We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Their Big Salads”
Review of La Troje

La Troje
Ranked #195 of 976 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Stowe, Vermont
2 reviews
“Enjoyed Their Big Salads”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

While visiting in downtown Cancun we decided to have dinner at la Troje. We had read several reviews on tripadvisor and also was recommecded by the travel agency we used. We like when traveling to eat where locals do. This place is not to far from Plaza las Americas. We found it easy to take the number R-27 bus from the hotel zone. We got off the bus on Avenue Tulum in front of Sports City which is a fitness center. I ordered the salad called:Ensalda Margarita which was a great large salad. You can order a half salad if you want. It was filled with lots of good fresh items including shrimps. My wife had a very good pasta dish. It is very moderatly priced and the service was very good. We made sure to go on a tuesday since we read you got a 30% discount! As stated it was 30% off the regular menu prices. If you are going to Plaza las americas maybe La Troje is a place to dine for either dinner or lunch. Try to go on a tuesday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjorn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    53
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
“I Think A Good Value”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My friends and I did not want an all inclusive meal plan at our hotel. We wanted to experience some local places to dine. Among the reviews we read on tripadvisor was La Troje. We wanted to dine there after visiting Plaza las Americas. There is a bus route number 27 that you can take from the hotel zone. This bus seems to run about every 30 minutes. We were advised to get off on Avenue Tulum(main road) in front of Sports City. On the other side of Tulum is Plaza las Americas. We each ordered a different salad. We wanted to go there on a tuesday since you get a 30% discount. Most people seemed like local business persons or couples. The salads as reported from other reviews are large. You can even order half salads. One friend did that with also having a baguette. To get back for the R-27 bus you have to be in front of plaza las Americas near the Sanborns Restaurant. Try this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intotravelingjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
2 reviews
“Great Salads”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We read about the place. The salads are excellent and not expensive. try to go on a tuesday since the prices are 30% off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ames50012liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,058 helpful votes
“30% Off All Day every Tuesday!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you like really good and large salads' baguettes as well as pasta dishes consider lunch or dinner at La Troje(The Shed). I have dined there many times during the past 7 years. I love their large salad called:Ensalda Marguarita which has sprimp and many good veggies. The menu is still moderate in price and every tuesday there is a discount of 30%! From the hotel zone take the R-27 Bus and get off downtown on Avenue Tulum just in front of Sports City. Most drivers will tell you that this is the bus stop for Plaza las Americas. Just walk to the next street past the Sport's City front entrance and parking lot and turn left. La Troje is about 100 feet to the left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank charliedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Cuenca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good quality small Mexican restaurant in downtown Cancun”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

On a street parallel and opposite the big Las Americas Mall, this Cancuners' favorite has great Mexican dishes adopted to a good choice of salads, pizza, pasta, baguettes and some heartier dishes. All have both an original and an authenic Mexican touch to them. This small restaurant has thrived because of its quality dishes, its decent prices for local wallets and its original, albeit Mexican, menu. Be it for a couple of beers and an hors d'oeuvre (botana in Mexican) or for a full fledged dinner or lunch, la Troje is worth looking up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spiii-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Troje also viewed

Cancun, Quintana Roo
 

Been to La Troje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing