We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35,371)
Filter reviews
35,371 results
Traveler rating
25,759
5,546
2,096
987
983
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25,759
5,546
2,096
987
983
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunrise section nizuc section los caporales sunrise pool la gondola golf club flow rider resort credit la trattoria los tacos swing bar vacation planners public relations brazilian restaurant awe spa dolphin swim mayan coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 35,371 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is my 8th visit (at least) to this resort. I usually go to Moon Palace in early January with a group of 16 to 20 friends for a golfing trip and then return in April with my spouse. In all my visits we have been assigned a room in the Nizuk section of the resort and a couple times to the Grand section of the resort prior to its completion in 2018. We have visited the bars and restaurants in the Sunrise section many times, but always preferred the ones at Nizuk better. We became much more use to the staff, the amenities, the bars, restaurants, washroom locations etc. at Nizuk after so many times there.
This year they assigned us to the Sunrise section in a complex as far away as you could possibly get from the lobby into a room that was so much smaller than most of the rooms we had stayed in. Once we got to the room we were assigned to, I immediately went back to check-in and asked for a room in Nizuk or a room in Sunrise close to the mini-putt (which is as close to Nizuk as you can get while still being in Sunrise). I got the usual song and dance about no rooms being available and that we could try the next day. I found out later that 2 pairings in our group had managed to get a room at or near Nizuk. The next day I was given the run around again and lied to about why 4 people in our group managed to get moved.
As usual the golfing and staff (Angel, Alexis, Adrian, Luis, Rodrigo, Ricardo, Antonio, Charley, Diogenes and Mitzi) were amazingly awesome which is the main reason we keep going back. The course is always in immaculate condition and the greens keeping staff are to be commended.
Unfortunately, it seemed like we spent way too much time walking or shuttling to the section of the resort that we prefer to spend our time at. One would think (or hope) that loyal customers who spend a good chunk of change at this resort year after year, might get a bit more satisfaction offered to us than what we were given.
Most of us are in our mid 60's and were more tired at the end of our vacation than we were when we got there due to the walking we had to endure.
We will more than likely be back again next year but will want to know where we are staying before we make a commitment.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tommy426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, Director General at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear tommy426,

Nothing is more important for us than your satisfaction as a guest, and please know it is with great concern that we have received your review and discovered that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at Moon Palace Cancun.

We are always eager to read our guest's comments and discover what you enjoyed during your stay as well as what are the aspects you think require some attention. Thank you for your feedback, please rest assured it will be shared with management for a proper follow-up and ensure that these situations are properly addressed.

Hopefully, we will have a second chance to host you again in the future and redeem ourselves by exceeding all of your expectations It would be a pleasure for us until then, we remain at your service.

Cordially,

Ulises Sosa
e-Concierge
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent everyday at the Diamond Pool at Sunrise. FELIX, EDGAR and NATALIE kept us very comfortable!! They are so energetic and fun and VERY helpful to make your stay enjoyable! We LOVE THEM!
We also ate twice at the steakhouse by the flow rider there and we absolutely love the waiters, JAVIER and JORGE! They are the best waiters! The food is great! I am soooo glad they put the corn chowder soup back on the menu....and the chocolate lava cake, too.....now we just need Filet Migons back on there!!! Love, love this restaurant!
The bar and the waitresses did an awesome job bringing us drinks (and food) at the pool -- we very much appreciate each and every one of you!
The maids do an awesome job changing out our rooms everyday! Thank you to all of them! (we stayed at the Golf Villas, rooms 214, 215 and 216).
AND, we could not have done all this without our Diamond Concierge, FRANCISCO!! -- he is the best! He makes sure we have everything we need before, during and checks on us after, too!! He does a superb job!! Love Him!

I would totally recommend, to anyone asking, that they stay at Moon Palace Sunrise or at the Golf Villas there, and you will not be disappointed! We love the Grand, too, many things to do at the Grand! - totally recommend it also, a little fancier.

Room tip: Golf Course Villas are awesome
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank crownlimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon_Palace_Cancun, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear crownlimoi,

It is a pleasure to know that your experience has been extremely pleasant and that we have been able to exceed your expectations with the excellent assistance and service of our collaborators by the Diamond Pool, and our restaurant Asadero.

Our collaborators are our most valuable resource and we believe they are the reason for our success. Rest assured that you will receive your comments and also adequate recognition from us.

We look forward to receiving you again soon at Moon Palace Cancun.

Sincerely,

Christian Rangel
General Manager
Moon Palace Sunrise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked in to the Moon for 1 night after our flight was cancelled and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place.

We had already spent 10 days at our regular place in the Hotel Zone when Our flight home was canceled. We couldn't stay at our home resort and was checked in to the Moon as it was close to the Airport..

We were a little reluctant at first as we are creatures of habit and didn't expect to enjoy our extended stay. Well, that lasted about 30 mins !! :-)

Even though it was a 24hr stay we packed so much in to that short time.. If it wasn't for "Mario" , who took his time to make us feel comfortable right from when we checked in and he took us to our room 8210 on the cart.. Mario made sure we had no more questions or concerns and encouraged us to enjoy the property to the fullest!! So, we did.. We enjoyed a late night meal and an early morning in rook breakfast that was superb in both quality and service.

We then ventured out to walk the grounds and was immediately made to feel welcome.. We stopped and spoke to one of the entertainment staff "Francisco Canche" and it didnt take long before we were in the grove of the resort.. We went back to the stores and my wife bought a yellow bikini and cover up so she could get more sun and enjoy the pool.. Thanks Francisco for encouraging us to relax and enjoy!!

We enjoyed a nice lunch at a pool side restaurant and the food was fantastic, I wish I remembered our waiter as he was super nice and attentive ( it was the one that turns into a steak house at nigh, we were there around 230/300 pm )

We then went around the resort some more but unfortunately we had to go back and get changed for our 7pm pick up..

Thank you Again Mario once again for looking after us right from when we got there till we boarded the bus!! You are truly a seasoned professional , we will see you again!!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 683jamiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon_Palace_Cancun, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 683jamiep,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn more about your recent stay at Moon Palace Cancun, and the wonderful service you received for one night.

Our collaborators are our most valuable resource, so please rest assured Mario and Francisco will receive your comments along with proper recognition from us due to their exceptional performance.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Moon Palace Cancun for a longer time, we would love to pamper you in your next vacations!

All the best,

Christian Rangel
General Manager
Moon Palace Sunrise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Moon Palace Nizuc for 7 days this month (Jan 2020). The resort was very family friendly.

Food was excellent - El Mangalar was our favorite. Agra was very good. Momo was very good. The snacks / fast foods made available at the Palapas were fantastic. The cafe giving out cakes, icecreams and coffee was very good and accessible. We love Indian food. El Mangalar had an Indian section in their buffet - this truly got us going all through. We travelled with two small kids and our parents. Everyone found the food at El Mangalar very palatable.

Beach: Very easily accessible from the room. Less than a five minute walk irrespective of where your room is located. Beaches were not big (should be 30 feet of sand and then the water), but very clean. They remove sea weed if any pretty regularly. The sea water wasn't clear like we see in the Carribean islands, I did not see many take a dip into the sea. The sea is relatively calm. So if you and your kids just like to wade through knee deep water, the beach will work well for you.

Pools: The best aspect about the pool was : At Moon Palace Sunrise, they have a pretty big swimming pool were the water is warmed. I'd say 80 degrees. Rest of the pools had water in regular temperature (60 to 65 degrees). Those pools were pretty cold for January, this one master pool was what we used throughout our stay.

Transportation within the resort: There is a bus that runs every 15 minutes shuttling people between the three lobbies: Sunrise, Nizuc and Grand. That was very convenient. Golf carts were available if you wanted to shuttle from your room to your lobby, but we never needed it as we were 10 minutes away from the lobby by walk. I'd say the resort had very good transportation facilities.

Spa: We've been to Hard Rock Punta Cana before. The spa there was much better. The spa here is not bad. Above average.

Shows: There was one every night, though we didn't go. Can't review them as a result.

Overall: Extremely family friendly.

Resort credits: The 16% tax over and above the credit, wasn't very helpful. You cannot shop much using the resort credit - cigar, tequila and handbags. That is pretty much what you can buy. We used the resort credits just for the Spa. Rest weren't very usable.

Room tip: If you like busy and active lobby with lot of buzzing activities: Stay at Sunrise. Nizuc is pretty laid back and quiet.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nararama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, Director General at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Nararama,

There is nothing more important for us than our guest's satisfaction, thank you so much for choosing us and for taking the time to share your outstanding feedback with us, we sincerely appreciate it.

We are also happy to know you received excellent service from many of our collaborators, we will definitely share your feedback with our collaborators whose name was highlighted in your review. They will be also proud to know you had an incredible time due to their efforts and performance.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon and continue creating unforgettable vacation memories at Moon Palace Cancun. Please come back soon!

Best regards,

Ulises Sosa
e-Concierge
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We travel a lot and I can’t say the whole hotel is consistently 5 stars but if you are looking for 5 star service you will get it from Jaime and his Grandpa (relationship not confirmed...) Bernardo in the Nizuc buffet. This is my 7th or 8th stay at this property and if one person stands out, it is Jaime at the Nizuc buffet. If Jaime is my server, I can’t carry my own plate to my table, he takes it for me. The level of service from this gentleman is beyond Disney cruise level service this guy is amazing and he should be a manger or working at Grand Velas. He has been serving me and my kids for at least 3 years now, and at this point we feel more like family. When my kids get wake up in the morning I ask them if they want to go to the pool or the waterslide or the beach or the kids club and they tell me they just want to go see Mr. Jaime. And then there is Bernardo making mouse puppets from the napkins to entertain the kids and other tricks. There are no words for these guys. Just no words .... THANK YOU Jaime and Bernardo

Honestly though, it is not fair to mention just these 2 - the service overall in the Nizuc buffet is second to none. Last year we spent a week and the Grand at Moon Palace and then moved to Nizuc for our last 5 days. I remember clearly the day we moved to Nizuc and dined in the buffet. I pulled Jaime aside and told him how much better the service was in the Nizuc buffet than at the Grand, and that they should be providing training to the staff at the grand.

A few other amazing people I need to give credit to at the Nizuc buffet - if you are wanting something extra special please ask Miguel for his special pineapple dessert which is a spectacular private fire show cooked right at your table. And if you want to top that with an amazing Mayan coffee show, there is none better than Arturo. And please don't forget Fabiola who is constantly checking up on us and making sure we have anything we want. Honestly, if you dine with these guys, you will feel like royalty!

And these are not the only amazing staff at this hotel - if you are going to the evening shows you can 100% count on Benjamin to have your drink ready before you even get to the bar. This guy makes sure you are taken care of and his bartending skills are second to none. And if you are a little picky on your alcohol choices they don't have all the premium alcohol options that they should, just talk to Benjamin and he will find you something good ;-)

And please don't forget Ernesto the Dancing Chef who has been serving us ice cream at the pools for at least 5 years now. This is the most fun and amazing guy ever!!

My kids also want to say a special thank you to Paola at the Sunrise Playroom - my kids are a little old for kids clubs and normally refuse to go, but they did have some fun times at the Sunrise Playroom and we would like to thank Paola for that.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank baconkotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MoonPalaceCancun, Director General at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear TwosomeCanuck,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for sharing such a detailed and positive feedback with us, reviews like yours help us to learn more about the service we provide and the way it is perceived by our guests, always from an objective perspective. With this information, we are able to identify our opportunity areas and start the planning process on how to improve things that could be improved. Nothing is more important for us than your satisfaction and we are always eager to learn how to serve you better.

There are also many of our collaborators who you take the time to recognize, and this is, of course, something we are very proud of. They are the true heroes behind Moon Palace Cancun, always going above and beyond in order to ensure you had the most pleasant vacation experience, and they definitely deserve to be recognized. Please rest assured they will receive your review along with proper recognition from us for representing firmly the philosophy of Moon Palace Cancun.

We are very happy to be your home away from home and we hope to maintain such a place in your heart for the years to come. It is always a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best wishes,

Ulises Sosa
e-Concierge
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews