We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local dinning experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Troje

La Troje
Ranked #176 of 939 Restaurants in Cancun
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great local dinning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

A great local hangout with great ambience, even better food & service, may it be the side of caramelised Habaneros or just the oven fresh warm local bread - Pan, worth the experience!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvis_Jivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    52
    16
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“always wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

out of the way not in hotel and food is always wonderful. extensive menu..wonderful choices.. good prices..have never been disappointed

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Odd little sidewalk cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Not recommended for groups...very tiny little sidewalk restaurant with limited seating...plastic chairs on sloped sidewalk made it almost impossible to get to the food on the table. However the pizza was excellent. Not recommended if you have food restrictions, as they had a hard time accommodating ....not because of attitude - they simply aren't equipped in the tiny kitchen to vary from the menu. Go for pizza ...but that's about all.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cookiemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD in all of Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you have a rental car, get here! Order the Mangolin to drink. It's just Coconut juice and mango. It will rock your world. Then oreder the mushrooms as an appetizer! Any of the salads are good, but we ordered the Adriana and it was superb! We ordered a Hawaiian pizza. It was okay. I'd skip it and go for a crepe instead like the Maria Felix ( I think that was the name) or a pasta with shrimp instead. This has the best food I've ever eaten in Mexico. The price is good. You will find no gringos here, menus in Spanish only. Order anything, you can't mess up unless you are a picky eater! Tuesdays you can get 30% off. The service is good. You can eat in or outside.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,058 helpful votes
“Very Good And Large Salads In Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Over the past 5 years I have visited La Troje(The Shed) many times. It is a 3 generation family owned and run restaurant. They have a very large selection of salads. I tend to stick with things I like so I always order their :"Margarita Salad'. Besides lettuce,tomatoes and onions it contains shrimp and asparagus with a house dressing. It comes in a very large bowl. My friends ordered baguettes. We dined their about 7:30-PM. As well left people were outside waiting for a table to open up. The have enclosed the front part with glass. They have a smaller air conditioned section up stairs. Getting there by bus from the hotel zone:Take the R-27 Bus($8.5-Pesos) and get off on Avenue Tulum at the stop for Plaza las Americas. You will be in front of Sports City. Walk through the parking lot of Sports City(yes there is an opening in the back) and you will turn left on Avenue Acanceh. Walk a short distance until you get to the first building. La Troje which means a shed will be on the street level. After dinner just walk back to Avenue Tulum and cross over Tulum so you can catch the R-27 bus back to the hotel zone. Catch the bus on Tulum in from of Sanborns. This bus stops running about 10:30-PM. The place is closed on sundays.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank charliedrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Troje also viewed

 

Been to La Troje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing