I was very disappointed this year at their new location located directly across the street from Plaza La Fiesta. I feel the other location was much better suited for the customers. ie table, parking and much more relaxed atmosphere. The new location has neither, with the exception of the small round tables in which you stand around. There is zero chance of finding parking, which forces you to park in the municipal lot for a fee. Then good luck dodging traffic to get there. But most of all I found the food this time sub par compare to the other previous years. I am hoping it was just an off day for that particular crew on the day our group visited. Needless to say I didn't bother to repaet our business the rest of our stay.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldwide6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

It's hard to find a good sandwich in cancun but then we found Ty-coz. Great prices and will fill you up.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GtownWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ty-Coz Cafe also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 
Cancun, Quintana Roo
Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Ty-Coz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing