We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Not For Tourists, Though.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun
Ranked #57 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I originally booked this hotel for a 5 night Cancun visit; however, it's not near the tourists' areas. Not many employees spoke 2nd languages. Nonetheless, the employees were friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel is very modern with nicely equipped rooms. There was an issue with the water supply the day we checked in and, as a result, we had no water and had to transfer to another hotel. The staff was nice about it and did everything they could to fix the problem, but it was just one of those unforeseen circumstances that are going to arise from time to time.

I would recommend this hotel to someone who has an intermediate understanding of Spanish and someone who is only staying in Cancun for a couple of days. IF YOU ARE A TOURIST, STAY AT A HOTEL ON THE MAIN STRIP.

Room Tip: This is NOT a hotel for someone visiting Cancun for its tourists' attractions and beaches. GO T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JBA_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

I feel sorry if you had to move to other hotel for water service, we hope you could give us the opportunity to stay again with us.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities.

Sincerely,

Karina Paniagua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 814 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here and do all of our touring before we headed to our all inclusive resort. Our vacation got off to a bad start since Volaris lost all of our luggage. After waiting for 2 hrs for an answer and being mislead by Orbitz regarding car rental insurance requirements. We arrived at La Quinta the staff was beyond amazing. It took less then a minute to check in. I have never encountered such friendly and amazing staff. The hotel is beyond clean the breakfast is not your typical continental breakfast it was a full on meal. Everyday they offered a variety of dishes besides a make ur own fresh waffle, which they even offer to make for you. There is a taco stand right next door and a OXXO which is similar to a 7-Eleven. We also had pizza hut delivered. I would 100% recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

I´m glad that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed Mexican Food, our main goal is to make you feel good, any additional information that you need about the hotel, please let me know i will be always at your service.

Here for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Background: We are a couple of friends who looked for a good hotel away from the shore in order to drive various places outside Cancun (we rented a car).

The remarks:
We arrived after a really early flight from Mexico City. The room was ready but apparently the weather put it to the test. We were staying on the 5th floor and after some minutes in the room it started to rain, and what a surprise was that also in the room. Apparently, one of the discharge pipes or the balcony itself (the rooms with balcony are on the 6th floor) was loaded with water and well, it was dripping into the room. This was not a new issue as the cealing was already repaired (noticed by a whiter paint layer). Additionaly, this room lacked a minibar, which we noticed as we moved to a new room.

We were moved to the room next door, and what a surprise, same problem. We reported it to the administration and they moved us for a third time, now on the fourth floor, were we finally managed to stay

The information we received from the reception was incomplete as they did not make us aware of the existing pool (small), gym and the possibility of a free transportation van (up to 5km from the hotel).

Ups:
- There is a relatively large underground parking place
- The security personnel is very friendly and helpful
- The hotel is not centrical, but there is an available transport van that allows you to reach the clubs (it only works until 10:30 pm, so a taxi is the only way back, e.g. Coco Bongo) and the Mercado 28.
- The rooms are large with a comfortable bed and a nice bad

Downs:
- The parking place is not directly connected to the hotel, so if it is raining, an umbrella will come in handy.
- The friendliness and helpfulness of the reception personnel. When asked they replied courteously, but otherwise they minded their own business, sometimes not looking at you when answering.
- The breakfast will satisfy you good enough for the first two mornings but afterwards the options become very limited.

Room Tip: Try to avoid fifth floor when it is raining, and take a look that there is a minibar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmarCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We hope you can give us the opportunity to show you that we have more benefits for you, like an emergency stairs, you can use it when it´s rainning, and every morning you can order a special meal like eggs any style, quesadillas, waffles or milk shake, just ask our sttaf, we will be happy to give you all you need.

REMEMBER we are Here For you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We only stayed one night on our way through Mexico, but very happy with hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. Shopping center close by has everything you might need. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter_ndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Is always pleasing to have guests as you, we invite you to visit us each time that you want it, we will be able to help you to book a new reservation in case that you need it.

Sincerely Hope see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

stayed here the last 2 weeks in may, very clean hotel with large comfortable beds,our first room 120 had problems with the electrics which the hotel must have been aware of, the microwave fridge & air conditioning did not work properly in fact to get the microwave to work you had to hold the switch in over the fridge to stop them tripping out, that said the second room was fine,breakfast was scrambled eggs every morning there were other items but a little more choice would have been welcomed, the free shuttle was non existant we gave up after asking 5 times, location is quite good

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CardiffMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CancunLQManager, Gerente at LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

we appreciated your comments and i feel sorry if you had some troubles during your stay, i hope you could give us the oportunity to come back again and i will prepare you room special for you,

let me show you that the service that we provide you is better than you think

sincerely hope see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really good hotel for starting holidays in Mexico after late night landing in Cancun.
They take good care of guests and serve good dinner even close to midnight and their kitchen is very good, indeed. First Mexican impression was done. It was good beginning I must say.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms from back-side - there happens noise by metal refuse dumps beneath the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertSerafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wanted to stay downtown somewhere comfortable that was clean and reasonable. Found it here!

Pros - clean, most staff very welcoming and helpful, very good breakfasts, good size of rooms

Cons - very poor travel desk (only open for about 4 hrs each day, well after each tour had already departed so we didn't speak to anyone there at all); maid service variable - if you try to be green and not get your linen changed the room literally doesn't get touched at all by the maids, and the number of towels you get is bizarre - we often had to ask for an extra towel (although this was never a problem); advertised to have a shuttle bus service - DO NOT RELY ON THIS FOR ANYTHING!!! Often no driver for various reasons, should not really be advertised on the website as a perk to staying there

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderin_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cancun hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cancun Las Americas
0.2 mi away
Smart Cancun by Oasis
Smart Cancun by Oasis
#43 of 177 in Cancun
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambiance Suites
Ambiance Suites
#62 of 177 in Cancun
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eco-Hotel El Rey Del Caribe
3.1 mi away
Real Inn Cancun
Real Inn Cancun
#69 of 177 in Cancun
516 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aloft Cancun
Aloft Cancun
#65 of 177 in Cancun
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun

Address: Av. Tulum Super Manzana 4 Manzana 14 lote 2 Cancun, Cancun 77500, Mexico (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Cancun)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Cancun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 177 Hotels in Cancun
Price Range: $70 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your LQ Hotel by La Quinta Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing