We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$420
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$542
$423
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$420
$407
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$610
$564
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$414
$306
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$355
$299
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$282
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Cancun(Cancun)
$280
$176
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (26,316)
Filter reviews
26,316 results
Traveler rating
17,701
4,995
1,905
894
821
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17,701
4,995
1,905
894
821
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise sectionnizuc sectiongolf clubnizuc and sunriseflow riderla gondolalos caporaleslos tacosresort creditla trattoriaswing barpublic relationsbrazilian restaurantpay taxvacation plannershuge resortdolphin swim
Filter
Updating list...
4,350 - 4,355 of 26,316 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2017

After spending so much time reading reviews in Trip Advisor, we were certain to book our vacation in a 5-star Moon Palace resort. It may be 5-star in facilities but not in a guest’s experience. First of all, the reception and check-in were ok but no one escorted us to our room. It was very difficult to find the room as the signage for the rooms was inadequate. We spent 20 min finding our room with the kids.

Room: The room seemed way smaller than expected, because the room is designed with an angle. The bathtub in the middle of the room does not help with space. The bath tub could cause slipping hazard when the marble floor gets wet, something for the families with small children to consider. As for the size, it was way too small of a room for a family of four. They advertise it can accommodate 4-adults. It was supposed to be a ‘sea view’ room but you get limited view of the sea because the rooms are designed to be 45 deg angle.

Room Service: We requested for our beds to be joined – they did not have a king bed room available. It took 4-phone calls and 5 hours to finally get it done. Even food delivery was slow – on average between 1.5 – 2 hours. Food quality is low.

Facility: We did not experience most of the facilities due to our shortened stay. We did try to use the pool the first day but it was dirty. You can see floating hair and dried mucus around the pool wall. It was pretty gross to enter – does not seem to be cleaned frequently.

Restaurant: We just tried one restaurant which offered international buffet. Food quality and taste was bad. But were told that they have 13 other restaurants. We did not try. Maybe they would be better.

Beach: This was the deal breaker for us. The beach was piled with piles (2-3 feet) of sea weeds and it was smelly. A lot of mosquitoes flying out of the sea weed piles. The beach was completely unusable. See the photos attached. We did some investigations and we were told by some locals that that part of Rivera Maya gets accumulation of sea weeds during the raining season due to water current, we were told the upper side of the Caribbean Sea in ‘Zona Hotellier’ where the other hotels are have a clean beach.

Bottom line our planned 9-days trip in Moon Palace was shortened to 1 night and we had to leave to another resort (3-star) in Hotel Zone which was much better and we spent the rest of our stay happily. Moon Palace was in Rivera Maya. Then when we told them that we are checking out, they slapped us with one-night penalty. It was unfair as we gave them one night notice i.e. meaning we would have stayed 2 nights so they don’t incur the loss. But they said it is the policy that they still have (to) charge us one night penalty. We booked directly with the hotel i.e. not thru any booking agencies. This shows that their culture is not servicing customers but milk out the maximum from a leaving unhappy customer. Not good for business.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
15  Thank Shahul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear Shahul H,

We at Moon Palace Cancun are committed to seek the excellence in everything we do and every time we receive a feedback from our guests, we immediately run a formal investigation to determinates the causes that happened during your stay that concluded in this unfortunate experience.

Would you let me take this opportunity to offer you my assistance to talk about your experience through inbox.

I shall wait patiently for your kind reply.
Cordially,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Social Media Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

We have been in beautiful hotels but the Moon Places was fantastic we have never experienced any thing like it the staff could not do enough for it was spotless clean, any were you went, the food was the tops

Room Tip: Yes always tip
Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear Carol B,

We would like to thank you for choosing Moon Palace Cancun as your favorite destination, thank you for such wonderful appraisal.

It will be our pleasure to look forward your visit soon, have no hesitation to contacting me if you might need further assistance.
Cordially,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

This resort had everything you could ask for from inclusive food to fun activities lead by fun entertainers throughout the day. The service and amenities were great and there was never a dull moment. Jonathon was really cool and talked with us one day and hung out with us the rest of the week, helping us stay busy with some fun activities. Also Frank, Charlie, and Vanessa were also great and always had something fun for us to do. This was one of the best vacations I've had and will definitely be visiting Moon Palace and it's awesome employees again.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear Robbie H,

We would like to congratulate you for choosing us as your final destination.

Our philosophy at Moon Palace Cacun is always based on search excellence in service, taking care of every detail and taking care of each and every demanding needs of valued guests like you. We are honored to know about your loyalty and your wonderful experience.

It will be a pleasure to serve you again!
Cordially,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017

The resort was exceptionally pleasant and well managed. The staff was friendly and very professional. Mateo and Tamara at Caporales restaurantmade us feel exceptionally welcomed. Highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoseMoonPalace, Manager at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Dear Dennis B,

Create memories that will last for the whole life are part essential of our prestigious staff, thank your for devoting this words to our valuable members. Hope to very soon have the opportunity to serve you and make you feel at home again.

With kind regards,

Jose Luis Gonzalez
Moon Palace Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

We arrived, thought we booked the Grand and we were brought to the sunrise. They did transfer us after about an hour and then we lost our ocean view. We had a view of lots of construction instead. No apology just an attitude. Much of the Grand was under construction. We thought the water park was open and it was not. The ocean was just okay. The service at the pools and bars were slow and the food was underwhelming. If you have a family stay at a Riu instead or visit a Secrets or Breathless for a great couples vacation.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
7  Thank Caroman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosMoonGrand P, Gerente at Moon Palace Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2017

Dear Caroman15,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for your preference and for taking the time in sharing with us your comments regarding your visit to The Grand at Moon Palace. Please also allow us to thank you for replying to the private message that was sent to you in order to obtain direct information yourself.

As we are reading your comments and the information you were kind enough to share it with us via inbox we would like to apologize with you for not succeeded in providing a positive experience during your vacations. We are deeply concerned to read that the change to a Presidential room to The Grand was not of your liking and you may rest assured we will evaluate this with the respective areas and your comments have been shared with the respective managements. Please note that we have our Public Relations staff available on premises and they are committed in providing follow up and assistance in order to improve your experience at the Resort, we regret to read we do not have a record of an approach to our representatives.

We sincerely regret to read that you encountered different inconveniences regarding service from our staff and that some members from our team did not offered the personalized service we aim to provide. You may rest assured that your comments have been shared with the managers of the departments involved and corrective actions have been taken in order to avoid similar situations to our guests. Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience these situations may have caused you.

We remain at your service.

Cordially,

Carlos Cañedo
The Grand at Moon Palace.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews